Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Louise Rosenfield Noun papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1926-2002
Creator: Noun, Louise Rosenfield (1908-2002)
Extent: 13.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0035
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Feminist and civil liberties activist from Des Moines, Iowa, who was also an art collector, author, and co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
View Selected Items Online:Iowa Women's Archives Founders

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts in boxes 33-35 & map case.

Access: The papers are open for research with the exception of the Kay Stone audiocassettes and transcript, which are CLOSED until January 1, 2023.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 35) were donated by Louise Rosenfield Noun in 1992 and succeeding years.

Preferred Citation: Louise Rosenfield Noun papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Louise Rosenfield Noun, social activist, art collector, author, philanthropist, and co-founder of the Iowa Women's Archives, was born in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1908, the daughter of Meyer Rosenfield and Rose (Frankel) Rosenfield. Noun attended Greenwood Elementary School, graduated from Roosevelt High School and attended Grinnell College for two years. She transferred to Wellesley College, but when her father became ill, she returned to Grinnell and graduated in 1929. She received an M.A. in art history from Harvard in 1933. In 1936 she married Maurice (Maurie) Noun, a dermatologist, in Des Moines. The Nouns adopted a daughter, Susan, in 1946. They were divorced in 1969.

Noun became widely recognized for her leadership and commitment to a number of organizations and causes. She served as president of the Des Moines chapter of the League of Women Voters in 1948, the Iowa Civil Liberties Union from 1964 to 1972, and the Des Moines chapter of the National Organization for Women (NOW) from 1974 to 1976. She was a charter member of the Iowa Women's Political Caucus. Noun was instrumental, also, in establishing the Young Women's Resource Center in Des Moines. The Center, which opened in 1978, offers individual counseling, group activities and an in-school program for teenage women. In recognition of her contribution to helping women and young girls, Noun received the Philanthropic Vision Award from the Ms. Foundation for Women in May 1995. In 1981 she was elected to the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame. With her considerable financial resources Noun generously supported the causes in which she strongly believed.

Noun established the Chrysalis Foundation in 1989 to provide financial assistance to domestic violence victims in Iowa, fund day care services, and give financial aid to women students at Des Moines Area Community College. The foundation has sponsored "Women's Voices" conferences bringing Iowa women together to discuss social and political action.

Noun is the author of several books: Strong-Minded Women: The Emergence of the Woman-Suffrage Movement in Iowa (1969); More Strong-Minded Women: Iowa Feminists Tell Their Stories (1992), a series of biographical essays on the women's movement in Iowa during the 1970s; Iowa Women in the WPA (1999); and Journey to Autonomy:A Memoir (1990). She has also written Abastenia St. Leger Eberle (1980), an exhibition catalog of the Iowa sculptor's works, and articles for The Palimpsest on Harriet Ketcham, artist; Emily Blackmore Stapp, author of children's books; and Nellie Verne Walker, sculptor.

A respected art collector, Noun received her first painting as a gift from her mother when she was thirteen and she continued her interest in art in the following years. In the 1960s she began to concentrate her collection on art by women, focusing the collection on European and American women artists of the twentieth century. In 1990 the collection included more than sixty works by forty artists. Among them were works by Natalia Goncharova and others of the Russian avant-garde movement, Kathe Kollwitz, Hannah Hoch, Isabel Bishop, Lee Krasner, and Agnes Pelton. Noun's collection was exhibited as The Louise Noun Collection: Art by Women at the University of Iowa Museum of Art and the Des Moines Art Center in 1990.

Louise Noun realized a long-term goal in 1992 with the establishment of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives at the University of Iowa. During the research for Strong-Minded Women: The Emergence of the Woman-Suffrage Movement in Iowa, Noun became aware of the lack of primary sources on women's history. She and her friend Mary Louise Smith agreed on the need for an archives to preserve women's papers and together they worked to interest others in the project. With the sale from her collection of Frida Kahlo's Self-Portrait with Loose Hair (1947) for $1.5 million Noun was able to endow the archives. The Iowa Women's Archives, which opened in October 1992, is devoted to preserving the history of women by acquiring and preserving primary source material that documents the lives and experience of Iowa women.

In declining health, Louise Noun committed suicide on August 23, 2002, leaving behind a note denouncing the illegality of assisted suicide. A memorial service, titled "Celebrating Choices," was held in the State Historical Building in Des Moines on September 14, 2002. Noun's final book, Leader and Pariah: Annie Savery and the Campaign for Women's Rights in Iowa, was published by the Iowa Women's Archives in November 2002.

The Louise Rosenfield Noun papers measure 11.8 linear feet and date from 1926-2002. They are arranged in twelve series: Biographical information, Family history, Calendars, Fine arts, Women's organizations and activities, Civic and social activism, Publication and research files, Photographs, Scrapbooks, Correspondence, Personal journals and correspondence, and Artifacts. The collection is especially rich in its documentation of women activists of the mid-twentieth century in Iowa.

