Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the League of Women Voters of Johnson County records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1920-
Creator: League Of Women Voters of Johnson County
Extent: 14.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0021
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Local branch of the national non-partisan League of Women Voters which seeks to promote political responsibility through educating and informing the public on selected governmental issues and promoting action on those issues.

Alternate Extent Statement: 1 audiocassette (AC215)
4 videocassettes (VC225-228)
2 reel-to-reels in box 22
Photographs in boxes 28 and 31
Artifacts in box 29

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 22) were donated by the League of Women Voters of Johnson County in 1981 with additional accessions to follow.

Preferred Citation: League of Women Voters of Johnson County records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The League of Women Voters (LWV) of Johnson County was established in 1920 by Zella White Stewart. Stewart started the local league with interested friends after attending a meeting of the National American Woman Suffrage Association in Chicago. With the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, the National American Woman Suffrage Association evolved into the National League of Women Voters.

The local Leagues of Women Voters are an integral part of the National League and of the state leagues. Upon its founding in 1920 the Johnson County LWV became the first local league established in Iowa. It was founded as a nonpartisan women's political organization. The purpose of the league was to provide a forum for women to come together and discuss topics in politics so that they might become informed and conscientious voters.

In 1923 the Bulletin of the Johnson County League of Women Voters was inaugurated. To give the bulletin a bipartisan viewpoint two editors were appointed, Mrs. Carl E. Seashore, a Republican, and Professor Clara M. Daley, a Democrat. The quarterly publication kept members informed about local, state and national political issues and candidates for office. In 1955 the name was changed to The Voter, which reflected a change of the titles of the state and national LWV magazines. In the 1940s and 1950s the LWV of Johnson County produced a monthly radio broadcast on WSUI. The first broadcasts were half an hour long but this format was later changed to two fifteen-minute programs presented monthly. The broadcast introduced topics to the public to develop an informed electorate.

Through discussion and study of political topics and active political involvement the LWV of Johnson County continues to inform its members and serve the electorate at large. The topics studied cover a wide spectrum of political subjects on the local, state and national levels. These studies have encompassed issues from the United Nations and its global impact (1965-1969) and the Equal Rights Amendment (1980) to garbage collection in Johnson County (1947-1950). The LWV of Johnson County has provided voter service to the public through voter registration drives, voting machine education, and forums for candidate debate. Since 1974 men have also been admitted as members of the LWV.

The 1981 ACCESSION (boxes 1-18) dates from 1920 to 1978. It consists of a mix of administrative and topical files arranged in one alphabetical sequence.

The 1989 ACCESSION (boxes 19-22, 26 and 27) dates from 1922 to 1987. Like the first accession, it consists of administrative and topical files arranged in one alphabetical sequence. The Voter, the newsletter of the LWV of Johnson County, is filed at the end of the 1994 accession.

The 1994 ACCESSION (boxes 23-25) dates from 1955 to 1994 (bulk dates 1978-1992). The records are arranged in four series: Administrative, Community involvement, Topical files and Publicity. The bulk of this accession contains administrative records.

The Administrative series (1978-1991) contains organizational material such as annual reports, board meeting minutes, membership lists and program planning reports.

The Community involvement series (1985-1991) contains information on two referenda, one to change the city charter of Iowa City and the other a change to the state constitution to have the governor and lieutenant governor elected as a team. This series also contains information on local government and voter services provided by the league. The community involvement series covers campaigns that the LWV-JC participated in to improve the political efficacy of LWV members and local voters.

The Topical files series (1981-1992) concerns issues addressed by the League, such as reproductive rights, juvenile justice and ground water.

The Publicity series (1983-1992) contains newspaper clippings about or of interest to the league. This series also contains the press releases made by the LWV-JC to the local media to announce their meetings and public forums.

The 1998 ACCESSION (boxes 28-29) dates from 1987 to 1998 (bulk dates 1995-1997). The records have been arranged in four series to resemble the organization of the 1994 accession as closely as possible: Administrative, Community involvement, Newspaper clippings, and Other leagues.

The Administrative series (1988-1998) contains organizational materials such as Board agendas and minutes, annual meeting agendas and minutes, and membership lists.

