Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Patricia J. Pardun papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1959-1978
Creator: Pardun, Patricia J. (1924-)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0024
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: State vice chair of the Republican Party in Iowa from 1967 to 1973.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in box 5.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 25) were donated by Patricia Pardun in 1985 and 1998.

Preferred Citation: Patricia J. Pardun papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Patrica Pardun was born in Independence, Iowa on October 23, 1924 to Allen and Mattice Smith. She attended the University of Dubuque for one year and the University of Iowa for two years. She was elected to her first political post, precinct committeewoman of Harrison Township in Benton Count, Iowa in 1953. In 1954 she became vice-chair of the Benton County Republican Party. Pardun held this post until becoming a member of the Republican State Central committee in 1959. In 1967, Patricia Pardun was elected vice-chair of the Republican State Central Committee, a position she held until February 1973. She served as a delegate to the Republican National Conventions in 1968, 1972, and 1976. During and after her years in office,Patricia Pardun was very active in Republican women's organizations, Farm Bureau women's organizations, the American Legion Auxiliary, and the Parent Teacher Association.

The Patricia Pardun papers measure 2.1 linear feetand date from 1959 to 1978, with only a few items extending beyond 1975. Patricia Pardun was an important figure in Iowa Republican Party politics from 1959-1976. Although the collection is rich in information about the Iowa Republican Party and the national Republican Party from 1966 to 1973, there is little in the papers pertaining to Patricia Pardun's official duties during her career and very little of a biographical nature. Researchers should examine the newspaper clippings for information outlining Patricia Pardun's political career. The Patricia Pardun papers are arranged in seven series: Correspondence and Social Information, National Republican Party, Iowa Republican Party, Women in Politics and the Republican Party,Projects and Committees, and Slides, Photographs, and Artifacts.

The Correspondence files contain a copy of a letter written to Patricia Pardun by Richard Nixon duringthe 1968 presidential campaign, as well as letters from Mary Louise Smith, Governor Robert D. Ray, Lt. Governor Arthur Neu, Congressmen H.R. Gross and Wiley Mayne, Iowa Attorney General Richard C. Turner, and Iowa Secretary of State Melvyn Synhorst, among others. Most of these letters pertain to Pardun's resignation as vice-chair ofthe Republican State Central Committee in 1973.

The papers concerning the National Republican Party are mostly made up of convention information from 1968, 1972, and 1976 and publications from party headquarters. These publications include The History of the Republican Party 1854-1968, published by the National Committee in 1968, and various party pamphlets.

The bulk of the collection contains information on the Iowa Republican Party. This portion of the collection contains state party platforms, information about state conventions from 1954 to 1974,copies of the Iowa party newsletter, State finance committee information, andinformation concerning party members in each district and county. Included in thie portion of the collectionare copies of the Iowa Republican County Handbook from 1962 and 1963, state party organization lists from 1970 to 1973, and minutes from state central committee meetings from February 1969 and 1971 to 1973. This information would be particularly useful to researchers interested in Iowa party politics and activities of the Republican Party at the state and local levels.

An important segment of this collection included information concerning Women in Politics and the Republican Party . Specifically, this portion includes information on the Women's Divisionof the Republican National Committee, the National Federation of Republican Women, and the Iowa Council of Republican Women. Various handbooks from each of these groups are included in this portion of the collection. A major asset to this collection is the booklet, Women in Public Service , published in August 1971 by the Women's Division of the Republican National Committee. This booklet contains information on women in the Republican Party as well as women of all parties in Congress (through 1971). The report also lists the women in the Nixon presidential administration and women in federal agencies like the Department of Agriculture. Over half of the report is a state by state listing of all women in state office (elected and appointed), which includes selected county officials. This publication is very rich in data that would be easily converted into statistics concerning women in politics.

The Projects and Committees series contains information regarding activities Patricia Pardun was involved in within the Republican Party. These activities include, but are not limited to: legislative campaigns,Absentee and Special Ballot projects, voter registration projects, and "Opportunities Unlimited" conventions in Wisconsin and Iowa. Specific items contained here are mainly propaganda items such as fliers, booklets, pamphlets, and informative cards. Information concerning projects such as the Absentee and Special Ballot projects contain propaganda items as well as meeting notes and legislative information.

