Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Prentiss Family papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1891-1996
Creator: Prentiss Family
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0060
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The family came to Iowa City in 1905 when Henry Prentiss established the Anatomy Department at the State University of Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: One CD [d0002]
Photographs in Box 5

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers were donated by Virginia Jones (donor no. 112) in 1987 and succeeding years; Prentiss Childs (donor no. 454) in 1997; Philip Purdy (donor no. 801) in 2001; and Susan Martin (donor no. 1099) in 2006.

Preferred Citation: Prentiss Family papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

In 1895 Lué Bradley and Dr. Henry Prentiss were married in Dobbs Ferry, New York, at "Palavista," the home of the Bradley family. Ten years later when Dr. Prentiss was appointed to establish the Department of Anatomy at the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa), the Prentisses moved to Iowa City with their children, Cornelia, Lilian, Henry, Jr., and Lué. (Lué's twin brother, David, had died at age one.) Another son, Robert, was born in Iowa City. Lué Bradley Prentiss lived until 1922 when she died at age fifty-three of cancer. Dr. Prentiss taught at the University until his death in 1931. Each of the Prentiss children graduated from the State University of Iowa (University of Iowa).

Cornelia Prentiss (1896-1985) married Harold Shrauger of Atlantic, Iowa. Their three children were Harold Shrauger, Jr., (who married Frances Kephart), Cornelia (who married John Robert Day), and Virginia (who married and later divorced Joe Allen Jones). (See Shrauger Family Papers).

Lilian Prentiss (1897-1935) and Frank Schwarz, both artists, had two daughters, Cornelia and Henrietta. She and her husband lived in Scarsdale, New York, where she taught art in the public school system. She also taught art in Denton, Texas, and at Hunter College in New York City. Lilian died tragically in 1935 at the age of thirty-eight when she drowned attempting to rescue her nephew, Joseph Middlebrook, in a lake in upstate New York.

Henry Prentiss, Jr. (1898-1922) died from an accidental fall soon after he graduated from college. His wife was Marion Chase.

Lué Prentiss (1902-1968) married the noted author and critic, Marquis Childs. They resided in Washington, D. C. with their two children, Prentiss and Malissa. Malissa wrote three novels and a memoir of rural life in Vermont.

Robert Prentiss (1908-1972), a urologist who practiced in San Diego, was married to Alice Pogemiller. Their three daughters were Julia, Penelope, and Susan. Susan married Carl Martin, and the couple lived in South Carolina.

The papers date from 1891 to1996 and measure 2 linear feet. The papers are arranged in nine series: Genealogical information, Lue Bradley Prentiss, Henry Prentiss, Henry Prentiss birth family, Lilian Prentiss Schwarz and family, Lue (Biddy) Childs and family, Henry Prentiss, Jr. and family, Robert Prentiss and family, Artifacts and Photographs. The collection is devoted primarily to correspondence among the members of the Prentiss family.

Lue Bradley's correspondence with her parents and diaries she kept between the ages of eleven and twenty-one (1879-1891) are in the Bradley Family papers.

The papers of Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger, the eldest child of Lue and Henry Prentiss, are included in the Shrauger Family papers and the Cornelia Shrauger Day papers.