The Community involvement series (1993-1998) contains information on activities sponsored by or of interest to the League. There are many materials related to the candidate forums sponsored by the League in 1996 and 1997, including candidates' brochures and videocassettes. Materials on the forum involving the contentious special election called to fill the position of Johnson County Recorder vacated in 1997 by the mid-term retirement of long-time incumbent John O'Neill are of special interest, and the performance of one of Iowa City's more colorful left-wing political figures, Gary Sanders, in the District B forum (VC227) is an entertaining break from politics as usual. The interviews with and letters from LWV-JC members who were active between 1950 and 1970, collected for the League's history celebration in 1993, are also notable items in this series.

The Newspaper clippings (1994-1998) document League activities covered in the local press. Much of the collection covers the highly controversial Deborah Conger-Steve Lacina special election for Johnson County Recorder.

The Other league series contains records relating to the activities of other branches of the League of Women Voters that involved members of the LWV-JC. The bulk of this series contains administrative records and reports of the League of Women Voters of Iowa.

The 2006 and 2009 ACCESSION (boxes 30-32) dates from 1993 to 2004 (bulk dates 1999-2004). The records have been arranged in four series to resemble the organization of the previous accessions as closely as possible: Administrative, Community involvement, Topical Files, and Publicity.

The Administrative series (1993-2004) contains organizational materials such as Board agendas and minutes, annual meeting agendas and minutes, correspondence, member lists, and bylaws.

The Community involvement series (1993-2004) contains information on activities sponsored by the League. Materials concerning Election Forums for the elections in 1999-2004 make up the majority of this series. Voter service activities and materials from the Iowa City City Council economic or community development plan of 2000-2002 is also included in this series.

The Topical files series (1999-2004) concerns issues addressed by the League, such as land use, domestic violence, equal rights, and water issues.

The Publicity series (1996-2004) contains the LWV-JC Voter publications, as well as the LWV- Iowa Legislative Newsletter. Some meeting announcements and news clippings are also included.
The League of Women Voters of Iowa records (IWA) include a section of League of Women Voters of Johnson County materials.
 
Zella White Stewart papers (IWA) and Zella White Stewart papers (Johnson County Historical Society, Coralville, Iowa)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: 1981 ACCESSION
Series 2: 1989 ACCESSION
Series 3: 1994 ACCESSION
Series 4: 1998 ACCESSION
Series 5: 2006 AND 2009 ACCESSIONS