The Biographical information series includes several biographical articles about Noun; newspaper clippings; two audiocassettes of a 1-1/4 hour interview recorded in April 1991; two audiocassettes of an oral history interview by Virginia Wadsley recorded February 11 and 24, 1999; and six videocassettes. The series also includes various awards Noun received, including the Ms. Foundation award (1995), the Public Humanities Achievement Award (1995), and the Des Moines Jewish Academy Hall of Achievement Award (1999). Noun's obituaries, along with tributes and remarks made at her memorial service have been added to this series.

One video is a segment about Noun on "Living in Iowa," a weekly magazine program produced by Iowa Public Television (1993). The second video records a program, "In Celebration of Louise Noun," at the Johnson County Senior Center, March 19, 1992 with remarks by Sheila Creth, director of the University of Iowa Libraries, about the Iowa Women's Archives; a reading from Noun's book, Strong-Minded Women; and a review of Noun's autobiography, Journey to Autonomy. The third video (1994) describes the activities of the Young Women''s Resource Center in interviews with staff and clients and includes a brief comment by Noun. Also included is a video of Noun for the Iowa Jewish Heritage Project (1997) and the video, "Underwraps." The sixth video is a recording of Louise Noun's memorial service, given in Des Moines on September 14, 2002.

The Family History series includes biographical information about various members of Noun's family, including her parents, Rose Rosenfield and Meyer Rosenfield, her brother, Joseph Frankel Rosenfield, and her sister, Ruth Rosenfield McGregor. The biographical information about Louise Noun's parents and siblings is a rich source of Des Moines and Iowa history. Included is the transcript of an oral history interview of Joseph Frankel Rosenfield conducted by Virginia Wadsley for the Des Moines Oral History Project. Louise Noun's sister, Ruth Rosenfield, travelled to Geneva in 1926 to attend the Geneva Institute of International Relations and the assembly of the League of Nations. The scrapbook of newspaper clippings in this series reflects her experience there and the public appearances she made upon her return.


The Calendars series contains Noun's date books and agendas for the period 1979-2000. Noun used the calendars and appointment books, noting meetings, travel, etc. While the notations are spare, the calendars do reflect how active Noun was in the community on behalf of organizations and initiatives that she supported.

The Fine arts series includes several exhibition catalogs including Abastenia St. Leger Eberle, written by Noun to accompany an exhibit of the Iowa sculptor's works at the Des Moines Art Center in 1980; The Louise Noun Collection: Art by Women at the University of Iowa Museum of Art (1990); Three Berlin Artists of the Weimar Era (Des Moines Art Center, 1994) for which Noun wrote the introduction. Biographical information about Irma Rene Koen, a midwestern artist, is included in this series. Background information about the Frida Kahlo painting, which Noun sold to permanently endow the Iowa Women's Archives is found in the Christie's catalog, Latin American Paintings, Drawings and Sculpture (1991). This series contains a wealth of information on the Des Moines Art Center, and includes the exhibition guide to the center's opening exhibit, 19th and 20th Century American and European Art...The Opening of the Des Moines Art Center (1948), as well as several other exhibition catalogs from the center. Also included is information about Louise Noun's personal art collection.

The Women's Organizations series contains reports, correspondence and newspaper clippings from groups in which Noun was active, including the National Organization for Women, the League of Women Voters, the Commission on the Status of Women (1965), the International Women's Year meeting in Des Moines in 1977, the Iowa Women's Political Caucus, and the Iowa Abortion Rights Activists League Steering Committee (1978-1980). Also included are the records and a copy of the board manual of the Chrysalis Foundation, an organization founded by Noun in 1989 to assist women in Iowa financially.

The bulk of the collection is devoted to the Publication and research files. This series has been broken down into sub-series by Noun's publications. The sub-series are: Journey to Autonomy, Strong-Minded Women, More Strong-Minded Women, Iowa Women in the WPA, Leader and Pariah: Annie Savery and the Campaign for Women's Rights in Iowa, 1868-1891 and articles and research files. This series contains correspondence, research files, drafts, and manuscripts of Noun's various publications. The bulk of the series pertains primarily to the publication of More Strong-Minded Women: Iowa Feminists Tell Their Stories. The sub-series includes the taped interviews (recorded by Louise Noun in 1989 and 1990), the transcriptions of the tapes, and correspondence with the twenty-two women profiled in the book and four who were not included in the final publication. Publisher's proofs and correspondence about the book are included as well. The research files also include Noun's detailed research on Abner Kneeland, and her notes for the Annie Savery biography that the Iowa Women's Archives published in November 2002.

Journey to Autonomy, More Strong-Minded Women, Leader and Pariah: Annie Savery and the Campaign for Women's Rights in Iowa, 1868-1891, and Latin American Paintings, Drawings and Sculpture, are shelved in the printed works collection.

The Photographs series includes family photographs, photos of Noun taken at a dinner in her honor in May 1990, at the Women's Voices conference in 1993, with Mary Louise Smith in 1996 and photographs from her Des Moines apartment. Also included are photographs of Noun's art collection and of the Young Women's Resource Center.

