Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1934-2001
Creator: Aydelotte, Myrtle Kitchell (1917-2010)
Extent: 21.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0036
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Professor of nursing,1957-1976, dean of the College of Nursing, 1949-1957, and director of nursing for the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics,1968-1976.
View Selected Items Online:Iowa Women's Archives Images

Arrangement: The 2004 accession is shelved in boxes 47-50.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 37) were donated by Myrtle K. Aydelotte in 1996 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Myrtle Elizabeth Kitchell, nursing leader and innovator, was born in Van Meter, Iowa, on May 31, 1917. Graduating high school at the age of sixteen, she took a year off and then entered a five-year baccalaureate nursing program at the University of Minnesota. She received her B.A. in nursing education in 1939.

After obtaining her degree, Kitchell worked as Head Nurse at the Charles T. Miller Hospital in St. Paul, Minnesota, from 1939 to 1941. From 1941 to 1942 Kitchell was a surgical teaching supervisor at St. Mary's Hospital School of Nursing in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Kitchell entered the Army Nurse Corps as an assistant chief nurse, a captain, at the 26th General Hospital in North Africa from 1942 to 1945, and, in 1945, she was chief nurse at the 52nd Station Hospital in Italy. After the war, Kitchell returned to the University of Minnesota to work on a master's degree in education and to serve as an instructor at the School of Nursing. She received her degree in 1948.

From 1949 to 1957, Kitchell was the Director and Dean of the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa) College of Nursing. She received her Ph.D. in Educational Administration and Educational Psychology in 1955 from the University of Minnesota. In 1956, Myrtle Kitchell married William O. Aydelotte, then the Chairman of the History Department at the State University of Iowa. They had two children, Marie in 1957, and Jeanette in 1959.

Aydelotte was a professor at the University of Iowa College of Nursing from 1957 to 1962; from 1963 to 1964, she was the associate chief nurse and chief nurse of nursing research at the Veterans Administration Hospital in Iowa City, Iowa. Aydelotte resumed her professorship at the University of Iowa College of Nursing from 1964 to 1976; from 1968 to 1976 she was the director of nursing for the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. She retired from the University of Iowa in 1976.

After 1976, Aydelotte held positions in the American Nurses Association and the Center for Nursing Innovations. She also held visiting professorships at the University of Illinois College of Nursing and at Yale University. Aydelotte wrote and published prolifically. She is considered a national authority on societal change and its effect on health care delivery.

Aydelotte has been a member of the National League for Nursing; the American Nurses Association; Sigma Theta Tau, the international honorary for nursing; as well as a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing. She has also been involved with the Iowa Citizens' League for Nursing, the Iowa Hospital Association, and the Iowa Nurses Association.

The Myrtle K. Aydelotte papers date from 1934 to 2001 and measure 21 linear feet. The papers are arranged in eight series: Personal, Advising and consulting, Conferences, Employment, Professional associations, Professional correspondence, Research, and Photographs.

The Personal series (1934-2001 and undated) contains some biographical information, but the bulk of the series is comprised of course notes Aydelotte made while a student at the University of Minnesota School of Nursing; some may be notes from the courses she taught while at the University of Minnesota. Many of the honors and awards she received are also included here.

The Advising and consulting series (1950-2001 and undated) consists of correspondence and Aydelotte's notes resulting from her many consulting positions. This series documents Aydelotte's independent consulting visits as well as the advisory and editorial boards on which she served.

The Conferences series (1949-1996 and undated) mainly consists of papers Aydelotte gave at conferences, workshops, and seminars during her career. The correspondence related to the events is also included.

The Employment series (1945 -1996 and undated) is divided into four main subseries: Army, State University of Iowa College of Nursing, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, and Veteran's Administration. These subseries contain Aydelotte's administrative papers, committee materials, and other materials which relate to her four main places of employment.

The Professional associations series (1950-1999 and undated) includes the records pertaining to her involvement in professional organizations. The three most prominently represented here are the American Nurses Association, the National League for Nursing, and Sigma Theta Tau.

The Professional correspondence series (1957-2000 and undated) includes all the correspondence that Aydelotte specifically labeled as professional. Additional correspondence can be found throughout the collection.

The Research series (1951-1998 and undated) contains papers Aydelotte wrote for publication and her notes and drafts from her large research studies. Correspondence with publishers, editors, and co-authors is interfiled with the publications in this series.