At the end of the collection are various Slides, Photographs, and Artifacts . The slides are all of Patricia Pardun speaking and attending a conference. The photographs include Pardun with Mary Louise Smith, Pat Nixon, Billie Ray, Senator Bourke Hickenlooper, Senator Jack Miller, and Congressman John Kyl. The artifacts mostly consist of nametags and ribbons from various conventions and pins and items relating to Pardun's careerin the Republican Party.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE AND ARTICLES
Series 2: NATIONAL REPUBLICAN PARTY
Series 3: IOWA REPUBLICAN PARTY
Series 4: REPUBLICAN WOMEN AND WOMEN IN POLITICS
Series 5: PROJECTS AND COMMITTEES
Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS, SLIDES AND ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE AND ARTICLES
  • Box 1:
  • Political Correspondence (letters from:) - 1959-1975
  • Bromwell, James E.
  • Drake, Richard, F.
  • Gross, H. R.
  • Henry, John M.
  • Kyl, John
  • Mayne, Wiley
  • Miller, Jack
  • Mooty, W. L.
  • Neu, Arthur A.
  • Ray, Robert D.
  • Schwengel, Fred
  • Smith, Mary Louise
  • Stanley, David M.
  • Synhorst, Melvin D.
  • Turner, Richard C.
  • Personal Correspondence - 1963-1972
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1959-1972
  • Series 2: NATIONAL REPUBLICAN PARTY
  • Sub-Series: Conventions
  • Box 1:
  • Republican Party National Platform - 1964
  • Republican National Convention Booklet - 1968
  • Rules of Republican National Convention - 1968
  • Republican National Convention Booklet - 1972
  • Republican National Convention Booklet - 1976
  • Opportunities Unlimited Conventions: Wisconsin - 1966
  • Opportunities Unlimited Conventions: Iowa - 1967
  • Sub-Series: History
  • Box 1:
  • The History of the Republican Party 1854-1965 - 1965
  • Sub-Series: Publications and Press Releases
  • Box 1:
  • Congressional Record Speeches - 1959, 1963
  • The Joint Senate-House Republican Leadership Press Releases - 1966
  • Midwest Vice Chairman list - 1969
  • Midwest States Campaign Management Seminar - 1971
  • Presidential Inaugural Programs and Invitations - 1969, 1973
  • Republican News August 25 - 1971
  • Public Misinformation: The Credibility Gap
  • Weisburg and Rusk Dimensions of Campaign Evaluation
  • Sub-Series: Reports
  • Box 2:
  • The Republican Report - 1963
  • They Grade the Congress - 1966
  • Republican Research Reports - 1966-1967
  • Series 3: IOWA REPUBLICAN PARTY
  • Sub-Series: Administrative
  • Box 2:
  • Caucus Organization
  • Constitution of the Republican Party of Iowa, adopted - 1970
  • Iowa Republican County Handbook - 1962
  • Iowa Republican County Handbook - 1963
  • Iowa Republican Directory
  • Iowa Republican Fundraising - 1972-1974
  • Member Lists: Iowa Republican State Central Committee - 1966-1970
  • Member Lists: Iowa Republican County Chairmen and Vice Chairmen - 1968-1969
  • Memorandum: By District County Status Survey - 1965
  • Minutes: Republican State Central Committee Meetings, February - 1969, 1971-1973
  • Republican Handbook for Precinct Committeemen and Precinct Committeewomen - 1971-1972
  • Republican State Finance Committee of Iowa: Summary of Balances, Receipts, and Disbursements - 1972
  • Senate File 583: Iowa Campaign Disclosure Act - 1973
  • Special Legislative Elections Requirements - 1966
  • Speech Introductions: Ralph McCartney and Robert D. Ray
  • State Central Committee Sub-committees - 1971-1972
  • State Party Organization Lists - 1970-1973
  • Structure of the Iowa Republican Party
  • Voting Technology
  • Young Voters Division - 1971
  • Sub-Series: History
  • Box 2:
  • Historic Crawfordsville and the Republican Party program - 1966
  • Sub-Series: Publications
  • Box 2:
  • Iowa Conference on Improving the Teaching of Politics - 1962
  • Central Committee: Precinct to State, July - 1963
  • Iowa General AssemblyIn Action - 1963
  • Report to Hawkeye State: Senator Jack Miller - 1963, 1965
  • Organization (presentation and notes) - 1965
  • Box 3:
  • Press Release: Mrs. Glen PardunIA Conference Vice Chairman - 1966
  • Memo from John Kyl to Republican Committee 4th District - 1967
  • I.A. Republican Party newsletters (various publications) - 1969-1972
  • Instructions Relating to elections and Voting Procedures
  • "The White Paper - 1970
  • Sub-Series: Programs for Tributes and Dinners
  • Box 3:
  • H. R. Gross Tribute Dinner - 1972
  • Gubernatorial Inaugural Programs - 1961-1973
  • Burke B. Hickenlooper Testimonial Dinners - 1961, 1968
  • The Lindsay Dinner - 1968
  • Jack Miller Appreciation Dinner - 1971
  • Sub-Series: State Conventions
  • Box 3:
  • Programs from State Conventions - 1956-1974
  • Programs from State Presidential Conventions - 1960-1972
  • State Judicial Convention - 1960
  • State Platforms - 1962-1972
  • Platform Proposal Information - 1978
  • State Platform and Convention - 1978
  • Series 4: REPUBLICAN WOMEN AND WOMEN IN POLITICS
  • Sub-Series: National Federation of Republican Women
  • Box 3:
  • 1968 Convention: Bylaws, Agenda, Program, etc. - 1968
  • Publications - 1969
  • Service Committee on Republican Education
  • Sub-Series: National: Conferences
  • Box 3:
  • Republican Womens Conferences (5 folders) - 1962-1976
  • Sub-Series: National: Publications
  • Box 3:
  • "The Elephants Digest and Do-Re-Mi Booklets - 1962, 1965
  • Nuts and Bolts
  • Box 4:
  • The Republican Clubwoman
  • Role of Women in the 1964 Republican National Convention - 1964
  • Skits: "Keep It Clean - 1962
  • Skits: Gals of 63 - 1963
  • Skits: LBJ - 1964
  • Target 64 Newsletters - 1964
  • Womens Division of the Republican National Committee Publications - 1963
  • Women For a Republican Congress - 1968
  • "Women Key to GOP Victory - 1962, 1964
  • Patricia Nixon Newspaper Clippings - 1969
  • Sub-Series: Iowa
  • Box 4:
  • First Ladies Club
  • Iowa Council of Republican Women: Handbooks - 1966-1968
  • Iowa Council of Republican Women: "The Iowa Indicator newsletter - 1964-1969
  • Iowa Council of Republican Women: Proposed Amendments to Bylaws
  • Iowa Federation of Republican Women: Advisory Board and Club Officer Lists - 1968-1696
  • Iowa Federation of Republican Women: Handbooks - 1965-1973
  • Iowa Federation of Republican Women: Programs - 1970-1971
  • Iowa Womens Political Caucus - 1974
  • Linn County Republican Women: Handbook - 1958-1960
  • Linn County Republican Women: "To Be EffectiveBe INFORMED Reading list
  • Notes from meetings
  • Women in Public Service - 1971
  • Series 5: PROJECTS AND COMMITTEES
  • Sub-Series: Campaigns
  • Box 4:
  • Campaign Fliers: National Committeewoman - 1964
  • Goldwater- Miller Campaign - 1964
  • Kyl for Congress - 1966
  • The Nixon Yearbook - 1968
  • Robert Ray Governor Campaign - 1972
  • Governor and Lt. Governor Campaign Budget - 1972
  • Nixon Re-election Campaign - 1972
  • Oakley Lieutenant Governor Committee - 1978
  • Sub-Series: Pamphlets
  • Box 5:
  • Communist Party, USA by J. Edgar Hoover - 1960
  • Farm Bureau and Iowa State University Extension Office - 1962
  • Role of Polls in a Democracy by George Gallup - 1965
  • COPE pamphlets - 1972
  • Democrats v. Republicans
  • Iowa State Department of Health Information
  • "Make Time for Politics
  • Precinct Activism
  • Republican Party Activities
  • Voter Persuasion
  • Sub-Series: Committees
  • Box 5:
  • Voter Canvassing - 1960, 1972
  • Education for Action - 1965
  • Senate File 665/ Voter Reform Bill - 1969
  • Absentee Ballot Project (3 folders) - 1972
  • Campaign Planning Information Exercise - 1972
  • Special Ballot Project (2 folders) - 1972
  • Target 72 Registration - 1972
  • Action Now Day
  • Teen Age Republicans
  • Sub-Series: Other leagues
  • Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS, SLIDES AND ARTIFACTS
  • Box 5:
  • Photographs (include:)
  • Mary Louise Smith
  • Patricia Nixon
  • Billie Ray
  • Senator Burke Hickenlooper
  • Senator Jack Miller
  • Congressman John Kyl
  • Slides
  • Artifacts: Name Badges
  • Artifacts: City Key of Indianapolis (Richard G. Lugar, Mayor)