The Scrapbooks are rich in information about Noun's activities and interests in the last half of the twentieth century. The 1940s scrapbook contains newspaper clippings about the League of Women Voters in Des Moines, the city manager campaign (led by Louise Noun and Kay Stroud), and letters from Eleanor Roosevelt and J. N. "Ding" Darling. The original scrapbook is closed to researchers due to its fragility. However, a photocopy of the scrapbook is available for research use.

The 1950s scrapbook continues to document Noun's social activism through newspaper clippings. This book contains more family history and some photographs. But the bulk of the book is devoted to documenting various civil liberties cases that the Iowa Civil Liberties Union was involved in, including the 1969 United States Supreme Court decision in Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Community School District, often referred to as the "black arm-band case."  Also included are clippings about the draft issues and other freedom of expression issues, including cases revolving around hair length of men and women in public schools in Iowa and an exhibit at the Des Moines Art Center in 1968 that was declared to be "obscene."

The 1972-1986 scrapbook also contains information about the Des Moines Art Center and the Iowa Civil Liberties Union. This scrapbook begins to document Noun's involvement in women's and feminist organizations and activities, including the volunteerism campaign by the Des Moines National Organization for Women, campaigns for women's involvement in politics, and the Young Women's Resource Center in Des Moines. Included are several editorial columns written for The Des Moines Register by Louise Noun on subjects ranging from write-in votes for Minnette Doderer for Governor, gender bias in language, volunteerism, woman suffrage in Iowa, feminism and civil liberties, and the gendered wage gap.

The 1986-1997 scrapbook continues to document Noun's involvement in women's and civil libertarian causes and in the world of fine art. This book contains more programs from activities and conferences, but still relies on newspaper clippings to provide the bulk of the information. This book also contains photographs from the Tribute to Louise Noun Dinner in 1990. It also contains details about the founding of the Chrysalis Foundation and the founding of the Iowa Women's Archives with the sale of the Freda Kahlo painting.


The Correspondence series includes letters and memoranda relating to Noun's wide range of social concerns.

The Personal journals and correspondence series contains a printout of Louise Noun's personal journal in which she recorded her thoughts and opinions on a variety of topics. Also included are letters from family members and a journal of birthdays and anniversaries.