Three books by Malissa Childs Redfield The Country of Love (1966), Games of Chance with Strangers (1971), and Scenes from Country Life (1979) are shelved with the printed works in the Iowa Women's Archives.
Bradley Family papers (IWA)
Cornelia Shrauger Day papers (IWA)
Shrauger Family papers (IWA)
Marquis Childs papers (Special Collections Department, University of Iowa Libraries)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENEALOGICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: LUÉ BRADLEY (MRS. HENRY) PRENTISS (1866-1922)
Series 3: HENRY PRENTISS (1867-1931)
Series 4: HENRY PRENTISS BIRTH FAMILY
Series 5: LILIAN PRENTISS SCHWARZ - (1897-1935) AND FAMILY
Series 6: LUÉ BIDDY PRENTISS CHILDS (1902-1968) AND FAMILY
Series 7: HENRY PRENTISS, JR (1898-1922) AND FAMILY
Series 8: ROBERT J. PRENTISS (1908-1972) AND FAMILY
Series 9: ARTIFACTS
Series 10: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: GENEALOGICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • General
  • Series 2: LUÉ BRADLEY (MRS. HENRY) PRENTISS (1866-1922)
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1896-1911
  • Iowa flag committee - 1919-1922 [designed by Dixie Gebhart]
  • DAR, flag committee - 1919
  • Series 3: HENRY PRENTISS (1867-1931)
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Shrauger (daughter) and Robert Prentiss (son) - 1923, 1926-1931
  • Correspondence: letter from son, Henry Jr., While in France - 1931
  • Correspondence: Miscellaneous - 1922, 1931, 1949-1950, 1964 [includes condolence letters
  • Manuscript, "Surgical and Applied Anatomy of Human Body" - 1915
  • Obituaries, condolences and will - 1931
  • Vignettes about Henry Prentiss - 1989-1991
  • Series 4: HENRY PRENTISS BIRTH FAMILY
  • Box 1:
  • Henrietta Driggs Prentiss (mother) and Arthur Prentiss (brother) correspondence and clippings - 1909-1910, 1931-1932, 1969
  • Elsie Earle (cousin) correspondence - 1926-1934
  • Henrietta Prentiss (sister): Correspondence, Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger (daughter) - 1926-1940
  • Henrietta Prentiss: Correspondence, Virginia Shrauger (granddaughter) - 1932-1940
  • Henrietta Prentiss: Correspondence, Henrietta Prentiss (sister): Miscellaneous - 1924-1932
  • Henrietta Prentiss: Will and related correspondence - 1932, 1940-1941
  • Series 5: LILIAN PRENTISS SCHWARZ - (1897-1935) AND FAMILY
  • Box 2:
  • Biographical
  • Biographical, Cornelia Mary Schwarz Stephatos (daughter): Correspondence and photographs - 1931-1998
  • Biographical, Cornelia Mary Schwarz Stephatos: Paintings [shelved in digital collection: 0002]
  • Diary [photocopies] - 1909-1918
  • Miscellaneous, newsprint - 1933-2008
  • Delta Sigma club minutes - 1910-1912 [photocopies]
  • Death [obituaries, letters, wills, includes condolence letters written to her sister Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger for her death.] - 1935
  • Correspondence: Parents and siblings [photocopies] - 1907, 1909, 1919-1927
  • Correspondence: Parents and siblings [photocopies] - 1919-1930
  • Correspondence: Frank Schwarz (husband), Miscellaneous correspondence [photocopies] - 1921-1924, 1936, 1951
  • Correspondence: Frank Schwarz (husband), Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos (daughter) (folder 1) - 1945-1947
  • Correspondence: Frank Schwarz , Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos (folder 2) - 1948
  • Correspondence: Frank Schwarz, Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos (folder 3) - 1949
  • Correspondence: Frank Schwarz, Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos (folder 4) - 1950
  • Correspondence: Frank Schwarz, Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos (folder 5) - 1951
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence: Frank Schwarz, Newspaper clippings, obituaries, drawings - ca. 1935
  • Correspondence: Henry Holbrook [photocopies] - 1921, 1979
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos to Henrietta Schwarz Purdy (her sister) [photocopies] - 1951-1960
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos to Henrietta Schwarz Purdy (her sister) [photocopies] - 1961-1986
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos (and writings) - 1951-1959
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos (and writings) - 1961-1969
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos (and writings) - 1961-1969
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos (and writings) - 1971-1989
  • Poems and writings: Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos - 1945-1985
