Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Virginia Jones papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1936-2010
Creator: Jones, Virginia (1921-)
Extent: 12.30 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0058
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Community activitst and writer Virginia Shrauger Jones grew up in Atlantic Iowa and served as a Captain in the U. S. Marine Corps during World War II.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs located in boxes 31 and 32.

Access: During the donor's lifetime, permission to publish from these papers or to quote from the papers for publication must be obtained from the donor, Virginia S. Jones.

Use: Copyright has been retained by the donor, Virginia S. Jones, for the duration of her life; upon her death copyright will pass to the University of Iowa. During the donor's lifetime, permission to publish from these papers or to quote from the papers for publication must be obtained from the donor, Virginia S. Jones. To protect the privacy of living members of the family whose letters are on the collection, correspondence between Virginia Jones and her children (Prentiss Mann Jones, Dennis Allen Jones, Angela Jones Sallerson, and Cornelia Jones-Koza) is closed until January 1 2045, or until the deaths of the children, whichever comes first.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 112) were donated by Virginia Jones in 2002.

Preferred Citation: Virginia Jones papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Virginia Shrauger Jones was born on January 22, 1921, the daughter of Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger and Harold Shrauger, Sr. of Atlantic, Iowa. Her grandfather was Dr. Henry J. Prentiss (1867-1931), head of the anatomy department at the University of Iowa; her grandmother was Lue Bradley Prentiss (1868-1922). Virginia Shrauger Jones had two siblings, a brother Harold Shrauger, Jr. (1916-2004) and a sister Cornelia Shrauger Day (1919-2004).
Virginia Shrauger attended Atlantic High School and graduated from the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa) in 1942 with a Bachelor of Arts degree. In 1943 the United States Marine Corps opened its doors to women and Virginia Shrauger joined. She rose to the rank of captain in three years before retiring.
Virginia Shrauger married Joe Allen Jones, an attorney, in 1944. They had four children: Dennis (b. 1950), Prentiss (b. 1956), Cornelia (b. 1954), and Angela (b. 1946). In 1985 their West Virginia home flooded, and Virginia Jones pushed hard for community redevelopment with the Soil Conservation Service to return the community to its pre-flood condition; she received a letter from John D. Rockefeller praising her efforts.
Virginia Jones was a prolific writer of letters. She also wrote one book about the women of her family, Strong Women, Four Generations: 1858-1982, published in 2007.

The Virginia Shrauger Jones papers date from 1937 to 2010 and measure 12.3 linear feet. The papers consist mainly of correspondence and are divided into the following series: Biographical, Journals, Strong Women Four Generations, Correspondence, and Photographs.The Biographical series includes legal deeds, mortgages, wills, and other legal documents. The Music subseries contains posters, photographs, and memorabilia concerning Joe Allen and Virginia Jones' vocal studies with Leonore Evans Lais. The West Virginia Flood subseries contains legal records, documents, and newspaper clippings concerning the 1985 flood that destroyed their home. This series includes Jones' Marine Corps memoir, an essay about her experience in the United States Marine Corps. She spent three years there and retired with Captain's bars on her uniform.

The Journals series consists of Virginia Shrauger Jones's daily journals, travel logs, and dream journals. Some are bound.

The Strong Women, Four Generations series contains research notes and other material concerning Jones's writing and publication of Strong Women, Four Generations: 1858-1982, a historical account of the women in her family. Also included are her mother Cornelia P. Shrauger's stories that were not included in the book.

The Correspondence series (1937-2010) consists of correspondence between Virginia Jones and her relatives and friends. A few of the folders include biographical material about the correspondents. Included are letters of The Round Robins, a group of friends Virginia Shrauger met in college who lived with her in the co-op in Eastlawn at the University of Iowa. Some of the original Round Robins were Charlotte Wurl, Kay Tennes, Dorothy Schlichter, Jeanne Bellefeuille, and Lorena Davis.

The Cornelia Shrauger Day miscellaneous folder contains some autobiographical writings and a will, as well as information from family and doctors about her and her husband's condition in the late 1990s.