The Artifacts series includes buttons relating to feminist issues and an Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) pendant. Also included are artifacts from the induction of Annie Nowlin Savery into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame and two posters: a campaign poster from Shirley Chisholm's 1972 campaign and a poster promoting a speaking engagement by Gloria Steinem in Des Moines sponsored by the Chrysalis Foundation, along with various medals and plaques awarded to Noun throughout her life.
Margaret Davis Collison papers (IWA): An oversize photograph of Noun taken at the Women and Public Policy Symposium, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa in 1974, is shelved in map case.
Iowa Women's Political Caucus records (IWA): Testimony of Louise Noun on the Equal Rights Amendment before the Iowa General Assembly, 1979 or 1980 [Box 22].
Kay Stroud papers (IWA).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: FAMILY HISTORY
Series 3: CALENDARS
Series 4: FINE ARTS
Series 5: WOMEN'S ORGANIZATIONS AND ACTIVITIES
Series 6: CIVIL AND SOCIAL ACTIVISM
Series 7: PUBLICATION AND RESEARCH FILES
Series 8: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 9: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 10: PERSONAL JOURNAL AND CORRESPONDENCE
Series 11: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 12: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Resume compiled by Louise Noun, November - 1995
  • Biographical Data form for Who's Who of American Women - 1997-1998
  • "Louise Noun: A Pioneer Collection of Women's Art," Women's Art Journal (Fall/Winter) - 1992-1993
  • Des Moines Jewish Academy Hall of Achievement Award, April 25 - 1999
  • Iowa Literary Heritage Trail: Illustrated visit to birthplaces, residences or burial sites
  • Interview transcripts: interview with Howard Simons - 1985
  • Interview transcripts: by Ferris Olin, oral history interview transcript, February 12 - 1992
  • Interview transcripts: by Theresa Walker "The Interview Process and Report on Louise Noun", December 13 - 1994
  • Interview transcripts: by Lauren McCarthy "A Fine and Long Tradition of Community," January 29 - 1997
  • Interview transcripts: "Leadership: An Essay- Louise Noun" February 11 and 24, by Virginia Wadsley, oral history interview - 1999
  • Interview audiocassettes
  • Audiocassettes AC122-AC123: April 28 by J. Vacchiano - 1991
  • Audiocassette AC480: February 11 by Virginia Wadsley - 1999
  • Audiocassette AC481: February 24 by Virginia Wadsley - 1999
  • Oral history interview transcript, February 11, 24 - 1999
  • Interview videocassettes
  • Videocassette V9: "Living in Iowa," IPTV - 1993
  • Videocassette V33: "In Celebration of Louise Noun," Johnson County Senior Center, March 19 - 1992
  • Videocassette V43: "Young Women's Resource Center," March - 1994
  • Videocassette V232: Iowa Jewish Heritage Project interview, February 18 - 1997
  • Videocassette V233: "Underwraps"
  • Miscellaneous
  • Ms. Foundation award program
  • National Society of Fundraisers award - 1996
  • Newspaper clippings - 1962-1996
  • Newspaper spread: Strong-Minded Women and Women Suffrage in Iowa from Des Moines Register, November 2 [shelved in map case] - 1969
  • Public Humanities Achievement Award - 1995
  • Noun Program at Grinnell College, November 30 - 1999
  • Publications- biographical: "A Work Not Yet Finished" in The Grinnell Magazine 3:1 (September October) - 1970
  • Publications- biographical: "Pros & cons" in Sedministare: Wellesley Alumni Magazine 62:2 (Winter) - 1978
  • Publications- biographical: "One Woman's Journey" in The Iowan vol. 39 no. 1, (Fall) - 1990
  • Publications- biographical: "Louise Noun and the Iowa Women's Archives" in Women's History Network News, Issue 61 (January) - 1999
  • Publications- biographical: "Louise Rosenfield Noun" by Amy Worthen, Print Council of America Newsletter (Spring) - 2003
  • Publications- biographical: "Twenty Influential Grinnellians of the 20th Century" in The Grinnell Magazine 32:3 (Spring) - 2000
  • Publications- biographical: "Recollections of Louise Noun: Still Making a Difference" in The Jewish Women's Archive Newsletter 2:3 (Fall) - 2000
  • 94th birthday celebration [photographs] - 2002
  • Cards found in wallet [Hemlock Society, Living Will, etc.] - 2002
  • Obituaries and tributes [originals] - 2002
  • Obituaries and tributes [copies] - 2002
  • Memorial speakers' written remarks, September - 2002
  • Memorials, September - 2002
  • Videocassette V240: "Louise Noun Memorial Service," September 14 - 2002
  • Series 2: FAMILY HISTORY
  • Sub-Series: Rosenfield, Rose (mother of Louise Noun)
  • Box 2:
  • Biographical information
  • "A Fine Garden From Fine Planting" in The Iowan 2:4 (April May) - 1954
  • Sub-Series: Rosenfield, Meyer (father of Louise Noun)
  • Box 2:
  • Meyer Rosenfield
  • Sub-Series: Rosenfield, Joseph Frankel (brother of Louise Noun)