The Photographs series (1976-1990 and undated) contains photographs of Aydelotte with other nurses and one undated portrait. Several of the photographs are of early graduating classes of the University of Iowa College of Nursing.
The William O. Aydelotte papers (University of Iowa Archives, University of Iowa): William Aydelotte was Myrtle Aydelotte's husband.
Neumann, Tali, "The Administrations of Marie E. Tenor, Helen F. Watters, Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte, and Mary E. Fuller: Four Directors of Nursing Service, The University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics 1949-1979." M.A. Thesis, University of Iowa College of Nursing, 1987. (Housed in Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, University of Iowa - T1987 N492)
Robnett, Michelle Kearns, "The Growth of a Nursing Leader: Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte"  M.A. Thesis, University of Iowa College of Nursing, 1986. (Housed in the Iowa Women's Archives printed works collection - T1986 R666)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL
Series 2: ADVISING AND CONSULTING
Series 3: CONFERENCES
Series 4: EMPLOYMENT
Series 5: PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS
Series 6: PROFESSIONAL CORRESPONDENCE
Series 7: RESEARCH
Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL
  • Sub-Series: Activities and interests
  • Box 1:
  • Altrusa - 1950-1951
  • American Association of University Professors general - 1972-1975
  • American Association of University Professors minutes - 1973-1975
  • American Association of University Professors newsletters - 1974-1976
  • American Association of University Women art show - 1956
  • American Association of University Women fellowship program - 1955
  • Federated Business and Professional Women's Clubs - 1950
  • League of Women Voters of Iowa City - 1956
  • Library Board, Iowa City, Iowa - 1961-1967
  • "SLAM" [poetry magazine compiled by Aydelotte's daughters] - 1973
  • The University (of Iowa) Club - 1950-1953
  • Box 47:
  • 50th year reunion 26th General Hospital [2001 accession] - 1992
  • Centennial anniversary of nursing at Iowa [2001 accession] - 1998
  • University of Minnesota President's Club [2001 accession] - 1979-1993
  • Sub-Series: Biographical
  • Box 1:
  • Appointment books - 1957-1975
  • Box 2:
  • Autobiographical sketches, Myrtle K. Aydelotte - 1987
  • Autobiographical sketches, William O. Aydelotte - 1978
  • Curriculum Vitae - 1956
  • Curriculum Vitae - 1964
  • Curriculum Vitae - 1987
  • Newspaper clippings - 1959-1988
  • Box 48:
  • Newspaper clippings - 1995-1998
  • Oral history interview - 1985, 1987
  • Summary of Army experience, undated
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1948-1950
  • Correspondence - 1951-1957
  • Correspondence - 1962-1990
  • Densford, Katharine - 1956-1957
  • Mugar Library, The Nursing Archives - 1982-1983
  • University of Minnesota - 1974
  • Box 48:
  • General - 1977-2000
  • Henderson, Virginia - 1996
  • Robnette, Michelle - 1984-1985
  • Sub-Series: Education, University of Minnesota
  • Box 2:
  • Course notes: General Inorganic - 1934
  • Course notes: Biostatistics 110 - 1945
  • Course notes: Ed[ucational] Administration 227 - 1947
  • Course notes: Ed. C.I. 252:Effective College Teaching - 1947
  • Box 3:
  • Course notes: Health Education 180: School and the Social Order - 1947
  • Course notes: Education 292: Organization and the Administration in Schools of Nursing - 1948
  • Course notes: Ed[ucational] Teaching 51A - 1948
  • Course notes: Public Health 141: Social and Economic Aspects of Medical Care - 1948
  • Course notes: Public Health 161: History and Development of Hospitals - 1948
  • Course notes: Eds. 292: Administration in Schools of Nursing - 1948
  • Course notes: Ed[ucational] Psychology 294 - 1949
  • Course notes: Nursing Educationn 171 - 1949
  • Course notes: Administration of Nursing Personnel, undated
  • Course notes: Ed[ucational] Administration 253, undated
  • Course notes: Ed. C.I. 251, undated
  • Course notes: Public Health Administration 106, undated
  • Commencement program - 1955
  • Remarks for Alumni Association News on women's education - 1965
  • Resignation - 1949
  • Sub-Series: Education, State University of Iowa
  • Box 3:
  • General - 1949-1955
  • 34:220 Culture and Personality - 1955
  • Sub-Series: Education, Stanford University
  • Box 3:
  • Business 332: Government Regulation of Industrial Relations - 1976
  • Box 4:
  • Business 333: The American Woman at Work - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Education, other
  • Box 4:
  • National Training Laboratory - 1955
  • "Education for Nursing: A History of the University of Minnesota School" [shelved in the printed works collection RT81.M6 G7 1960] - 1960
  • Sub-Series: Honors and awards
  • Box 4:
  • Certificates - 1949-1977
  • Fellow, Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences - 1977
  • Fourth Elizabeth S. Soule Lecturer, University of Washington - 1982
  • Luther Christman Award - 1977
  • Towner's Woman of the Week - 1950
  • Tribute by Hon. Neal Smith, Iowa House of Representatives - 1981
  • University of Minnesota Outstanding Achievement Award - 1959
  • University of Nebraska, Honorary Doctor of Science - 1981
  • "Who's Who Monthly Supplement," January - 1954
  • Box 48:
  • American Academy of Nursing, Living Legend - 1994
  • American Nurses' Foundation, Distinguished Scholar - 1986
  • Iowa Nurses' Week, Honorary Chairperson - 1984
  • Sigma Theta Tau, Distinguished Leader in Nursing - 1982
  • Sigma Theta Tau, First Distinguished Fellow - 1988
  • University of Nebraska, Honorary Doctor of Science - 1091
  • University of Iowa, Distinguished Alumni - 1997
  • University of Iowa, Myrtle K. Aydelotte Conference Room - 1984
  • University of Iowa, Myrtle K. Aydelotte Dean's Award - 2000
  • University of Iowa, Myrtle K. Aydelotte Fellowship - 2001
  • Sub-Series: Gifts given
  • Box 48:
  • American Nurses' Association - 1981-1984
  • Campaign for Center of Nursing Scholarship - 1987
  • Sigma Theta Tau - 1990
  • University of Iowa - 1983-1997
  • University of Minnesota - 1974-1993
  • Series 2: ADVISING AND CONSULTING
  • Box 4:
  • Arizona State University - 1971-1972
  • Center for Nursing Innovations - 1983-1984
  • Chronic Disease Care Program - 1983
  • Clemson University College of Nursing - 1986
  • Coe College Department of Nursing Education - 1972-1974
  • Colorado Nurses' Association - 1981-1987
  • Commission for Administrative Services in Hospitals (CASH) - 1971
  • Commonwealth Fund - 1982-1983
  • Department of Health, Education and Welfare - 1972-1976
  • Fort Hays State University - 1978
  • Georgetown University - 1985
  • Health Resources Administration - 1974
  • Iowa Board of Nurse Examiners (now Board of Nursing): 2nd Work Conference on the Development of More Flexible State Board Standards - 1955
  • Iowa Board of Nurse Examiners: 3rd Work Conference on the Development of More Flexible State Board Standards - 1956
  • Iowa Board of Nurse Examiners: Correspondence - 1958
  • Iowa Board of Nurse Examiners: Practical Nurse Conference - 1957
  • Iowa Board of Nurse Examiners: Board Meeting Minutes - 1955
  • Iowa Board of Nurse Examiners: Board Meeting Minutes - 1956
  • Iowa Board of Nurse Examiners: Board Meeting Minutes - 1957
  • Box 5:
  • Iowa Board of Nurse Examiners: Board Meeting Minutes - 1958
  • Iowa Department of Social Services - 1972-1973
  • Iowa Polio Planning Committee - 1953
  • Iowa Regional Medical Program, undated
  • Iowa State Survey of Nursing Needs and Resources correspondence - 1950-1951
  • Iowa State Survey of Nursing Needs and Resources meetings - 1950-1951
  • Johns Hopkins University - 1978-1979
  • Johnson County (Iowa) Board of Health meetings - 1967-1970
  • Johnson County (Iowa) Board of Health meetings - 1971-1972
  • Johnson County (Iowa) Board of Health meetings - 1973-1974
  • Johnson County (Iowa) Board of Health meetings - 1975
  • Johnson County (Iowa) Board of Health nursing services - 1968-1973
  • Johnson County (Iowa) Board of Health: Public Health Nursing Advisory Group - 1973
  • Box 6:
  • Johnson County (Iowa) Board of Health: Visiting Nurse Coordinating Committee - 1973
  • Joint Orthopedic and Poliomyelitis Nursing Advisory Service - 1953
  • Journal of Nursing Administration - 1969-1970
  • Journal of Nursing Administration - 1971-1975
  • Kellogg Foundation Advisory Council on Nursing general - 1952-1953
  • Kellogg Foundation Advisory Council on Nursing committee meetings, February - 1954
  • Kellogg Foundation Advisory Council on Nursing committee meetings, October - 1954
  • Macalester College - 1974
  • Medicus National Advisory Committee general - 1972-1973
  • Medicus National Advisory Committee: "A Methodology for Evaluating Quality of Nursing Care" (2 folders) - 1974
  • Box 7:
  • Medicus National Advisory Committee: "A Methodology for Evaluating Quality of Nursing Care" - 1972
  • Medicus National Advisory Committee: "A Methodology for Evaluating Quality of Nursing Care," March - 1974
  • Medicus National Advisory Committee: "A Methodology for Evaluating Quality of Nursing Care," November - 1974
  • Medicus National Advisory Committee: "A Methodology for Evaluating Quality of Nursing Care" - 1975
  • Medicus National Advisory Committee: Nursing Productivity Conference proceedings (2 folders) - 1975
  • Midwest Regional Conference Planning Committee - 1956
  • Montefiore Hospital - 1983
  • Morris Brown College - 1987
  • National Association of Social Workers Search Committee - 1981
  • National Commission on Nursing correspondence - 1982-1983
  • National Commission on Nursing draft summary report - 1983
  • National Commission on Nursing final report and recommendations - 1983
  • National Commission on Nursing meetings, November - 1982
  • National Commission on Nursing meetings, January - 1983
  • National Commission on Nursing meetings, September - 1983
  • Box 8:
  • National Committee for the Study of Nursing and Nursing Education - 1964-1969
  • National Committee for the Study of Nursing and Nursing Education - 1970
  • National Committee for the Study of Nursing and Nursing Education - 1971
  • National Committee for the Study of Nursing and Nursing Education - 1972
  • National Committee for the Study of Nursing and Nursing Education - 1973