The Photographs Series contains photographs of Virginia Jones, her friends and relatives.  The photo album consists of memorabilia items from her time in high school and college, 1934-1939. It includes pamphlets, awards, and event stubs from organizations such as Quill and Scroll, Atlantic High School, the State University of Iowa, and Dolphins Follies.
Bradley Family papers. Prentiss Family papers. Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger papers Cornelia Shrauger Day papers

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: JOURNALS
Series 3: STRONG WOMEN, FOUR GENERATIONS
Series 4: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 6: CORRESPONDENCE, CLOSED

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 1:
  • Atlantic IA research files - 1922-2000
  • The Boys (war poem) - 1829
  • Stories by Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger with feedback from Marquis Childs - 1933
  • Clubs, Affiliations
  • Drake Stadium 26th annual program and Huey Long autograph - 1935
  • Virginia's invitation to inauguration of Harry Truman - 1949
  • Musical Performances - 1941-1986
  • Genealogy
  • Jones' family residences
  • Birth announcements
  • Graduation announcements - 1943-2010
  • Virginia Shrauger Jones wedding to Joe Allen Jones - 5/9/1944
  • Wedding announcements - 1974-2010
  • Deaths/Obituaries - 1940-2008
  • Miscellaneous - 1937-2008
  • Sub-Series: Education
  • Box 1:
  • Atlantic High yearbooks and grades - 1936, 1937
  • Atlantic High School reunions two folders [with photographs] - 1983-2008
  • Box 2:
  • University of Iowa Grades, Diploma - ca. 1942
  • University of Iowa Dance Cards - ca. 1942
  • Sub-Series: Music
  • Box 2:
  • Leonore Evans Lais posters - 1939
  • Leonore Evans Lais correspondence, memorabilia, photographs - 1909-1951
  • Leonore Evans Lais memorabilia, photographs, ca. - 1950
  • Sub-Series: West Virginia Flood
  • Box 2:
  • Flood coverage - 1985
  • Flood November - 1985
  • Sub-Series: Military
  • Box 3:
  • Women's retreat at Casawasco - 2003
  • Women in Military Service for America memorial - 1997
  • Marine Corps Memoir - 1997
  • Military miscellaneous items - 1943-2003
  • Series 2: JOURNALS
  • Box 3:
  • Journal writings, five folders - 1969-1999
  • Box 4:
  • Journal writings - 1988-2000
  • Two bound journals - 1968, 2007
  • Two bound journals - 2008
  • Journals, trips to Ireland, Germany - 1986-1990
  • Dream journals - 1974-2004
  • Series 3: STRONG WOMEN, FOUR GENERATIONS
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence regarding Strong Women, Four Generations - 1989, 1993
  • Strong Women, Four Generations talks, miscellaneous - 2007-2008
  • Correspondence search for letters from Cornelia P. Shrauger for book - 1987
  • Cornelia P. Shrauger's stories not included in book (originals)
  • Box 5:
  • Cornelia P. Shrauger's stories not included in book (copies)
  • Strong Women stories not included in book
  • Material deleted from book
  • Series 4: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger (mother)
  • Box 5:
  • Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger with Harold and Fran Shrauger (son and daughter-in-law of Cornelia) - ca. 1943
  • Cornelia P. Shrauger with Cornelia Shrauger Day (daughter of Cornelia) - 1943-1945
  • Cornelia P. Shrauger (mother), three folders - 1942-1972
  • Mother's friends - 1987
  • Cornelia P. Shrauger miscellaneous items and correspondence - 1913-1962
  • Sub-Series: Lue "Biddy" Prentiss (aunt)
  • Box 5:
  • Lue Biddy Prentiss - 1922, 1943-1946
  • Sub-Series: Harold Shrauger and Cornelia Shrauger Day (siblings)
  • Box 6:
  • Harold (brother) and Fran Shrauger, five folders - 1934-2004
  • Death of Cornelia Shrauger Day (sister) - 2004
  • Cornelia Shrauger Day with Esther Keith - 1974-1985
  • Cornelia Shrauger Day - 1938-1981
  • Cornelia and Robert Day (sister and brother-in-law) two folders - 1984-1987
  • Box 7:
