Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Eliza Hickok Kesler papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1946-1947
Creator: Kesler, Eliza Hickok (1909-)
Extent: 3.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0040
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Cedar Rapids native who worked on the radio show 'The Quiz Kids.'

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 40) were transfered from the University of Iowa Libraries Special Collections Department in October 1997.

Preferred Citation: Eliza Hickok Kesler papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Eliza (Roby) Merrill Hickok Kesler was born in Cedar Rapids, Iowa on November 29, 1909. She graduated from Washington High School in 1927, and proceeded to Coe College where she received a B.A. in 1931. She later attended Northwestern University to continue her studies in journalism and received an M.A. in 1940.

Eiza Hickok began her writing career as a Coe campus correspondent for the Cedar Rapids Gazette. After graduation, she took on a position as a Gazette reporter. Hickok later worked for the radio show "The Quiz Kids," in which exceptionally bright young children were questioned regarding various subjects. "The Quiz Kids" aired during the 1940s on NBC in Chicago. By 1946 Hickok had risen to the position of Assistant Program Director at Louis G. Cowhan and Company. In 1947 she published a book, The Quiz Kids, and married Carl C. Kesler.

The Eliza Kesler papers measure 3 linear inches and date from 1946 to 1947. They are arranged in six folders. The Biographical folder (1947) includes one newspaper article regarding The Quiz Kids and Hickok's future books. The Correspondence folder (1946-1947) includes correspondence between Kesler and her publisher, Houghton Mifflin Company, and provides insight into the author-publisher relationship in the mid-twentieth century. The Manuscript folders (undated, probably late 1946) contain a printer's copy of The Quiz Kids, and includes penciled-in corrections.
A signed copy of The Quiz Kids, by Eliza Hickok (HoughtonMifflin, 1947) is in the Iowa Authors collection in the Special Collections Department, University of Iowa Libraries.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: General

  • Series 1: General
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical - 1947
  • Correspondence - 1946-1947
  • Manuscript: Printer's copy of The Quiz Kids Part 1 (4 folders) - 1946
  • Part 2 - 1946
  • Part 3 - 1946
  • Part 4 - 1946

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Kesler, Eliza Hickok, 1909-

Corporate Names:
Houghton Mifflin Company

Dates:
1940-1949

Topics:
Children's radio programs
Women in radio broadcasting
Authors and publishers

Occupations:
Journalists
Authors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Cedar Rapids

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Correspondence