  • National Council of State Boards of Nursing [project with American College Testing] meetings - 1984
  • National Council of State Boards of Nursing meetings, May - 1985
  • National Council of State Boards of Nursing meetings, November - 1985
  • National Council of State Boards of Nursing meetings, May - 1986
  • National Forum of Women Health Care Leaders Board of Directors - 1990
  • National Institutes of Health (NIH) committee to plan the conference on nurse staffing research, January - 1972
  • Box 9:
  • NIH committee to plan the conference on nurse staffing research, February - 1972
  • NIH committee to plan the conference on nurse staffing research, May 10 - 1972
  • NIH committee to plan the conference on nurse staffing research, May 23 - 1972
  • NIH committee to plan the conference on nurse staffing research, September - 1972
  • National Nursing Accrediting Service - 1950-1951
  • National Research Council Committee on Health Care Resources in the Veterans Administration (CHCRVA) general - 1974-1976
  • National Research Council CHCRVA committee membership list - 1975
  • National Research Council CHCRVA: "Hearings on the National Academy of Sciences Study of Health Care for American Veterans and the VA Reponse, parts 1 and 2" [shelved in the printed works collection]
  • National Research Council CHCRVA meetings - 1975
  • National Research Council CHCRVA meetings - 1976
  • National Research Council site visits general information - 1975
  • National Research Council site visits: Meltzer - 1961, 1966
  • National Research Council site visits: Northampton, Massachussetts - 1975
  • National Research Council site visits: Philadelphia - 1975
  • National Research Council subcommittees: Dental - 1976
  • National Research Council subcommittees: Hemodialysis - 1976
  • Box 10:
  • National Research Council subcommittees: Long term care - 1976
  • National Research Council subcommittees: Staffing - 1975-1976
  • National Research Council Workshop on the Methodology for Assessing the VA's Health Manpower Requirements - 1974
  • National Research Council: National Academy Special Panel in Nursing in the Veterans Administration - 1976
  • "The Nurses' Almanac" Board of Advisors - 1977
  • "Nursing Digest" Associate editor - 1972-1975
  • "Nursing Research" Ad Hoc Editorial Advisory Committee - 1976
  • Nursing Research correspondence - 1952-1957
  • "Nursing Research" editorial board meetings - 1953
  • "Nursing Research" editorial board meetings - 1955
  • "Nursing Research" editorial board meetings - 1956
  • Oaknoll Retirement Residence - 1973-1974
  • Box 11:
  • Oaknoll Retirement Residence board meetings - 1972-1975
  • Office of Training and Assistance, Medical Devices and Nursing Education correspondence - 1985-1986
  • Office of Training and Assistance, Medical Devices and Nursing Education proceedings - 1986
  • Office of Training and Assistance, Medical Devices and Nursing Education program materials - 1986
  • Office of Training and Assistance, Medical Devices and Nursing Education working materials - 1985-1986
  • Robert Wood Johnson Foundation: Chronic Disease Care Program - 1983
  • Robert Wood Johnson Foundation: Clinical Nurse Scholars Program - 1982
  • St. Joseph's Medical Center - 1990
  • San Francisco General Hospital - 1984
  • San Francisco General Hospital development of strategy - 1984
  • San Francisco General Hospital nursing education - 1984
  • San Francisco General Hospital overall problems - 1984
  • San Francisco General Hospital position description - 1984
  • San Francisco General Hospital proposals for governance, undated
  • San Francisco General Hospital staffing - 1984
  • San Francisco General Hospital visits, June 5-7 - 1984
  • San Francisco General Hospital visits, June 20-26 - 1984
  • San Francisco General Hospital visits, July 9-18 - 1984
  • San Francisco General Hospital visits, July 19-27 - 1984
  • San Joaquin County Health Care Services - 1973-1974
  • United States Public Health Service Division of Nursing Resources - 1958-1962
  • United States Public Health Service Special Grants Review Panel - 1977
  • Box 12:
  • University of Alberta - 1976
  • University of California, Los Angeles - 1976
  • University of Colorado - 1969-1976
  • University of Illinois, Chicago - 1973
  • University of Illinois, Chicago - 1976-1979
  • University of Illinois, Chicago - 1981-1982
  • University of Illinois, Peoria - 1982
  • University of Michigan consultation - 1970-1971
  • University of Michigan Development of Criterion Measures of Nursing Care, December - 1974
  • University of Michigan Development of Criterion Measures of Nursing Care, May - 1975
  • University of Michigan Development of Criterion Measures of Nursing Care, May - 1976
  • University of Michigan Nursing Health Services Administration Advisory Committee - 1983
  • University of Michigan and Henry Ford Hospital - 1985-1986
  • University of Minnesota consultations - 1970
  • University of Minnesota consultations - 1983
  • University of Minnesota consultations - 1989-1990
  • University of Minnesota correspondence - 1968-1971
  • University of Missouri - 1972
  • University of Nebraska Consultant, Articulated Curriculum Project - 1972-1975
  • University of Nebraska Task force on the master's program - 1972-1974
  • University of Nebraska Task force on the master's program - 1975-1976
  • University of Pennsylvania - 1989-1990
  • University of Pittsburgh - 1970
  • University of Rochester - 1970
  • Box 13:
  • University of Rochester - 1978
  • University of Texas at Austin - 1982
  • University of Virginia - 1983
  • Veterans Administration (VA) consultations: Center, Hot Springs, SD - 1952
  • VA consultations: Hospital, Buffalo, NY - 1976, 1978-1979
  • VA consultations: Hospital, Hines, IL - 1972
  • VA correspondence - 1951-1956
  • VA Medical Advisory Group - 1951
  • VA National Nursing Consultants - 1974-1975
  • VA Nursing Advisory Committee - 1951
  • VA Nursing Advisory Committee - 1952
  • VA Nursing Advisory Committee - 1953
  • VA Nursing Advisory Committee - 1954
  • VA Nursing Advisory Committee - 1955
  • VA Nursing Advisory Committee - 1956
  • VA Nursing Advisory Committee: Education and Training subcommittee - 1952-1955
  • VA Nursing Advisory Committee: Hospital Nursing Standards and Operations subcommittee - 1953
  • VA Nursing Advisory Committee: Nurse Professional Standards subcommittee - 1952-1953
  • VA Nursing Advisory Committee: Outpatient Nursing Standards subcommittee - 1953
  • VA Video Nursing Inc. - 1971
  • Wayne State University Scientific Advisory Board, Center for Health Research correspondence - 1972-1974
  • Wayne State University Scientific Advisory Board, Center for Health Research meetings - 1973
  • Box 14:
  • Wayne State University Scientific Advisory Board, Center for Health Research meetings, October - 1975
  • Wayne State University Scientific Advisory Board, Center for Health Research meetings, December - 1975
  • Wayne State University Scientific Advisory Board, Center for Health Research newsletters - 1969-1974
  • Yale University consultation - 1990
  • Yale University: University Council on Medical Affairs - 1985-1987
  • Yale University: University Council on Medical Affairs final report on the Yale School of Nursing - 1986
  • Box 48:
  • Department of Health and Human Services - 1998
  • Katharine J. Densford Center - 1996
  • Kelting Scholarship - 1977-2001
  • Series 3: CONFERENCES
  • Sub-Series: Presentations
  • Box 14:
  • Educational Conferences for Nurses, University of Minnesota - 1949
  • "Applications of Educational Psychology to the Teaching of Operating Room Nursing," Mercy Hospital School of Nursing, Iowa City - 1950
  • Pre-Nursing Program, American Association of Junior Colleges - 1951
  • Conference on Testing, Iowa Board of Nurse Examiners - 1952
  • Improvement of Nursing Services in Hospitals Caring for the Mentally Ill, Iowa State Department of health - 1952
  • In-Service Education and Field Consultation Service, Nursing Service Administration Conference, Battle Creek, MI - 1952
  • Pre-Nursing Institute, Jackson County Hospital - 1952
  • 4th Annual Conference for Psychiatric Nursing Personnel of Iowa Mental Health Institute, Iowa League for Nursing - 1953
  • 5th Annual Conference for Psychiatric Nursing Personnel of Iowa Mental Health Institute, Iowa League for Nursing - 1953
  • "Conversion of a 3-5 year curricula to a 4-year pattern," National League for Nursing (NLN) - 1953
  • Preparing Personnel for More Effective Nursing, NLN Regional Conference - 1953
  • 6th Annual Conference for Psychiatric Nursing Personnel of Iowa Mental Health Institute, Iowa League for Nursing - 1954
  • 9th Annual Course in Nursing and Nursing Education, University of Kansas - 1954
  • Baccalaureate, Diploma, and Practical Nurse Programs, Wisconsin League for Nursing - 1955
  • "Keeping Up With Nursing," University of Wisconsin - 1956
  • Medical Surgical Conference, NLN - 1958
  • "Does increased staffing really improve patient care?" Minnesota Nurse's Association - 1961
  • "Nurse Utilization Study--Implications for Nursing Service and Nursing Education," NLN Department of Baccalaureate and Higher Degree Programs - 1961
  • Research Seminar, Yale University - 1961
  • Moving Forward in Professional Nursing, Tennessee Nurses' Association annual convention - 1962
  • "Returns of Your Investment," Iowa Nurses' Association 59th annual convention - 1962
  • Box 15:
  • "Use of Resources," Nebraska State Nurses' Association - 1962
  • "Collegiate Nursing Education," Iowa Hospital Association - 1963
  • "Current Issues in Nursing," NLN-ANA convention - 1964
  • Practical Approaches to Improvement of Nursing Practice, Midwest Regional Conference of State Boards of Nursing - 1964
  • "Problems of Administration in a Complex Organization: Research Design," 4th Management Development Institute for VA executives - 1964
  • "The Pursuit of Excellence," North Dakota NLN Convention - 1964
  • "The Development of Criterion Measures," University of Pittsburgh - 1967
  • Internal Workshop, VA Hospital, Bedford, Mass. - 1967
  • 22nd Annual Meeting, Conference of Catholic Schools of Nursing - 1969
  • Quality Care Workshop, University of Kansas - 1969
  • "Trends in Nursing Education and Nursing Practice," National Conference for Allied Health Professions - 1969
  • The Extended Role of the Nurse, Wisconsin Nurses' Association - 1970