  • Cornelia and Robert Day (sister and brother-in-law) five folders - 1988-1992
  • Box 8:
  • Cornelia and Robert Day, ten folders - 1993-2004
  • Cornelia Shrauger Day, miscellaneous - 1990-1998
  • Sub-Series: Joe Allan Jones, husband
  • Box 9:
  • Joe Allen Jones death - 1994
  • Joe Allen Jones biography/memorabilia/obituary - 1949-1994
  • Ruby Alice Jones (Joe Allen Jones's mother) - 1940-1989
  • Joe Allen Jones correspondence with Shrauger in-laws - 1944-1956
  • Joe Allen Jones with Cornelia and Robert Day (sister-in-law) - 1955-1985
  • Joe Allen Jones with miscellaneous people and undated correspondence - 1948-1985
  • Joe Allen Jones correspondence with Virginia Jones (wife), five folders - 1944-1981
  • Box 10:
  • Joe Allen Jones correspondence with Virginia Jones (wife) - 1985-1994
  • Sub-Series: Cousins
  • Box 10:
  • Prentiss and Malissa Childs - 1937-1995
  • Prentiss (cousin) and Nancy Childs, three folders and undated - 1996-2010
  • Morgan Lee Hills/Christina Childs (Prentiss and Nancy's daughter and granddaughter) - 2009-2010
  • Julia Prentiss Diez (cousin), two folders - 1996-2010
  • Nick Shrauger (cousin) - 1197-2001
  • Roy Buster Shrauger (cousin) - 2005
  • Cornelia Schwarz (cousin) (and artwork) - 2009
  • Miscellaneous cousins - 1986-2008
  • Box 11:
  • Henrietta Schwarz Purdy (cousin), twelve folders - 1992-2010
  • Sub-Series: Frances Shrauger Snow, niece
  • Box 12:
  • Frances "Francie" Shrauger Snow (niece), two folders - 1962-2010
  • Miscellaneous and undated
  • Jennifer Snow (Francie's daughter)
  • Becka Berry (Francie's niece)
  • Sue Caskey (Francie's aunt via her mother FranÂ's brother)
  • Kathy and Kelly Lewis (Francie's sister-in-law)
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 12:
  • Nieces and nephews
  • Dennis Day (nephew)
  • Dennis Day (son of Cornelia and Robert Day)
  • Dianne Day (wife of Dennis Day), six folders - 1985-2005
  • Box 13:
  • Dianne Day (wife of Dennis Day), four folders - 2006-2008
  • Dianne Day miscellaneous and undated
  • Sub-Series: Friends
  • Box 13:
  • Joyce Lackey writings and poetry
  • Joyce Lackey, 6 folders - 1992-1997
  • Box 14:
  • Joyce Lackey, four folders - 1998-2001
  • Box 15:
  • Joyce Lackey, twelve folders - 2002-2009
  • Box 16:
  • Kay and Al Tennes, nine folders - 1942-2010
  • Kay Tennes miscellaneous and undated
  • Box 17:
  • Ken Weber, nine folders - 1986-2008
  • Ken Weber miscellaneous and undated
  • Box 18:
  • Anderson, Peggy - 2000-2003
  • Bannerjee, Lopa - 1995-2006
  • Bellefeuille, Jeanne - 1986-2006
  • Blayloch, Ingrid - 2009
  • Bonnarth, Sylvia - 1999-2010
  • Braiman, Judy - 2001-2009
  • Brennan, Bill - 1987
  • Brennan, Nan - 1990-2008
  • Brooks, Linda - 1996-2009
  • Brown, Terry - 2008-2010
  • Burghard, Rollo and Bertha - 1997-2002
  • Calloway, Mary - 2000-2010
  • Charles, Joseph [athenaeum] - 2004
  • Cowherd, Alma - 1986, 1997
  • Davis, Lorena - 1994-2006
  • DeGregorio, Georgia - 2004-2009
  • Demboski, Dorothy - 1986-2003
  • Drury, Finvola - 1988-1999
  • Drury, Finvola - 2000-2008
  • Emerson, Harriet - 1990
  • Faegre, Ann Montague - 1996-2010
  • Feuerholm, Ken - 1986-1996
  • Fisher, John Philip - 1937-1941
  • Box 19:
  • Fitch, Michael Gibson - 1986-1994
  • Gillet, Luther - 1996-2008
  • Harpending, Tavia - 2005-2009
  • Henderson, Leslie Gordon - 1996-2003
  • Herbert, Dellabelle "Debbie" - 1997-2008
  • Howarth, Jeanne - 1986-2005
  • Hunt, Louise - 1988-2000
  • Hunt, Louise - 2001-2010
  • Hupp-Borchardt, Dorothy - 1999-2007
  • Jackson, Dorothy and Howard - 2008-2010
  • Kelso, William - 1998-2010
  • Keyes, Ralph - 1992-2000
  • Kingslake, David: relatives of David Kingslake - 1970-2009
  • Kingslake, David - 1985-1993
  • Kingslake, David - 1995-1999
  • Kingslake, David - 1999-2002
  • Klapp, Lorraine - 1987-2003
  • Box 20:
  • Krebs, Kathy - 2008-2009
  • Laise, Jim - 1996-2000
  • LaMarsh, Kathy - 1985-1993
  • Lange, Irma Thompson - 2006-2009