  • Box 2:
  • Des Moines Oral History Project oral history interview transcript by Virginia Wadsley, December 30 - 1998
  • "The Merger Story of Harris-Emery's As Told By Joseph F. Rosenfield" December - 1967
  • "Joe Rosenfield: The Legend Behind the Legacy" in The Grinnell Magazine, 26:5 (Summer) - 1994
  • Obituary from The Des Moines Register (June 8) - 2000
  • "The Rosenfield Legacy" in The Des Moines Register (June 9) - 2000
  • A Tribute to Joseph Frankel Rosenfield '25 at Grinnell College (July 15) - 2000
  • "Joseph F. Rosenfield: The Legend and the Legacy" in The Grinnell Magazine 32:4 (Summer) - 2000
  • Sub-Series: Rosenfield, Ruth McGregor (sister of Louise Noun)
  • Box 2:
  • Photographs and news clippings
  • Court of International Relations - 1926
  • Sub-Series: Babette Frankel (grandmother of Louise Noun)
  • Box 2:
  • Babette Frankel
  • Sub-Series: Henrietta Frankel Phieffer
  • Box 2:
  • Henrietta Frankel Phieffer
  • Sub-Series: Henry and Margo Frankel
  • Box 2:
  • Henry and Margo Frankel
  • Sub-Series: Isaiah Frankel
  • Box 2:
  • Isaiah Frankel
  • Sub-Series: Frankel brothers
  • Box 2:
  • Frankel brothers
  • Sub-Series: Sheuerman Family
  • Box 2:
  • Sheuerman Family
  • Sub-Series: "Forebears and Contemporaries"
  • Box 2:
  • "Forebears and Contemporaries" by Bert Strauss
  • Sub-Series: Census and city directory information
  • Box 2:
  • Census and city directory information
  • Sub-Series: Temple B'Nai Jeshurun
  • Box 2:
  • Remarks at Temple B'Nai Jeshurun, September 23 - 1989
  • Series 3: CALENDARS
  • Box 3:
  • Calendars (4 folders) - 1979-1994
  • Box 4:
  • Calendars (2 folders) - 1995-2000
  • Series 4: FINE ARTS
  • Sub-Series: Des Moines Art Center
  • Box 4:
  • Des Moines Art Center, undated
  • Des Moines Art Center catalog - 1985
  • Des Moines Art Center News, January/February - 2002
  • Sub-Series: Personal Art file
  • Box 4:
  • Personal Art file
  • Sub-Series: Print Exhibit
  • Box 4:
  • 19th and 20th Century American and European Art. . .The Opening of the Des Moines Art Center, June and July - 1948
  • Iowa Collects, Des Moines Art Center, November 13-December 25 - 1973
  • Abastenia St. Leger Eberle - 1980
  • Vivian Florig Torrence: Collages and Lithographs , Blandon Memorial Art Museum, October 16-November 20 - 1983
  • Jean Metzinger in Retrospect, University of Iowa Museum of Art, August 31-October 13 - 1985
  • A View of Her Own: Images of Women by Women Artists, Grinnell College, October 2-31 - 1987
  • The Louise Noun Collection, Art by Women , University of Iowa Museum of Art (2 folders) - 1990
  • Art by Women, a teachers guide, University of Iowa Museum of Art - 1990
  • Box 5:
  • Presentation on the work of Frida Kahlo, Des Moines Art Center, May 27 - 1990
  • Kahlo, Frida, Self Portrait with Loose Hair, from Latin American Paintings, Drawings and Sculpture, Christies - 1990
  • National Womens Caucus for Art Conference, WCA Honor Awards - 1992
  • Three Berlin Artists of the Weimar Era: Hannah Hoch, Kathe Kollwitz, Jeanne Mammen, Des Moines Art Center - 1994
  • Agnes Weinrich (1873-1946) traveling exhibit - 1997-1999
  • Koen, Irma Rene
  • The Golden Age of Collage: Dada and Surrealism Eras - 1916-1950
  • Louise Noun: Gifts and Purchases From Funds , Des Moines Art Center, June 11 - 2001
  • Apocalypse: Prophecies & Visions, Des Moines Art Center, November 17-January 13 - 2001-2002
  • Series 5: WOMEN'S ORGANIZATIONS AND ACTIVITIES
  • Box 5:
  • Chrysalis Foundation (4 folders) - 1989-1994
  • Box 6:
  • Chrysalis Foundation - 1995
  • Chrysalis Foundation - 2000
  • Chrysalis Foundation: Nouns 90th birthday celebration, Setting the World on Fire, March - 1998
  • Chrysalis Foundation: Sale of Kahlo painting - 1991
  • Chrysalis Foundation: Board Manual - 2001
  • Conference on the Status of Women, February 6 - 1965
  • Governors Commission on the Status of Women: Timeline
  • Governors Commission on the Status of Women: First Report of the Commission - 1964
  • Iowa Womens Archives: Founding - 1990-1992
  • Iowa Womens Archives: Correspondence (bulk) - 1992
  • International Womens Year - 1977
  • Iowa Abortion Rights Activists League Steering Committee - 1978-1980
  • Iowa Womens Political Caucus - 1973
  • League of Women Voters
  • Box 7:
  • National Organization for Women: Volunteerism - 1970-1979
  • NOW: History of Des Moines NOW - 1971
  • NOW: Statement by Louise Noun, candidate for board member-at-large, December 17 - 1973
  • NOW: Anti-United Way Campaign - 1974-1979
  • NOW: Noun testimony before the Iowa General Assembly on the State Equal Rights Amendment - 1980
  • NOW: Iowa NOW Newsletter, December - 1982
  • NOW: Des Moines NOW newsletter - 1983
  • Speeches and notes - 1974
  • Womens Voices: A Conference for Iowa Women, November 5-7 - 1993
  • Young Womens Resource Center
  • Series 6: CIVIL AND SOCIAL ACTIVISM
  • Box 7:
  • Business Record woman of influence award - 2000
  • Iowa Capitol Planning Commission - 1964
  • Iowa Civil Liberties Union: Correspondence - 1972-1983
  • The Iowa Civil Liberties Union: Our Liberties We Prize; Our Rights We Will Maintain essay by Kelly Wilson, May - 2000
  • Iowa Civil Liberties Union: Miscellaneous
  • ICLU: Newsletter, The Defender: Letters to the editor, November 15 and March - 1976, 1979
  • ICLU: Newsletter, The Defender - 1975-1976
  • ICLU: Preliminary inventory to materials archived at Special Collections, University of Northern Iowa, March - 1981
  • ICLU: Womens Rights/Women and the Law
  • American Civil Liberties Union: Correspondence-general
  • ACLU: Correspondence- Womens Rights Project - 1972
  • ACLU: Meeting minutes - 1963, 1968, 1970
  • American Friends Service Committee - 1972, 1981
  • Des Moines Park Board
  • Grays Lake and Paul Watts Brown
  • Outstanding individual philanthropist award - 1996
  • Wakonda Committee for Reason and Tolerance
  • Series 7: PUBLICATION AND RESEARCH FILES
  • Sub-Series: Reviews
  • Box 8:
  • Reviews - 1992
  • Sub-Series: Journey to Autonomy: A Memoir
  • Box 8:
  • Draft ( 7 folders) - 1990
  • Proofs (3 folders) - 1990
  • Sub-Series: Strong-Minded Women: the Emergence of the Woman Suffrage Movement in Iowa
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence
  • Sub-Series: More Strong-Minded Women (MSMW)
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence--General - 1989-1992
  • Correspondence--Iowa State University Press (2 folders) - 1989-1993
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence--University of Iowa Press - 1990
  • Manuscript drafts (2 folders)
  • Publisher's proofs (6 folders)
  • Sub-Series: Taped interviews
  • Box 9:
  • Taped interviews - audiocassettes
  • Audiocassettes AC223-AC224: Anderson, Peg
  • Audiocassette AC225: Benware , Virginia
  • Audiocassette AC226: Christensen, Naomi
  • Audiocassette AC227: Conlin, Roxanne
  • Audiocassette AC228: Cranberg, Marcia
  • Audiocassette AC229: Doderer, Minnette
  • Audiocassette AC230: Garst, Mary
  • Audiocassette AC231: Hacker, Bart
  • Audiocassette AC232: Hanley, Sarah
  • Audiocassette AC233: Henry, Phylliss
  • Audiocassette AC234: Smith, Mary Louise
  • Audiocassette AC235: Talbott, Irene/Johnson, Karen
  • Audiocassette AC236: Green, Mae/Mathias, Barbara
  • Audiocassette AC237: Kelly, Ann
  • Audiocassette AC238: Mitchell, Beverly
  • Audiocassettes AC239-AC241: Oleson, Clara/Mitchell, Beverly
  • Audiocassette AC242: Morrissey, Claudia
  • Audiocassette AC243: Scharnau, Ruth
  • Audiocassettes AC244-AC245: Stone, Kay: CLOSED until January 1, 2023
  • Audiocassette AC246: Swartzwalder, Louise
  • Audiocassette AC247: Talkington, Betty
  • Audiocassette AC248: Watkins , Virginia
  • Audiocassette AC249: Wilson, Marie
  • Sub-Series: Transcriptions and correspondence
  • Box 9:
  • Anderson, Peg
  • Box 10:
  • Benware , Virginia
  • Christensen, Naomi
  • Conlin, Roxanne
  • Doderer, Minnette
  • Garst, Mary
  • Hacker, Sally (2 folders)
  • Hanley, Sarah (2 folders)
  • Henry, Phylliss
  • Johnson, Karen
  • Kelly, Ann
  • Mathias, Barbara
  • Mitchell, Beverly
  • Nye, Deborah
  • Oleson, Clara
  • Scharnau, Ruth
  • Smith, Mary Louise
  • Stone, Kay [CLOSED until January 1, 2023; filed in Box 36]
  • Swartzwalder, Louise
  • Box 11:
  • Talbott, Irene
  • Talkington, Betty
  • Watkins, Virginia
  • Sub-Series: Interviewees not included in MSMW
  • Box 11:
  • Cranberg, Marcia
  • Green, Mae
  • Morrissey, Claudia
  • Wilson, Marie
  • Sub-Series: Photographs, undated
  • Box 11:
  • Anderson, Peg
  • Benware , Virginia
  • Christensen, Naomi
  • Conlin, Roxanne
  • Garst, Mary
  • Hacker, Sally
  • Hanley, Sarah
  • Henry, Phylliss
  • Johnson, Karen
  • Mathias, Barbara
  • Mitchell, Beverly
  • Ney, Deborah
  • Noun, Louise
  • Oleson, Clara
  • Smith, Mary Louise
  • Stone, Kay
  • Swartzwalder, Louise
  • Talbott, Irene
  • Talkington, Betty
  • Watkins , Virginia
  • Sub-Series: Book signing
  • Box 11:
  • Boarders, West Des Moines, December 6 - 1992
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Women in the WPA
  • Box 11:
  • Correspondence: General
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence: Iowa State University Press - 1998-1999
  • Sub-Series: Manuscripts and drafts
  • Box 12:
  • Introduction--edited by Mary Allen, January - 1998
  • Edited by Linda K. Kerber, April 30 - 1998
  • Edited by Amy Worther, June - 1998
  • Disk printout, November 5 - 1998
  • Final manuscript- authors printout
  • Docucomp version
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
  • Box 12:
  • Photocopies of photographs (2 folders)
  • Index of photographs in the manuscript
  • Final photographs
  • Sub-Series: Ruth Hollingshead
  • Box 13:
  • Ruth Hollingshead
  • Sub-Series: Florence Kerr
  • Box 13:
  • Florence Kerr
  • Sub-Series: The Organization and Function of the Work Projects Administration in Iowa