  • "What Do Nurses and Allied Health Professionals Need to be More Effective in Cancer Care," Iowa Regional Medical Program annual meeting - 1970
  • Drug-Related Studies Panel, National Center for Health Services Research and Development - 1971
  • "Gaps Between Service and Education," 4th Annual Meeting Council of Hospital and Related Institutional Nursing Services - 1971
  • "Accountability--Quality vs. Quantity, " Virginia Nurses' Association Convention - 1972
  • Conference on Nurse Staffing, Iowa Hospital Association - 1972
  • "Health Ecology: Nursing's Territory," Illinois Nurses' Association - 1972
  • Nursing Process and Nursing Care, Virginia Commonwealth Unviersity - 1972
  • "Predictions of Numbers and Kind of Staff Required for Nursing Program," School of Nursing, University of Hawaii - 1972
  • Box 16:
  • "Quality--Staffing for Patient Care," American Health Congress - 1972
  • "Accountability--Quality vs. Quantity," University of Wisconsin - 1973
  • "The Future Health Delivery System and the Utilization of Nurses Prepared in Formal Educational Programs," University of Nebraska Articulated Career Program - 1973
  • "Medical Ethics and the Nurse: Mutual Endorsement and Support," AMA 4th National Congress on Medical Ethics - 1973
  • "Nursing Administration and Hospital Administration--A Trust of Mutual Respect," American Health Congress - 1973
  • "The Nursing Audit--A Tool for Quality Assurance," Connecticut Hospital Association - 1973
  • "Nursing Leadership at the Nursing Unit Level," Cedarloo Hospital Council Leadership Conference - 1973
  • "Perception of the Nursing Leadership Role," Minnesota League for Nursing - 1973
  • Continuing Education Program, Programs in Hospitals, University of Hawaii correspondence - 1972-1973
  • Continuing Education Program, Programs in Hospitals, University of Hawaii plans - 1973
  • Continuing Education Program, Programs in Hospitals, University of Hawaii work materials - 1973
  • School of Nursing Association, University of Minnesota - 1973
  • Biennial Regional Clinical Conferences, Illinois Nurses' Association - 1974
  • Clinical Specialists in Nursing, University of Nebraska - 1974
  • Conference on Doctoral Manpower Requirements in Nursing, Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare - 1974
  • Box 17:
  • Excellence in Nursing Service--Corrective Action and Assurance of Clinical Competence, Hawaii Nurses' Association - 1974
  • "Health Care Economics: Implications for Nursing," University of Kansas Schools of Nursing and Medicine - 1974
  • "Interface Between Nursing and Pharmacy: The View of a Director of Nursing," Study Commission on Pharmacy - 1974
  • Partnership for Patient Care, Birmingham Regional Hospital Council - 1974
  • "The Patient's Bill of Rights--Implications for the Health Care System," Oklahoma League for Nursing - 1974
  • "Quality Assurance Programs in Health Care Agencies," Forum for Nursing Service Administrators in the West - 1974
  • 2nd National Conference on Joint Practice, National Joint Practice Commission - 1975
  • "Compatibility Between Health Care Delivery andClinical Nursing Research," Wayne State University - 1975
  • Council of Teaching Hospitals Directors, University of Rochester - 1975
  • "Evaluation for Quality Nursing Care," University of Chicago Hospitals and Clinics - 1975
  • North Dakota Board of Nursing correspondence - 1974-1975
  • "Closing the Gap Between Service and Education," North Dakota Board of Nursing - 1975
  • "Nursing Education and Practice: Putting it All Together," North Dakota Board of Nursing - 1975
  • "Staffing Patterns and Utilization of Nursing Personnel," North Dakota Board of Nursing - 1975
  • Nursing Administration Seminar, University of Illinois - 1975
  • Nursing Care and the Political Arena: Hope or Disaster, ILN - 1975
  • "Quality and Staffing: An Overview," Lutheran Hospital of Maryland - 1975
  • "The Relation of Professional Nursing Accountability and Assurance of Quality Nursing Care," Michigan Nurses' Association - 1975
  • "Research Findings Translation: Feasible or Impractical," University of Michigan School of Nursing - 1975
  • Transmitting Values Through the Nursing Process, 9th Annual Nursing Conference, Sisters of Mercy, Detroit, Michigan - 1975
  • "Clinical Nursing Investigation and the Structure of Knowledge," University of Illinois College of Nursing - 1976
  • Education Conference on the Articulated Programs of the College of Nursing, University of Nebraska - 1976
  • "The Emergence of Nursing Leadership in the United States," King's Fund Seminar of Nurses, United Kingdom - 1976
  • Box 18:
  • "Nursing Autonomy, Accountability, and Standards: the Necessity of Change," University of Missouri-Kansas City - 1976
  • "Nursing Research in Clinical Settings: Problems and Issues," Indiana University's Hospital's Nursing Research Seminar and the School of Nursing - 1976
  • "Nursing Resources--Policy and Implementation: A View of Current and Future Directions," ANA Convention - 1976
  • Seventh District Missouri Nurses Association - 1976
  • Conference on Staffing, Alberta Hospital Association - 1977
  • The Future is Here, National Male Nurse Association - 1977
  • "From Indian to Chief," Nursing Leadership and Mangement Series, Nursing Division of the Academy of Health Professions - 1977
  • "From Indian to Chief," Nursing Leadership and Mangement Series, Nursing Division of the Academy of Health Professions - 1980
  • 25th Congress on Administration - 1982
  • "Healing as a Collaborative Ministry," Sisters of Mercy Health Corporation Annual Meeting and Trustee Symposium - 1982
  • "Nurses and Physicians: An Agenda for Cooperation," Miriam Hospital, Providence, Rhode Island - 1982
  • "Nursing Needs of the Elderly" and "Standards for Nurses in Nursing Homes," University of Iowa Health Care of the Aged Seminar - 1982
  • "The Nursing Profession: A Sociocultural Perspective," St. Joseph's Hospital Symposium on Dynamics of the Therapeutic Process - 1982
  • "The Nursing Shortage: Dollars and Professional Freedom," 60th and 61st Interagency Institute for Federal Health Care Executives - 1982
  • "Nursing: Societal Discontent and Professional Change," University of Washington School of Nursing - 1982
  • "The Path Toward Professional Autonomy," 88th Annual Meeting of the Association of Military Surgeons of the United States - 1982
  • "Productivity and Motivation in the Corporate Setting," American Hospital Association - 1982
  • "Health Care Cost Containment," National Conference for Women Involved in Health Care Delivery at the Decision Making Level - 1983
  • "Leadership Effectiveness as a Nurse Faculty," Iowa Methodist School of Nursing - 1983
  • Box 19:
  • National Conference for Women Health Care Leaders - 1983
  • "Professional Autonomy," Oncology Nursing Conference V - 1983
  • University of Minnesota, 75th Anniversary - 1983-1984
  • "Catastrophic, Long-Term, and Indigent Care," 2nd National Forum for Women Health Care Leaders - 1984
  • Expert Panel on Collaboration in Nursing Education, Practice, and Research - 1984
  • "From Genesis to...," Patient Classification in Critical Care Conference, San Diego, California - 1984
  • "National Perspectives and Trends," 3rd Annual Iowa Nurse Educator's Conference - 1984
  • "Burden of Benefits: For Whom Shall We Care," 3rd National Forum of Women Health Care Leaders - 1985
  • "Utilizing Management Consultants," Collaboration for Clinical Excellence in a Cost-Conscious Environment, San Francisco, California - 1985
  • Workshop on Nursing Data Gaps and Needs, Division of Nursing and Interagency Conference on Nursing Statistics - 1985
  • "Networking and Mentoring in Nursing Education," Iowa Methodist School of Nursing and Mercy Education Center - 1985-1986
  • Kellogg Leadership Program Workshop, ANA - 1986
  • "Nursing Taxonomies: State of the Art," 7th Conference on Classification of Nursing Diagnosis - 1986
  • "Structural Arrangements and Financial Mechanisms for Delivery of Nursing Services in the Future," 55th Convention of ANA - 1986
  • "Substance Abuse--Managing Its Impact on Our Society," 4th National Forum Featuring the Nation's Leading Women Health Care Presenters - 1986
  • "Translating Commitment to Reality," 3rd Annual Nursing Faculty Practice Seminar - 1986
  • "Times are Changing: Stay Ahead and Call the Tune," University of Iowa Department of Nursing Leadership Conference - 1986
  • "The Vision--Nursing's Preferred Future," Annual Meeting and Scientific Session of the American Academy of Nursing - 1986
  • "The Future of Nursing," St. Luke's Methodist Hospital Continuing Education Program - 1987
  • "Innovations for Future Nursing Practice," 66th Annual Meeting, New England Hospital Assembly, Inc. - 1987
  • "Non-Traditional Structural Arrangements and Financial Mechanisms for Delivery of Nursing Care: Present and Future, University of Iowa College of Nursing Research Seminar Series - 1987
  • Box 20:
  • "The Nurse Executive in 2000 AD: Role and Functions," Iowa Nurses Association 6th Annual Iowa Nurse Educator's Conference - 1987
  • "Nursing Administration and Nursing Research: Past Present and Future," VA Nursing Service Nursing Research Conference - 1987
  • "Nursing in the Past," ANA Minority Fellowship Programs' Advisory Committee Meeting - 1987
  • "Nursing: Opportunity Through Diversity," Iowa Nurses Association Convention - 1987
  • "Nursing Practice in the 21st Century," American Nurses Foundation - 1987
  • "State of the Profession and Strategies for the Future," ARISTA Conference - 1987
  • "Trends in Professional Nursing: Research in Iowa," 5th District Iowa Nurses Association - 1987
  • "Use, Misuse: The Plague of Substance Abuse--the Provider's Role," National Forum of Women Health Care Leaders - 1987
  • "Arriving at Your Destination," Iowa Association of Homes for the Aging Fall Conference - 1988
  • "Future of Nursing: Focus for Action," University of Illinois - 1988
  • "Meeting Organization and Program Challenges for the Future," Wayne State University - 1988
  • "Nurse Extender Models Long-Term Strategies," Nursing Conference on Strategies to Manage the Nursing Shortage in Iowa - 1988
  • "Nurse Managed Centers--The Future of Health Care Delivery," ANA Biennial Convention - 1988
  • "Nurses in Private Practice: Special Attention to the Successful Entrepreneur," Nurses in Business, Emory University - 1988