  • LeVant, Howard - 2001-2008
  • Mason, Karen - 2002-2008
  • Naibert, Penelope - 1995, 1998
  • McCown, Robert - 1987-2007
  • McCoy, Donna - 1996-2001
  • McGuire, Michael - 1985-1991
  • McSweeney, Kate - 1944
  • Overholt, Martha Sterns - 1943-1945
  • Plummer, Peter - 2006-2010
  • Preston, Emmy - 1996-1999
  • Price, Walter - 1976-1996
  • Richardson, Joyce - 1992
  • Reese, David F. - 1998
  • Ronnevelt, Wolfgang - 1987-2008
  • Roxin, Lester - 2003-2005
  • Rubel, Ron - 2009
  • Schuman, Meredith - 1972
  • Scutt, Ed [athenaeum] - 2003-2009
  • Siegel, Bob - 2000-2009
  • Box 21:
  • Stanton-Reid, Stephen - 2008-2010
  • Stapleton, Armelda Welch - 1995-1998
  • St. John-Brainerd, Delight - 1985-2010
  • Stoops, Rose - 1989-1994
  • Struevert, Nancy and Mollie - 1966-1998
  • Sunderland, Arlene "Pat" Patterson - 1197-2001
  • Talbot, Carl - 2006-2009
  • Trogden, William "Bill" "Heat-Moon" - 2005
  • Trotter, William - 1995-2010
  • Box 22:
  • Turner, Carolyn - 1998
  • Wallace, Graham and Merle - 1996-1999
  • Williams, Emma Jean Preston - 1996-2002
  • Wurl, Charlotte Ohme - 2000-2009
  • Zwick, Diva and Paul - 1985-1986
  • Miscellaneous correspondence - 1920-1990
  • Miscellaneous correspondence - 1991-2009
  • Business/Acquaintances - 1986-2009
  • Round Robin with college friends - 1985-2010
  • Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 22:
  • Virginia Jones - 1924-2004
  • Family - 1921-2004
  • Family folder 2 - 1928-2007
  • Box 23:
  • Virginia and friends - 1943-2004
  • Military photographs - ca. 1944
  • Mother's generation (Biddy, Mom, other relatives) - 1908-1999
  • Mother's generation (Biddy, Mom, other relatives) - ca. 1900-1981
  • Wedding: Joe and Virginia Jones - 1944
  • Joe Allen Jones - 1920-1980
  • Extended family children - 1987-2008
  • Former classmates and reunions - 1938-2003
  • Atlantic, Iowa
  • Jones family houses - 1950-2005
  • Miscellaneous photographs - 1996-2007
  • Box 24:
  • Photograph album
  • Series 6: CORRESPONDENCE, CLOSED
  • Sub-Series: Children
  • Box 25:
  • Prentiss Jones 1972-1975
  • Prentiss Jones and David Reese (Prentiss's partner), 10 folders - 1976-2010
  • Prentiss Jones miscellaneous and undated
  • Box 26:
  • Angela Sallerson's genealogical map of family addictions, smoking, alcohol - 1995-1996
  • Angela Sallerson (daughter), five folders - 1966-2009
  • Angela Sallerson miscellaneous and undated
  • Shane, Zachary, and Megan Sallerson (grandchildren)
  • Virginia Jones correspondence with Dennis Jones (son), four folders - 1969-2010
  • Dennis Jones miscellaneous and undated
  • Box 27:
  • Cornelia Fitch Jones (daughter) baby book
  • Cornelia Fitch Jones loose articles from baby book
  • Cornelia Jones birth certificate and related documents
  • Cornelia Jones educational honors, graduation
  • Cornelia Jones legal documents - 1985
  • Cornelia Jones miscellaneous and undated
  • Cornelia Jones's copy of Joe Allen Jones biography My Life
  • Box 28:
  • Birth certificates - 1917-1962
  • Cornelia Jones, eleven folders - 1964-2009
  • Box 29:
  • Joe Allen Jones with Dennis Jones (son) - 1969-1992
  • Joe Allen Jones with Angela Sallerson (daughter) - 1966-1993
  • Joe Allen Jones with Prentiss Mann Jones (son) - 1969-1993
  • Joe Allen Jones with Cornelia Fitch Jones (daughter) - 1963-1991
  • Sub-Series: Legal
  • Box 30:
  • Will, power of attorney, Sleepy Hollow burial request - 1943-2009
  • Divorce papers - 1970
  • Taxes, alimony, legal documents - 1969-1989
  • Deeds and paperwork: Canaan Heights/Aspen Acres - 1993
  • Deeds, paperwork: Aspen Acres - 1993
  • Paperwork: Laurel Ridge - 1993
  • Deeds and legal agreements: Beardon Knob, Canaan Valley Road house - 1993-1994
  • Deeds, papers: sale of West Virginia farm - 1993
  • West Virginia log cabin and shop - 1982-1996
  • Paperwork: sale of 220 Kilbourn Road Pittsford NY - 1951-1972
  • Paperwork: sale and mortgage condo 55 Milrace - 1972, 1980