  • Box 13:
  • by E. J. Kaltenback, August - 1937
  • Sub-Series: Topical Files
  • Box 13:
  • Administration
  • Art
  • Defense projects
  • Des Moines library mural
  • Education
  • Final Report: Work Projects Administration, Iowa - 1943
  • Historical Records Survey
  • Household aides
  • Interviews
  • Iowa City WPA collection
  • Iowa Womens Archives materials
  • Keokuk County
  • Legal rights of women
  • Library projects
  • Maids schools Music
  • National Youth Administration
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Notes
  • Recreation
  • Reference books, notes
  • School lunch and canning
  • Sewing
  • Status of women in the New Deal
  • Theater
  • Box 14:
  • Van Buren County
  • Writers projects
  • Sub-Series: Articles
  • Box 14:
  • "Radical and Conservative Trends in the Women's Rights Movement" in Women and Public Policy: A Humanistic Perspective - 1974
  • "Voting Rights in Iowa" in Iowa Constitution and Essays, March - 1978
  • "Early Days in Germany, in Iowa" in Iowa Woman 3:3 (Summer) - 1982
  • "The Dark Side of Darling's Character: Anti-Semitism" in The Des Moines Register July 1 - 1984
  • "The Iowa Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument" in The Palimpsest 67:3 (May-June) - 1986
  • "Men shoveled, Women Sewed: Iowa Women in the WPA," Des Moines Register, Dec. 12 - 1999
  • "Sewing, Cooking, and Cleaning: An Excerpt from Chapter 2 of Iowa Women in the WPA" in The Grinnell Magazine 32:3 (Spring) - 2000
  • "Women in Philanthropy" in The Des Moines Business Record (December) - 2001
  • Sub-Series: Research files
  • Box 14:
  • "Obscene" works at the Des Moines Art Center - 1991
  • Carrie Chapman Catt - 1992
  • Roadside settlement house/Flora Dunlap - 1993
  • Old age - 1994
  • Sub-Series: Amelia Bloomer
  • Box 14:
  • Correspondence - 1983-1991
  • Box 15:
  • "Amelia Bloomer: A Biography, Part I" in The Annals of Iowa 47:7 (Winter) - 1985
  • "Amelia Bloomer: A Biography, Part II" in The Annals of Iowa 47:8 (Spring) - 1985
  • Sub-Series: Abastenia St. Leger Eberle
  • Box 15:
  • Des Moines Art Center Bulletin, July-August - 1980
  • Des Moines Art Center Guide, July 15-August 17 - 1980
  • Janis Conner
  • George Arents Library, Syracuse
  • Biographical information
  • Brookgreen Gardens
  • Amiel Brown
  • Christie, Manson, and Wood
  • Doris Cook
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art
  • Eberle Letters to C. Crosley
  • Miscellaneous
  • Music School Settlement
  • Lillian Nassau
  • National Sculpture Society
  • Beatrice Gilman Proske
  • Barbara Park Racusen
  • Rhode Island School of Design Museum of Art
  • San Diego Museum of Art
  • Stewart, Eric G.
  • Strishock, Daniel
  • Wheelright, Olive
  • Williams, Bonnie Blair
  • White Slave
  • Art and Archeology
  • Arts and Decoration
  • Craftsman
  • International Studio
  • Exhibition Catalogs
  • Frick Art Reference Library
  • Gorham Company
  • Huntington, Anna Hyat
  • Inquiries: location of works and papers
  • Kendall Young Library
  • Abastenia St. Leger Eberle
  • Library of Congress
  • Mary E. Mullen Los Angeles
  • Box 16:
  • Women Sculptors
  • Magazines
  • Newspaper articles
  • Memberships
  • Miscellaneous
  • Photos and Illustration of works
  • Criticism
  • Photos of Eberle
  • Women Sculptors- Iowa
  • Women Sculptors- United States
  • Copyright entries
  • Notecards
  • Women as Sculptors
  • Social views and views on role of the artist
  • Mother, father, and sister - 1878-1898
  • Art Student's League - 1899-1902
  • Art Student's League - 1903-1907
  • Italy and Paris - 1907-1908, 1913
  • Studio W-3 - 1912-1937
  • Armory Show - 1913
  • Armory Show - 1914-1916
  • Mac Beth Show - 1921
  • Webster City gift - 1922
  • Webster City gift - 1922-1942
  • Notes on artwork (2 folders)
  • Box 17:
  • Notes on artwork (2 folders)
  • Sub-Series: Abner Kneeland
  • Box 17:
  • Biographical: General
  • Biographical: References
  • Biographical: Salubria, Iowa settlement
  • Biographical: Sherman, Harry: "Abner Kneeland: Religious Pioneer," B. D. Thesis, Tufts College, May - 1953
  • Biographical: Tudor, Stephen H. M.A. Thesis, University of Iowa, undated
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 17:
  • Correspondence - 1965-1975
  • Sub-Series: Issues and Concerns
  • Box 17:
  • Birth Control
  • Free thought
  • Orthography and spelling
  • Religion, "Free Enquirer"
  • Religion, Trial (2 folders)
  • Religion, regional notes
  • Unitarianism and Universalism
  • Box 18:
  • Contemporary Activists: Knowlton, Charles
  • Contemporary Activists: Owen, Robert, Dale
  • Contemporary Activists: Wright, Frances
  • Sub-Series: Harriet Ketcham
  • Box 18:
  • Biographical information
  • Correspondence - 1983-1986
  • Notes for "Iowa Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument" article
  • Sub-Series: Annie Nowlin Savery
  • Box 18:
  • "Annie Savery: A Voice for Women's Rights" in The Palimpsest 44:1 (Summer) - 1977
  • "Annie Savery: Pioneer Feminist" in Des Moines Register, August 4 - 1996
  • Iowa Women's Hall of Fame Induction, August 23 [see also Artifacts in Box 29] - 1997
  • Draft manuscript: "A Remarkable Woman: Annie Nowlin Savery in Her Own Words"
  • Sub-Series: Emily Blackmore Stapp
  • Box 18:
  • Biographical information
  • Box 19:
  • Biographical information
  • Correspondence - 1919-1997
  • "Emily Blackmore Stapp and her Go-Hawks Happy Tribe: A World War I Childrens Crusade" in The Palimpsest, 77:4 (Winter) - 1996
  • Sub-Series: Nellie Verne Walker
  • Box 19:
  • Biographical information (2 folders)
  • Correspondence, research and publication - 1981-1985
  • Correspondence, Historical Encyclopedia of Chicago Women - 1995
  • "Making Her Mark: Nellie Verne Walker, Sculptor" in The Palimpsest 68:4 (Winter) - 1987
  • Sub-Series: Agnes Weinrich
  • Box 19:
  • Biographical information (2 folders)
  • Probate documents - 1946-1948
  • Weinrich family genealogy "Agnes Weinrich" in Women's Art Journal 16:2 (Fall-Winter) - 1995-1996
  • Des Moines Art Center exhibit - 1996-1998
  • European trip diary - 1909
  • Box 20:
  • Exhibitions - 1917-1946, 1988
  • Knaths, Helen- legal documents - 1974-1982
  • Knaths, Karl- biographical materials - 1931-1983
  • Provincetown Art Association exhibits - 1915-1964
  • Provincetown Painters Articles - 1991-1995
  • Correspondence: A-L - 1989-1996
  • Correspondence: M-Z - 1989-1996
  • Notes and contracts - 1993-1995
  • Blashford, Edward
  • Box 22:
  • Photographs: Weinrich family
  • Photographs: Weinrich paintings
  • Sub-Series: Leader and Pariah: Annie Savery and the Campaign for Women's Rights in Iowa, 1868-1891 [originally titled: "A Remarkable Woman: Annie Savery in Her Own Words"] - 1868-1891
  • Box 27:
  • Manuscript draft
  • Original manuscript before editing
  • Savery chronology
  • Letters to Bloomer - 1869-1870
  • Letters to Bloomer (10 folders) - 1867-1891
  • Laura Fair
  • Bee keeping
  • Letters from Washington - 1873
  • Huntington finding file
  • Huntington Library letters
  • Misc. letters Huntington Library
  • Martha Callanan
  • Lizzie Boynton Harbert
  • Photocopies
  • Annals of Iowa article - 1977
  • Pioneer Club speech - 1996
  • Savery article - 1996
  • Correspondence - 1999-2001
  • Box 36:
  • More Strong-Minded Women: Transcriptions and correspondence: Stone, Kay [CLOSED until January 1, 2023]
  • Series 8: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 21:
  • Louise Noun scrapbook - 1940
  • Box 23:
  • Louise Noun scrapbook - 1950-1960
  • Box 24:
  • Louise Noun scrapbook - 1970-1986
  • Box 25:
  • Louise Noun scrapbook - 1986-1997
  • Box 26:
  • Bernie Lorenz Recovery house - 2000
  • Series 9: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 28:
  • "Notable American Women" project at University of Iowa library - 1971, 1975
  • "Notable American Women" project at University of Iowa library (13 folders) - 1970-1988
  • Box 29:
  • "Notable American Women" project at University of Iowa library (13 folders) - 1989-1992
  • Box 30:
  • "Notable American Women" project at University of Iowa library (8 folders) - 1993-1996
  • Box 31:
  • "Notable American Women" project at University of Iowa library (8 folders) - 1997-2000
  • Iowa State University Press - 1995-1998
  • Undated
  • Series 10: PERSONAL JOURNAL AND CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 31:
  • Birthdays and anniversaries, undated
  • Box 32:
  • Journal, May 17, 1997-November 6, 2000 - 1997-2000
  • Personal correspondence - 1984-2000
  • Series 11: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 32:
  • Portraits
  • Apartment
  • Noun art collection
  • Tribute to Louise Rosenfield Noun dinner, May - 1990
  • Young Women's Resource Center - 1978-1983
  • Family photographs
  • Gloria Steinem event, October 1 - 1996
  • Noun and Gloria Steinem - 2002
  • Ms. Foundation award dinner, May - 1995
  • League Women Voters award - 1950
  • Women's Voices Conference - 1993
  • Louise Noun and Mary Louise Smith undated
  • Series 12: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 33:
  • Pins and buttons
  • Posters
  • Campaign poster: Chisholm [stored in map case] - 1972
  • Gloria Steinem speaking, sponsored by the Chrysalis Foundation, Des Moines, Iowa, October 1 [stored in map case] - 1996
  • Des Moines Register four page spread on "Strong Minded Women of Iowa" [stored in map case] - 1969
  • Publication duplicates
  • Box 34:
  • ERA sash and pendant
  • Annie Nowlin Savery Iowa Women's Hall of Fame Award - 1997
  • Box 35:
  • Roosevelt High School Alumni Hall of Fame Plaque, undated
  • University of Iowa Distinguished Alumni Award - 1994
  • Iowa Arts Award - 2002
  • National Conference for Community and Justice (NCCJ) medal - 2002
  • Cryo-portrait, undated
  • Black and white tassels, undated