  • "Nursing and the Forces of Change," Iowa Hospital Association 60th annual meeting - 1988-1989
  • "Nursing Practice: Innovative Models," 4th Biennial Conference on Nursing Centers - 1988
  • "The Nursing Shortage--Myth or Reality: The Impact on the Profession," Sigma Theta Tau, Yale University - 1988
  • "Out of the Past and Present Evolve the Future," Founder's Day Dinner, Sigma Theta Tau Epsilon Chapter - 1988
  • "Translating Entrepreneurial Concepts into the Nursing Organization," Massachusetts General Hospital - 1988
  • "Building Centers of Excellence," Rutgers University - 1989
  • "Capturing Today's Ideas for Ambulatory Nursing," University of Iowa Department of Nursing - 1989
  • Box 21:
  • National Forum for Nursing Administrators and Nursing Educators, Pennsylvania Nurses Association - 1989
  • "Nursing and the Forces of Change," Iowa Hospital Association Annual Meeting - 1989
  • "Nursing in the Future: Programmatic Changes Needed," University of New Mexico - 1989
  • "Nursing Practice--Past, Current and Future," California State University at Fresno - 1989
  • "Nursing--Past and Present," University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics - 1989
  • "The Past and Future of Nursing," North Dakota Nurses' Association - 1989
  • Public Forum on the Nursing Shortage - 1989
  • "Restructuring Nursing Practice: Innovations for Acute Care, Nursing Homes, and Home Health," Pennsylvania Nurses Association - 1989
  • "Setting Priorities--Part I," Sigma Theta Tau International 30th Biennial Convention - 1989
  • "Strategies to Meet Forces of Change," Iowa Hospital Association Annual Meeting - 1989
  • "The Decade of the 1990s: Looking Forward," 5th District Presentation - 1990
  • "The Evolution of the Staff Nurse Role in Hospitals," Iowa History of Medicine Society - 1990
  • National Forum of Women Health Care Leaders - 1990
  • "Nursing--Differentiating Practice: Educational Models for the Future," University of Minnesota Continuing Education and Extension - 1990
  • "One Nurse Can Make a Difference," Sigma Theta Tau, Kappa Theta Chapter - 1990
  • "Nursing Education--Shaping the Future," NLN Council of Baccalaureate and Higher Degree Programs - 1991
  • 50th Year Reunion of the 26th General Hospital - 1992
  • "Collaborative Relationships," University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, Department of Nursing--Medical Nursing Division - 1992
  • "Faculty Organization," 1st Regional Conference, Wisconsin State League of Nursing Education, undated
  • Sub-Series: Conferences attended
  • Box 21:
  • National Conference on Women in the Defense Decade - 1951
  • Omaha Regional Curriculum Conference - 1951
  • 56th Convention of the National League of Nursing Education - 1952
  • Work Conference on Graduate Nurse Education - 1952
  • 7th Annual Meeting and Training School of the Iowa Division, American Cancer Society - 1953
  • Governor's Lay Leadership Conference on Education - 1953
  • Teaching Public Health Nursing in Collegiate Basic Programs - 1953
  • Conference for Psychiatric Nursing Personnel of Iowa - 1954
  • Convention of the American Nurses Association - 1954
  • Governor's Conference on Children and Youth - 1954
  • Midwest Training Center in Human Relations - 1954
  • Midwest Regional Conference on Psychiatric Nursing - 1956
  • Conference on Research in Hospital Use - 1963
  • Nursing Theory Conference, University of Kansas - 1969
  • Third Nursing Theory Conference, University of Kansas - 1970
  • Box 22:
  • Strengthening the Iowa Health Care System - 1973
  • Conference on Assessment of Nursing Services, Department of Health, Education, and Welfare - 1974
  • 2nd National Conference on Analysis and Planning for Improved Distribution of Nursing Personnel and Services--WICHE - 1976
  • Conference on Graduate and Continuing Education for Nursing Service Administration - 1982
  • Invitational Conference of the National Commission on the Nursing Implementation Project - 1986
  • Nurses in Business Conference - 1987
  • Box 48:
  • Strategies for Recruiting, Retention, and Graduation in Minority Nurses in Colleges of Nursing - 1996
  • National Training Lab - 1955
  • Series 4: EMPLOYMENT
  • Sub-Series: Army
  • Box 22:
  • Nursing administrative routines, 52nd Station Hospital - 1945
  • Nursing forms used on the wards - 1945
  • Nursing routines - 1945
  • Miscellaneous - 1945
  • Sub-Series: State University of Iowa College of Nursing, Administrative
  • Box 22:
  • Administrative notes, November-January - 1955-1956
  • Administrative notes, January-February - 1957
  • Annual reports - 1956
  • Appointment papers - 1949-1955
  • Appointment papers - 1964-1977
  • Correspondence, November-March - 1948-1949
  • Correspondence, April-July - 1949
  • Enrollment information and schedule of classes - 1969
  • Faculty list, undated
  • Box 23:
  • Kelting Professorship in Nursing - 1974
  • Newspaper clippings - 1949
  • Proposal for a research laboratory - 1965
  • Recruitment trip, Sioux City, Iowa - 1953
  • Research assistant appointment - 1986-1987
  • Secretarial duties - 1957
  • Statement of Beliefs - 1956
  • Sub-Series: State University of Iowa College of Nursing, Committees
  • Box 23:
  • Ad Hoc Committee on Leaves - 1965
  • Ad Hoc Committee on Teaching of Nursing Management - 1982
  • Administrative Advisory Council - 1974-1975
  • Committee on Nursing Resources - 1950
  • Committee to Study Practical Nurse Education - 1950
  • Faculty Search Committee - 1973-1976
  • Faculty Senate Committee on Budgetary Planning and Review - 1975-1977
  • Faculty Senate Committee on Budgetary Planning and Review minutes - 1974-1976
  • Health Services Research Center Research Committee - 1975-1976
  • 96:26 [Psychiatric Nursing] - 1957
  • 96:95 - Comprehensive Nursing Care - 1957
  • 96:101 Issues in Nursing Today - 1985
  • 96:120 Introduction to Methods of Nursing Research - 1967-1968
  • 6:201 Administration of Nursing Service - 1957
  • 6:201 Administration of Nursing Service: Bibliographies - 1956
  • 6:201 Administration of Nursing Service: Case study example - 1957
  • 6:201 Administration of Nursing Service: Lecture notes, undated
  • 96:202 Principles of Nursing Service Administration - 1956-1958
  • Box 24:
  • 96:202 Principles of Nursing Service Administration: Bibliographies - 1956-1958
  • 96:202 Principles of Nursing Service Administration: Final exam - 1957
  • 96:202 Principles of Nursing Service Administration: Lecture notes - 1957-1958
  • 96:203 - 1957
  • 96:204 Trends in Nursing and Nursing Education - 1953, 1957
  • 96:206 Field Study Seminar - 1957
  • 96:220 Research in Nursing - 1964, 1968
  • 96:232 Advanced Medical-Surgical Nursing - 1968-1969
  • 96:233-235 Advanced Medical-Surgical Nursing - 1967-1969
  • 96:260 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies: Course materials - 1987
  • 96:260 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies: Administrative process lectures - 1987
  • 96:260 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies: Decentralization lectures - 1987
  • 96:260 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies: Environment and change lectures - 1987
  • 96:260 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies: Philosophy lectures - 1987
  • 96:260 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies: Role of committees in the organizational structure lectures - 1987
  • 96:260 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies: Types of organizations lectures - 1987
  • 96:261 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies II: Course materials - 1985-1990
  • 96:261 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies II: Budgeting lectures - 1987
  • 96:261 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies II: Career development lectures - 1985
  • 96:261 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies II: Creative staffing patterns, issues of turnover and job satisfaction, and performance appraisal lectures - 1988
  • 96:261 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies II: Environmental overview lectures - 1987
  • 96:261 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies II: Marketing and nursing lectures - 1987
  • 96:261 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies II: Nursing salaries and benefits lectures - 1987
  • Box 25:
  • 96:261 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies II: Nursing productivity lectures - 1986-1987
  • 96:261 Nursing Administration: Process, Roles and Strategies II: Structuring the nursing department lectures - 1987
  • 96:269 Clinical nursing specialization - 1986
  • Sub-Series: State University of Iowa College of Nursing, Seminars and workshops
  • Box 25:
  • 2nd Annual Nurse Director-Hospital Administrator Conference - 1957
  • Workshop on the Care and Treatment of the Chronically and Acutely Ill - 1974
  • Conference on Curriculum Planning - 1954
  • Developing Team Leadership Skills - 1964
  • Evaluation of Student Performance in Basic Nursing - 1953
  • Evaluation of Hospital Nursing Service Personnel - 1961
  • Faculty Conference on Curriculum - 1953
  • Head Nurse Training Program - 1962
  • Improving Clinical Instruction - 1953
  • Industrial Nursing Conference - 1954-1955
  • Institute on Clinical Teaching in Medical and Surgical Nursing - 1951
  • Institute on Counseling - 1950
  • Institute on Writing and Research in Nursing Education - 1952
  • Laboratory in Human Relations - 1953
  • Mount Mercy, 96:146 Historical, Philosophical, and Social Foundations of Nursing - 1993
  • Nursing in the Social Order - 1953
  • Nursing Service to the School-Age Child - 1953
  • Practical Nurse Education - 1953
  • Programs and Activities of Public Health Nurse Coordinators - 1951
  • Hospital Administration seminars - 1952
  • Politics in Nursing seminars - 1985-1988
  • Research in Nursing seminars - 1962-1963
  • Teaching of Medical and Surgical Nursing, "The Analysis and Reconstruction of Nursing Procedures" - 1950
  • Theoretical Definition of Nursing Practice - 1964
  • Ward Aides - 1951
  • Two Conferences on Curriculum Planning - 1954
  • Work Conference in Nursing Education - 1953
  • Nursing Service Administration work conference - 1952
  • Nursing Service Administration work conference - 1953
  • Group Work Conference, undated
  • Sub-Series: State University of Iowa College of Nursing, Speeches and broadcasts