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence: Lillian Schwarz miscellaneous - 1907-1935
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos to Lué "Biddy" Prentiss Childs (and writings) - 1948-1960
  • Correspondence: Henrietta Purdy (daughter) and Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger (sister) - 1953-1983, scattered
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos to Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger and cousins (and art) - 1941-1972, 1987-1988
  • Correspondence: Henrietta Purdy and Lué Prentiss Childs - 1950-1967
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence: Henrietta Purdy and Virginia Jones (niece) - 1945, 1987-1995
  • Correspondence: Henrietta Schwarz Purdy to Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos (daughter) [photocopies] - undated
  • Series 6: LUÉ BIDDY PRENTISS CHILDS (1902-1968) AND FAMILY
  • Box 5:
  • Notebook (commonplace book) - 1923-1926
  • Correspondence: Henry Prentiss (father) - 1927-1931
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger (sister) - 1927-1938
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger (sister) - 1939-1948
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger (sister) - 1949-1967
  • Correspondence: Henrietta Schwarz Purdy - 1950-1965
  • Correspondence: Henrietta Schwarz Purdy, miscellaneous - 1958-1992
  • Correspondence: Virginia Jones (niece), scattered - 1933-1967
  • Correspondence: Marquis Childs - 1937-1981
  • Marquis Childs, news articles, obituary - 1944-1990
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Schwarz Stephatos, Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger - 1950-1965
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence: Miscellaneous - 1926, 1937
  • Malissa (daughter): Putney School, Reports and grades - 1943-1946
  • Malissa: Putney School, Administration correspondence with parents - 1944
  • Malissa: Putney School, Correspondence with parents (folder 1) - 1943
  • Malissa: Putney School, Correspondence with parents (folder 2) - 1944
  • Malissa: Putney School, Correspondence with parents (folder 3) - 1945
  • Malissa: Putney School, Correspondence with parents (folder 4) - 1946
  • Malissa: Putney School, Correspondence with parents (folder 5) - 1943-1946 and undated
  • Malissa: Putney School, The Country of Love by Malissa Childs Redfield - 1966
    [shelved in printed works collection]
  • Malissa: Putney School, Games of Chance with Strangers by Malissa Childs Redfield - 1971
    [shelved in printed works collection]
  • Malissa: Putney School, Scenes from Country Life by Malissa Childs Redfield - 1979
    [shelved in printed works collection]
  • Prentiss (son): Correspondence with parents - 1942-1947
  • Series 7: HENRY PRENTISS, JR (1898-1922) AND FAMILY
  • Box 6:
  • Biographical - 1922, 1931
  • Correspondence - 1919-1925
  • Series 8: ROBERT J. PRENTISS (1908-1972) AND FAMILY
  • Box 6:
  • "Rogue Review" (account of fishing trips) - 1964-1967
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger (sister) (folder 1) - 1929-1966
  • Correspondence: Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger (sister) (folder 2) - 1967-1972
  • Correspondence: Alice (wife) and daughters - 1950-1995 and undated
  • Correspondence: Susan Martin (daughter) - 1950-1995 and undated
  • Correspondence: Miscellaneous - 1940-1979
  • Correspondence: American Board of Urology - 1940
  • Loose materials from Scientific Writings of Robert J. Prentiss, M. D. Volume I - 1938-1955
  • Loose materials from Scientific Writings of Robert J. Prentiss, M. D. Volume VII - 1969-1971
  • Box 7:
  • Scientific Writings of Robert J. Prentiss, M. D. Volume I - 1938-1955
  • Box 8:
  • Scientific Writings of Robert J. Prentiss, M. D. Volume VII - 1969-1971
  • Box 9:
  • Death, biographical - 1972
  • Series 9: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 9:
  • Prayer books and hymnal - 1891-1894
  • Daughters of the American Revolution certificates [shelved in map case] - 1907
  • Series 10: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 9:
  • Family photographs - 1920-1979
  • Prentiss family group - 1900, 1940
  • Lilian Prentiss Schwarz and family, undated
  • Lué Prentiss Childs and family - 1929-1996
  • Henry Prentiss negatives, undated - undated
  • Biddy Prentiss Childs 40th wedding anniversary, undated - undated
  • Family photographs [photocopies] - 1920-1979
  • Henry Prentiss Jr’s baby book - 1898-1919
  • Loose items from baby book - 1922