  • Box 25:
  • Commencement exercises, Allen Memorial Hospital - 1950
  • "Education for the Professional Woman," undated
  • Iowa Council for Better Education, WOI, Ames, Iowa - 1952
  • Iowa Lutheran Hospital's School of Nursing Graduation - 1974
  • Box 26:
  • "New Plans of Nursing at State University of Iowa" - 1949
  • "The Nurse and Her Social Responsibility," undated
  • "The Professionalism of Nursing" - 1956
  • Radio Broadcast - 1950
  • St. Luke's Commencement, Cedar Rapids, Iowa - 1969
  • Trends in Nursing Education - 1957
  • University of New Mexico College of Nursing - 1989
  • Sub-Series: State University of Iowa College of Nursing, Thesis advisement
  • Box 26:
  • Cothern, Della - 1971
  • Habenstreit, undated
  • Halloran, Edward - 1976
  • Heald, Donna Rae - 1972
  • Miller, Sister Patricia - 1974
  • Ormsby, Sharon - 1973
  • Price, James L. - 1973
  • Sweeney, Sandra - 1972
  • Taunton, Roma Lee - 1981-1982
  • Box 27:
  • Zemlicka, Pearl, undated
  • Sub-Series: State University of Iowa College of Nursing, Miscellaneous
  • Box 27:
  • Operating Room Supervisor Study (Jack Buerkle, Yale University) - 1953-1956
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
  • Box 27:
  • 3rd Annual Clinical Nursing Symposium of University Hospital's Executive Council [shelved in printed works collection RT3.C5 3rd 1973] - 1973
  • Official Status and appointment papers - 1973-1975
  • Proposals for Special Units - 1968, 1970
  • Retirement, Correspondence - 1976
  • Retirement, Guest book - 1976
  • Volunteer Program Advisory Committee - 1973-1974
  • Sub-Series: Veterans Administration
  • Box 27:
  • Appointment papers - 1951, 1963
  • Clinical Nursing Research Program: Research study group in nursing meetings: March - 1964
  • Clinical Nursing Research Program: Research study group in nursing meetings: October - 1964
  • Clinical Nursing Research Program: Research study group in nursing meetings: May - 1965
  • Clinical Nursing Research Program: Research study group in nursing meetings: October - 1965
  • Clinical Nursing Research Program: Research and education committee - 1963-1966
  • Clinical Nursing Research Program: Statement on the program - 1964
  • Correspondence - 1963-1965
  • Nursing Service Executive Committee - 1963-1965
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 48: General
  • Appointment Papers - 1957, 1982-1984
  • Nursing Classification Center committees - 1993-1996
  • Box 49:
  • Nursing Classification Center committees, correspondence - 1993-1999
  • Nursing Classification Center committees, series on Nursing Adminstration - 1992-1994
  • Lectures, 16:051 History - 1993, 1995
  • Other Positions Considered - 1951-1955
  • Resignation Letters - 1951-1952
  • Speeches: Commencement exercises, University of Nebraska - 1973
  • Speeches: "Reflections on Iowa's History" - 1998
  • Series 5: PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS
  • Sub-Series: American Academy of Nursing
  • Box 28:
  • American Academy of Nursing - 1976
  • Box 49:
  • American Academy of Nursing - 1976
  • Sub-Series: American Nurses Association (ANA)
  • Box 28:
  • ANA-NLN Study of Nursing Education [see Research studies, ANA-NLN Study of Nursing Education] - 1964
  • Appointment as Executive Director: Appointment papers - 1977
  • Appointment as Executive Director: Contract and goals - 1977, 1980
  • Appointment as Executive Director: Correspondence - 1977
  • Box 49:
  • American Nurses' Association - 1982-1986
  • Sub-Series: ANA Committees
  • Box 28:
  • Commission on Nursing Services - 1976
  • Commission on Nursing Services - 1977
  • Committee on Convention Program - 1952-1953, 1964-1965
  • Committee on Finance - 1952-1954
  • Committee on Finance - 1955
  • Committee on Finance - 1956
  • Committee on Program, Educational Administrators, Consultants, and Teachers Section - 1952-1953
  • Committee on State Boards of Nursing Education and Nursing Registration - 1953, 1956
  • Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospitals (JCAH) - 1977
  • Study Committee for Credentialing in Nursing - 1976-1977
  • Task force to Develop Guidelines for Nurse-Managed Centers - 1987
  • Task force to Develop Guidelines for Nurse-Managed Centers: "The Nursing Center: Concept and Design" - 1987
  • Task force on Development of a Policy for Nursing Resources - 1977
  • Task force to examine eligibility criteria and other components of the Community Nursing Organization Legislation - 1987-1989
  • Task force on Manpower - 1973, 1975
  • Box 29:
  • Task force on Policy Development - 1975-1976
  • Sub-Series: ANA Conferences
  • Box 29:
  • Annual Convention - 1976
  • Annual Convention: Commission on Nursing Services - 1976
  • Annual Convention: Open Meeting sponsored by the Council of Nursing Service Facilitators - 1976
  • Conference of Chairpersons - 1975
  • Conference of Chairpersons - 1976
  • Commission on Nursing Services Educational Conferences - 1969
  • Midwest Regional Conference of the State Boards of Nursing - 1955
  • Quality Assurance Program for the Nursing Care Institute - 1973
  • State Nurses Associations Executives - 1981
  • Sub-Series: ANA writings and trips
  • Box 29:
  • Correspondence - 1950-1955, 1976
  • Denmark trip - 1968
  • "Issues and Challenges: A Call to Action," The American Nurse, December - 1981
  • "Issues and Challenges: A Call to Action," draft - 1981
  • "Issues and Challenges: A Call to Action," House of Delegates Reports - 1980-1982
  • Sub-Series: Minority Project
  • Box 29:
  • Project information - 1983-1987
  • Project information - 1988
  • Project information - 1989-1990
  • Project information - 1992-1993
  • Faculty and Community Enhancement Grant - 1990
  • Grant proposal and final report - 1987-1988
  • Outline for program seminars - 1987
  • Seminars and meetings: April 11-14 - 1982
  • Seminars and meetings: February 19-21 - 1987
  • Box 30:
  • Seminars and meetings: August 17-19 - 1987
  • Seminars and meetings: August 3-4 - 1988
  • Seminars and meetings: April 7-18 - 1989
  • Seminars and meetings: June 16-18 - 1989
  • Seminars and meetings: July 24-25 - 1989
  • Seminars and meetings: October 6-8 - 1989
  • Seminars and meetings: December 3-4 - 1989
  • Seminars and meetings: March 1-2 - 1990
  • Seminars and meetings: May 1 - 1990
  • Seminars and meetings: May 14 - 1990
  • Seminars and meetings: January 5-6 - 1994
  • Seminars and meetings: February 24-27 - 1994
  • Core Faculty Meeting: March 21 - 1992
  • Core Faculty Meeting: May 30-31 - 1992
  • Core Faculty Meeting: September 5-6 - 1992
  • Core Faculty Meeting: April 28 - 1993
  • "Report of the Executive Director," House of Delegates Reports - 1978-1980
  • Retirement: Correspondence - 1981
  • Retirement: Reception - 1981
  • Retirement: Resignation - 1981
  • Retirement: Resolution, American Journal of Nursing Company - 1981
  • Retirement: Scrapbook [disbound] - 1981
  • Retirement: Self-evaluation - 1981
  • White paper report examining the purpose, function, and structure of the professional organization - 1979
  • Sub-Series: American Nurses' Foundation
  • Box 30:
  • Board nomination - 1989
  • Distinguished Scholar Project: Correspondence - 1985-1987
  • Distinguished Scholar Project: Financial - 1985-1988
  • Box 31:
  • Distinguished Scholar Project: Progress reports - 1987-1988
  • Distinguished Scholar Project: Proposal - 1985-1986
  • Box 49:
  • American Nurses' Foundation - 1985, 1987-1988
  • Sub-Series: American Organization of Nurse Executives
  • Box 31:
  • American Organization of Nurse Executives - 1986
  • Sub-Series: American Society for Hospital Nursing Service Administrators
  • Box 31:
  • American Society for Hospital Nursing Service Administrators - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Association of Collegiate Schools of Nursing
  • Box 31:
  • Association of Collegiate Schools of Nursing - 1951
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Hospital Association
  • Box 31:
  • General - 1967-1972
  • General - 1973
  • Annual meeting - 1970
  • Annual meeting - 1972
  • Annual meeting - 1974
  • Committee to Develop Objectives and methodologies - 1970
  • Nursing Committee - 1974
  • Nurse Utilization Research Study and Evaluation Project (NURSE) - 1972-1973
  • Regional meeting - 1953
  • Sub-Series: Iowa League for Nursing (now Iowa Citizens League for Nursing)
  • Box 31:
  • General - 1953-1954
  • Annual reports - 1954
  • Committee on Nominations - 1956
  • Committee to Form Long Range Goals for the Iowa League for Nursing, undated
  • Co-ordinating Council - 1953-1955
  • Annual meeting - 1953
  • Annual meeting - 1955
  • Leadership Effectiveness Conference - 1983
  • Minutes - 1953-1954
  • Minutes - 1955
  • Sub-Series: Iowa State Nurses Association (now Iowa Nurses Association)
  • Box 31:
  • 3rd Annual Iowa Educators' Conference - 1983-1984
  • Annual conventions - 1950
  • Annual conventions - 1952
  • "Directions for the Future," Kirkwood Community College - 1983
  • National Commission on Nursing Recommendations - 1983
  • "Nursing...Where are You Going?" - 1969
  • Correspondence - 1950-1955
  • Box 32:
  • Finance committee - 1950, 1954-1955
  • Iowa Nurses Association 5th District - 1949-1955
  • Sub-Series: National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine
  • Box 32:
  • General - 1973
  • General - 1975
  • General - 1980
  • Ad Hoc Committee on Unionization of Health Professionals - 1973
  • Membership Committee - 1978-1979
  • Programming Committee meeting: September - 1973
  • Programming Committee meeting: January - 1974
  • Programming Committee meeting: March - 1974
  • Programming Committee meeting: May - 1974
  • Programming Committee meeting: July - 1974
  • Programming Committee meeting: September - 1974
  • Programming Committee meeting: November - 1974
  • Programming Committee meeting: January - 1975
  • Programming Committee meeting: April - 1975
  • Programming Committee meeting: July - 1975
  • Programming Committee meeting: October - 1975
  • Programming Committee meeting: November - 1975
  • Programming Committee meeting: January - 1976
  • Small Regional Advisory Committee - 1977-1978
  • Steering Committee, Study of the U.S. goals for the 2000 - 1979
  • Annual meeting - 1979
  • Fall Meeting - 1973
  • Box 33:
  • Spring Meeting - 1974
  • Fall Meeting - 1974
  • Work Conference of Quality Assurance - 1974
  • Review Panel, IOM Committee to Study Implications of For-Profit Enterprise in Health Care - 1985-1986
  • Study of Nursing and Nursing Education: Advisory Panel on Data Needs - 1981
  • Study of Nursing and Nursing Education Meeting - 1981
  • Study of Nursing and Nursing Education: Nurse Training Act Amendments of '79, '80 - 1979, 1980
  • Study of Nursing and Nursing Education: Work materials - 1982
  • Study of Nursing and Nursing Education: Economics workshop - 1981
  • Study of Nursing and Nursing Education: Workshop on Advanced Nurse Education - 1982
  • Sub-Series: National League for Nursing (NLN) Committees
  • Box 33:
  • Committee for Survey of Hospital Nursing Services - 1970
  • Committee on Nominations - 1970
  • Committee on Perspectives - 1965-1966
  • Department of Baccalaureate and Higher Degree Programs - 1954-1956
  • Department of Baccalaureate and Higher Degree Programs: Accreditation visits, Indiana - 1956
  • Department of Baccalaureate and Higher Degree Programs: Accreditation visits, Michigan - 1956
  • Department of Baccalaureate and Higher Degree Programs: Collegiate Board of Review - 1955
  • Department of Baccalaureate and Higher Degree Programs: Executive Committee on Accreditation Policies - 1955
  • Department of Baccalaureate and Higher Degree Programs: Executive Committee on Accreditation Policies - 1956
  • Fellowship Committee on Awards Correspondence - 1956-1957
  • Fellowship Committee on Awards Meetings: February - 1956
  • Fellowship Committee on Awards Meetings: April - 1956
  • Fellowship Committee on Awards Working materials - 1956
  • Box 34:
  • Sub-committee on Education - 1958
  • Sub-Series: NLN Conferences
  • Box 34:
  • Conference on Decision Making in the Administration of Nursing Services, Department of Hospital Nursing Services, November - 1969
  • Conference on Decision Making in the Administration of Nursing Services, Department of Hospital Nursing Services, January - 1970
  • Conference on Decision Making in the Administration of Nursing Services, Department of Hospital Nursing Services, March - 1970
  • Council of Hospital and Related Institutional Nursing Services Program meeting - 1970
  • Forum for Nursing Service Administrators in the West - 1974
  • Medical-Surgical Conference - 1958-1959
  • Staff Development Workshop, October - 1968
  • Staff Development Workshop, November - 1968
  • Staff Development Workshop, February - 1969
  • Staff Development Workshop, March - 1969
  • Staff Development Workshop, August - 1969
  • Correspondence - 1956-1976
  • Sub-Series: New York Academy of Sciences
  • Box 34:
  • New York Academy of Sciences - 1966-1971
  • Sub-Series: Nursing Fellowship Fund
  • Box 34:
  • Nursing Fellowship Fund - 1953
  • Sub-Series: Pi Lambda Theta
  • Box 34:
  • Pi Lambda Theta - 1951-1952
  • Sub-Series: Sigma Theta Tau
  • Box 34:
  • General - 1955-1957
  • General - 1989-1990
  • Box 35:
  • Awards: Distinguished Research Fellow - 1987-1989
  • Awards: Mary Tolle Wright Award for Leadership - 1987
  • Awards: National Service Award - 1987
  • 75th Anniversary Celebration Committee - 1986, 1993
  • Friends of the Library Committee - 1990-1993
  • Friends of the Library Committee: Correspondence - 1989-1993
  • Friends of the Library Committee: Minutes - 1990-1993
  • Library Committee - 1987-1988
  • Project Advisory Committee, Indiana Hospital Association Grant - 1988
  • Research Fund Committee - 1968-1974
  • Correspondence - 1958-1992
  • Box 36:
  • Gamma Chapter, University of Iowa - 1968-1975
  • 89 Annual Convention - 1989
  • Regional Assemblies - 1988-1990
  • National Chapter Meeting - 1955-1956
  • Past Presidents' Meetings - 1990-1992
  • Newsletter - 1949
  • Oral History Project - 1993
  • Speech, York PA, Eta Eta Chapter induction ceremony - 1989
  • Sub-Series: Sigma Theta Tau
  • Box 49:
  • Hall of Fame award - 1994
  • Box 50:
  • 75th Anniversary Celebration committee minutes - 1993-1996
  • 75th Anniversary Celebration, general - 1994-1997
  • Archon Awards Committee - 1994-1999
  • Friends of the Library Committee - 1992-1995
  • Mary Tolle Wright Award Committee - 1992-1997
  • Gamma Chapter, University of Iowa - 1996
  • Gamma Chapter, University of Iowa history, 1929-1996 - 1996
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous associations
  • Box 50:
  • American Association of University Professors - 1973
  • National Institute of Medicine - 1973
  • Series 6: PROFESSIONAL CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 36:
  • A: General - 1982-1991
  • Annual Review of Nursing Research - 1982
  • B: General - 1957-1991
  • Barger, Sara - 1988-1989
  • Beletz, Elaine - 1987
  • Blackwell Scientific Productions, Inc. - 1983-1985
  • Boyle, Rena - 1977, 1987
  • Burns, Elizabeth - 1988-1989
  • Box 37:
  • C: General - 1960-1989
  • Chaska, Norma - 1976-1992
  • Chinn, Peggy - 1989
  • D: General - 1957-1994
  • E: General - 1957-1990
  • Elend, Jo - 1990
  • F: General - 1965-1990
  • Fehring, Richard - 1987
  • Box 38:
  • H: General - 1957-1990
  • Hamburg, David - 1976-1977
  • Hardy, Mary - 1987
  • Hedman, Lorraine L. - 1984
  • J: General - 1972-1991
  • Johnson, Marion - 1986-1988
  • K: General - 1971-1994
  • Koener, Beverly - 1986-1988
  • L: General - 1957-1994
  • Lewis, Mary Ann - 1985-1989
  • Mc: General - 1959-1991
  • McCloskey, Joanne - 1982-1986
  • McCorkle, Ruth - 1988-1990
  • McFarland, Gertrude - 1987
  • Box 39:
  • M: General - 1957-1990
  • Miller, Lana - 1989-1990
  • Miller, Sister Patricia - 1984-1986
  • Miller, Virginia - 1960-1963
  • Moorhead, Sue - 1988-1989
  • N: General - 1973-1991
  • O: General - 1960-1990
  • O'Rourke, Maria - 1985
  • P: General - 1966-1989
  • R: General - 1957-1990
  • S: General - 1957-1991
  • Simms, Lillian - 1986
  • State University of Iowa - 1964
  • T: General - 1957-1993
  • U: General - 1972
  • V: General - 1976-1987
  • W: General - 1960-1991
  • Wieczorek, Rita - 1983-1985
  • XYZ: General - 1966-1975, 1988-1989
  • Miscellaneous - 1957-1996
  • Box 50:
  • General - 1992-2000
  • Bessent, Hattie - 1987-1997
  • Grace, Helen - 1984-1996
  • Series 7: RESEARCH
  • Sub-Series: Papers and publications by Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte
  • Box 40:
  • "Surgical Nursing," The Medical Bulletin of the North African Theater of Operations, [shelved in the printed works collection] - 1944
  • "The Organization of a Faculty" - 1951
  • Book Review: "Job Description and Organizational Analysis for Hospitals and Related Health Services" - 1952
  • "Formulation of Policies in Nursing Service Administration,"  Iowa State Nurses' Association Bulletin - 1953
  • "Nursing in Iowa" - 1953
  • Ph.D. Dissertation, University of Minnesota: "A Study of the Relationship of Certain Socio-economic Factors to the Choice of Educational Institution and Program of First-Year Students in Nursing in the North Central Region" [shelved in printed works collection] - 1955
  • Ph.D. Dissertation: Summary, undated
  • "The Investigation of the Relation Between Nursing Activity and Patient Welfare," [shelved in printed works collection RT73.I6 c.1] - 1960
  • "The nursing profession--The logic of a socio-engineering problem" (with Wellborn R. Hudson) - 1952, 1961-1962
  • "The use of patient welfare as a criterion measure" - 1962
  • "Collegiate Nursing Education" - 1963
  • "Current Issues in Nursing" - 1964
  • "Motivation of individuals and participation in goals" - 1968
  • "A report--An inventory of patients requiring a high level of care on ward areas" (with Dixie L. Reed) - 1968
  • "Survey of hospital nursing services" - 1968
  • "State of knowledge: Nurse staffing methodology," in "Research on Nursing Staffing in Hospitals" [shelved in printed works collection] - 1972
  • "Nursing education and practice: Putting it all together" - 1972
  • "Accountability--Quality vs. Quantity" - 1973
  • "Identifying Critical Points in Process of Care," in "Quality Assurance for Nursing Care" [shelved in printed works RT42.Q34] - 1973
  • "Medical ethics and the nurse: Mutual endorsement and support" - 1973
  • "Nurse Staffing Methodology: A Review and Critique of Selected Literature" [shelved in printed works collection RA972.A9 cop. 2] - 1973
  • "Staffing for high-quality care," in "Nursing Digest: Focus on the Work Environment" [shelved in printed works collection] - 1973, 1975
  • "Factors Influencing the Assurance of Quality Nursing Care: Patterns of Staffing" - 1973-1974
  • "Staffing for quality care" - 1973-1974
  • "Administration and directors of nursing" - 1974
  • "Nursing Education and Practice: Putting It All Together" in "Nursing Digest: Focus on Professional Issues" [shelved in printed works collection] - 1975
  • "Nursing Education and Practice: Putting It All Together" in "Action in Nursing: Progress in Professional Purpose" [shelved in printed works collection RT63.L97] - 1975
  • "Statement on nursing staff requirements for in-patient health care services" - 1976
  • "Clinical nursing investigation and the structure of knowledge," in "Current prospectives in nursing: Societal issues and trends, volume 1" [shelved in printed works collection RT86.5.C8 v.1] - 1977
  • Box 41:
  • "The future health care delivery system and the utilization of nurses prepared in formal educational programs," in "The Nursing Profession: Views Through the Mist" [shelved in printed works collection RT82.N87] - 1978
  • "Trends in Staffing of Hospitals: Implications for Nursing Resources Policy," in "Nursing Personnel and the Changing Health Care System" [shelved in printed works collection RT4.N84] - 1978
  • "Professional organizations" - 1981
  • "Approaches to conjoining nursing education and practice" - 1982
  • "Professional Relationships and Organizational Structures" - 1982
  • "Report of the 1982 survey of nursing service administrators" - 1982
  • From novice to expert: Providing excellence and career development in clinical nursing practice - 1983
  • "The future health care delivery system in the United States," in "The Nursing Profession: A Time to Speak" [shelved in printed works collection RT82.N868 1983] - 1983
  • Letter to the editor - 1983
  • "Professional nursing: The drive for governance" - 1983
  • Strategies for nurse leadership, management, and supervision - 1983
  • Foreword to "From Novice to Expert: Excellence and Power in Clinical Nursing Practice" [shelved in printed works collection RT82.B456 1984] - 1984
  • Nursing interventions: Treatments for nursing diagnosis - 1984
  • "Structure of nursing practice departments: Governance and professionalization" - 1984
  • "A survey of nursing service administrators" - 1984
  • Foreword to "Nursing Leadership and Management: Contemporary Strategies" [shelved in printed works collection RT89.M28 1984] - 1984
  • Foreword to "Nursing Interventions: Treatments for Nursing Diagnosis" [shelved in printed works collection RT86.3.N87 1985] - 1985
  • "Nursing diagnosis--State of the art: Directions for the future" - 1985
  • "Nursing knowledge--Its discovery and structure" - 1985
  • "Nursing: Societal Discontent and Professional Change," in "Power, Politics, and Policy in Nursing" [shelved in printed works collection RT86.5.P69 1985] - 1985
  • "Developments in nursing 1965-1985" - 1986
  • "Nursing and university relationships" - 1986
  • Biographical sketch of Myrtle K. Aydelotte - 1987
  • The changing image of the nurse - 1987
  • "Nursing's preferred future" - 1987
  • "Entrepreneurs: Issues and barriers to independent practice" - 1988
  • "The evolving profession: The role of professional organizations," in "The Nursing Profession: Turning Points" [shelved in printed works collection] - 1988-1990
  • Foreword to "Identification of the nursing minimum data set" [shelved in printed works collection RT50.I34 1988] - 1988
  • "The nurse executive in 2000 A.D." - 1988
  • "Nurses in Private Practice: Characteristics, Organizational Arrangements, and Reimbursement Policy" [shelved in printed works collection RT86.73.A83 1988] - 1988
  • Testimony before the Health and Human Services Commission - 1988
  • "Nursing Practice: Innovative Models," in "Nursing Centers: Meeting the Demand for Quality Health Care, (with Melissa S. Gregory) [shelved in printed works collection] - 1989
  • "Nursing--The Future: A Professional or a Technological Occupation" [shelved in the printed works collection] - 1989
  • "Entrepreneurs: Issues and Barriers to Independent Practice," in "Current Issues in Nursing" [shelved in printed works collection] - 1990
  • "Nursing education: Shaping the future" - 1990
  • "Achievement Examination in History of Nursing," Ed. Psych. 120, undated
  • Book Review, "Clinic Nursing," by Ingles and Turk, undated
  • "Changes in reimbursement," undated
  • "Description and Appraisal of the Iowa State Department of Health," Public Health Administration 106, undated
  • Box 42:
  • "An Experiment to Compare the Relative Effectiveness of Two Environments (The Classroom and the Treatment Room of a Surgical Hospital Ward) in the Teaching of Surgical Aseptic Technic to Student Nurses," Ed. Psych. 293, undated
  • "Factors influencing the assurance of quality nursing care: Patterns of staffing," undated
  • "Graduate Nurse Education," undated
  • "Nursing problems of the patient in total renal failure," undated
  • "Problems of Administration in Collegiate Schools of Nursing," Ed. Admin. 253, undated
  • "Quality assurance problems in nursing: Definition and problems," undated
  • "A Survey of the Clinical Instruction Given on the Surgical, Pediatric, Obstetric, Gynecological, Out-patient and Operating Room Nursing Services at the University of Minnesota Hospital for Students in the School of Nursing," Ed. Admin. 228, undated
  • Box 50:
  • "The Impact of Economics on the Minority Nurse" - 1996
  • "Nursing: Ideas and Values" - 1998
  • "Nursing Knowledge: Its Discovery and Structure" - 1985
  • "Proposals for Special Units" - 1968
  • Sub-Series: "ANA-NLN Study of Nurse Education" study
  • Box 42:
  • Drafts: Chapter I final draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter I original draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter I tables - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter II final draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter II original draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter II tables - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter III final draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter III original draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter III tables - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter IV final draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter IV original draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter V final draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter V original draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter VI final draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter VI original draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter VI tables - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter VII final draft - 1966
  • Drafts: Chapter VII original draft - 1966
  • Box 43:
  • Drafts of Tables: Question 29 - 1966
  • Drafts of Tables: Question 47 - 1966
  • Drafts of Tables: Question 50 - 1966
  • Drafts of Tables: Question 51 - 1966
  • Drafts of Tables: Miscellaneous - 1966
  • Drafts: Appendix A - 1966
  • Correspondence - 1964-1966
  • Financial - 1966
  • Meetings - 1964-1965
  • Preview paper - 1966
  • Questionnaires, undated
  • Sub-Series: Nursing turnover study
  • Box 43:
  • "Determinants of nursing turnover" - 1977
  • Sub-Series: "Iowa State Survey of Nursing Needs and Resources"
  • Box 43:
  • General - 1950-1951
  • Research materials, undated
  • Sub-Series: "Nurse staffing requirements"
  • Box 43:
  • Administrative materials: Correspondence
  • Administrative materials general - 1970-1972
  • Administrative materials: Kennedy, Marie, HEW-Nursing Division - 1970-1972
  • Administrative materials: Form letters, undated
  • Financial: Budget - 1970-1971
  • Box 44:
  • Financial: Statement of accounts, August to August - 1970-1971
  • Health, Education, and Welfare contract - 1971
  • Initial planning and correspondence - 1970
  • Progress reports, October 1-December 31 - 1970
  • Progress reports, January 1-March 31 - 1971
  • Progress reports, April 1-June 28 - 1971
  • Progress reports, June 28-August 31 - 1971
  • Research materials: Aims and objectives, undated
  • Research materials: Bibliography A-H
  • Research materials: Bibliography H-R
  • Research materials: Bibliography S-Z
  • Case studies: Blodgett Memorial and Pennock Hospital, undated
  • Case studies: Greenville General Hospital - 1971
  • Case studies: University of Minnesota Hospital, undated
  • Case studies: Veterans Administration - 1971
  • Research materials: Forms, undated
  • Research definition - 1970
  • Research forms, undated
  • Research materials: Sample questions, undated
  • Research materials: Staffing methodology proposed by Cash - 1971
  • Sub-Series: "Nurses in private practice: characteristics, organizational arrangements, and reimbursement policy"
  • Box 44:
  • Administrative materials: Correspondence - 1985-1988
  • Administrative materials: Responses to notice in "Nurse Entrepreneur's Exchange" - 1986
  • Research materials: Outline - 1987
  • Research materials: Questionnaire - 1986-1987
  • Rough draft: Title page, table of contents, acknowledgments, and chapter 1, undated
  • Box 45:
  • Rough draft: Chapter 2, undated
  • Rough draft: Chapter 3, undated
  • Rough draft: Chapter 6, undated
  • Rough draft: Chapter 7, undated
  • Rough draft: Chapter 8, undated
  • Rough draft: Supporting documentation, undated
  • Rough draft: Outline of Section III, undated
  • Spiral bound print Volume I, undated
  • Spiral bound print Volume II, undated
  • Sub-Series: "Nursing activity and patient welfare: a nursing utilization study"
  • Box 46:
  • Administrative materials: Correspondence - 1956-1963
  • Financial information - 1958-1962
  • Grant applications - 1959
  • Grant applications - 1960, 1961
  • Newspaper clippings - 1956, 1960
  • Proposal - 1955, 1959
  • Research committee - 1955-1956
  • Research materials: Forms and tables, undated
  • Research materials: Literature review, undated
  • Observer orientation materials, undated
  • Research materials: Questionnaire, undated
  • Research materials: "A Report on a Feasibility Study Still in Progress, Precedent to a Main Study of Relationships Between Size of Nursing Staff and Welfare of Patients" - 1957
  • Research forms, undated
  • Research proposal - 1955
  • Research proposal - 1959
  • Research materials: Rough draft--preface - 1956
  • Summary of the investigation, undated
  • Working materials, undated
  • Sub-Series: "Nursing care of patients undergoing intermittent dialysis for chronic renal failure"
  • Box 46:
  • Administrative materials: Application for research project - 1964
  • Box 47:
  • Administrative materials: Correspondence - 1965
  • Proposal, undated
  • Proposal - 1965
  • Report of research project - 1965
  • Request for space - 1964
  • Research plan, undated
  • Secretarial information - 1965
  • Interview materials: Families
  • Interview materials: Patients
  • Interview materials: Professional personnel
  • Interview structure, undated
  • Research materials: 1st draft of the methodology, undated
  • Research materials: Outline of the paper - 1966
  • Research materials: Dialysis procedures--notes, undated
  • Research materials: Hines [IL] VA Hospital, Conference with nurses, undated
  • Research materials: Hines [IL] VA Hospital, Conference with Harold Schoolman, Chief, Biostatistics, Research Support Center, undated
  • Research materials: Renal Dialysis Center information, undated
  • Working materials - 1963-1965
  • Sub-Series: "Structural arrangement and financial mechanisms for delivery of nursing services in the future"
  • Box 47:
  • "Structural arrangement and financial mechanisms for delivery of nursing services in the future" - 1985
  • Sub-Series: "Survey of Nursing Service Administrators"
  • Box 47:
  • General - 1981-1982
  • Drafts: Complete, undated
  • Drafts: Overview, undated
  • Study report and design - 1982
  • Sub-Series: Studies not proposed
  • Box 47:
  • Research proposal not developed - 1970
  • Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 47:
  • Aydelotte, Myrtle K., undated
  • American Nurses Association Minority Banquet - 1990
  • International Nurses' Seminar - 1976
  • National Commission on Nursing, undated
  • National League for Nursing, undated
  • State University of Iowa College of Nursing, undated