  • Series 1: 1981 ACCESSION
  • Box 1:
  • Annexation - 1964-1966
  • Annual reports - 1941-1955
  • Annual reports - 1956-1964
  • Annual reports - 1965-1978
  • Apartment leases - 1973-1976
  • Articles of incorporation - 1976
  • Audit reports - 1955-1957
  • Bank statements - 1961-1965
  • Board meetings - 1930-1960
  • Board meetings - 1961-1967
  • Board meetings - 1968-1973
  • Box 2:
  • Board meetings - 1974-1977
  • Board minutes - 1944-1950
  • Board minutes - 1950-1957
  • Box 3:
  • Board minutes - 1957-1968
  • Board of Directors - 1941-1980
  • Board of commissions - 1970-1974
  • Box 4:
  • Board training - 1975
  • Bricker amendment - 1954-1957
  • Budget - 1930-1976
  • Bulletins - 1923-1927
  • Bulletins - 1943-1951
  • Bulletins - 1951-1956
  • Bylaws - 1943-1976
  • Cable television - 1974
  • Campaign financing - 1974
  • Candidate questionnaires - 1961-1970
  • Box 5:
  • Child care survey - 1964, 1970-1973
  • Child care survey, undated
  • Child welfare study - 1941-1948
  • "Cities in Transition: Up and Out?" - 1977
  • A Citizen's Guide to Local Government in Johnson County, Iowa - 1955
  • Citizens information service - 1976
  • City council - 1967-1971
  • Community Development - 1965-1979
  • Community Development - 1974
  • Box 6:
  • Community Development, undated
  • Comprehensive planning - 1959-1966
  • Comprehensive planning - 1973-1976
  • Comprehensive planning, undated
  • Consensus process - 1973-1976
  • Consensus statement - 1957-1971
  • Continuing responsibility - 1964-1967
  • Coralville, Iowa--town council - 1966-1968
  • Coralville Dam - 1958-1960
  • Correspondence - 1921-1959
  • Correspondence - 1960-1963
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1964-1966
  • Correspondence - 1967
  • Correspondence - 1968-1969
  • Correspondence - 1970-1978
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Council management - 1957-1966
  • County services - 1966
  • Discussion leadership training - 1975
  • Electoral college and election laws - 1968
  • Essay contest - 1945
  • Executive branch - 1973-1976
  • Box 8:
  • Fair employment practices - 1949
  • Finance drive - 1961-1963
  • Finance drive - 1964-1968
  • Finance drive - 1970-1972
  • Finance drive, undated
  • Financial accounts - 1920-1946
  • Financial accounts - 1949-1961
  • Foreign policy--developmental aid - 1969-1970
  • Foreign policy--United Nations - 1965-1969
  • Gallager club - 1928-1941
  • Garbage collection - 1947-1950
  • General Leage information - 1947-1950
  • Box 9:
  • Health council - 1947-1961
  • Health council - 1962-1964
  • Health council, undated
  • Home rule - 1972-1974
  • Housing codes - 1964-1965
  • Housing commission--observer reports - 1972
  • Human relations commission - 1964-1975
  • Human resources, general - 1967-1969
  • Human resources, child care - 1974
  • Human resources, fair housing - 1962-1975
  • Box 10:
  • Human rights - 1963-1964
  • Income tax - 1976-1977
  • Individual liberties, general - 1953-1954
  • Individual liberties, workshop - 1953-1956
  • The Ins and Outs of League - 1970
  • Iowa tax system - 1971-1976
  • Johnson County - 1970-1973
  • Johnson County board of health - 1969-1970
  • Johnson County conservation commission - 1969
  • Johnson County home - 1962-1963
  • Johnson County regional planning commission - 1967-1969
  • Johnson County regional planning commission - 1970-1971
  • Juvenile justice - 1973-1976
  • Law enforcement, general - 1926-1927
  • Law enforcement, center-bond issue - 1976
  • Box 11:
  • Legislative reports - 1948-1949
  • Library board - 1967-1969
  • Library board - 1970-1972
  • Local items - 1969-1975
  • Local programs - 1960-1978
  • Luncheon programs - 1929-1958
  • Members' guide - 1952
  • Membership lists - 1944-1967
  • Membership lists - 1968-1979
  • Memos, general - 1974-1977
  • Memos, legislative interviews - 1973-1976
  • Mental health - 1958-1969
  • Box 12:
  • Merger: Iowa City and University Heights - 1964-1965
  • Merger: Iowa City and University Heights, newspaper clippings - 1955-1963
  • National item--foreign policy - 1959
  • Observer projects - 1970-1971
  • Open space - 1959-1973
  • Overseas education fund - 1975-1976
  • Parks and recreation - 1951-1957
  • Parks and recreation - 1958-1970
  • Parks and recreation, undated
  • Planning and development--recreation - 1965-1967
  • Box 13:
  • Planning and zoning: general - 1946-1969
  • Planning and zoning: minutes - 1967-1969
  • Planning and zoning: minutes - 1970-1971
  • Planning and zoning: newspaper clippings - 1969-1970
  • Policy sheets - 1968-1974
  • Program recommendations - 1966-1978
  • Public relations - 1962-1979
  • Publications - 1963-1971
  • Radio programs - 1944-1951
  • Radio programs - 1951-1953
  • Radio programs - 1955-1958
  • Box 14:
  • Reapportionment - 1949-1960
  • Reapportionment - 1961-1978
  • Reapportionment, undated
  • Recommendations to the state league board
  • Revenue sharing: General - 1973-1976
  • Revenue sharing: Monitoring project - 1973-1974
  • Revenue sharing: Interview/questionnaire: Feb.-Mar. - 1974
  • Revenue sharing: Interview/questionnaire: Mar.-Apr. - 1974
  • Box 15:
  • School board - 1967-1968
  • School board - 1969-1971
  • School board: newspaper clippings - 1967-1970
  • Sign ordinance - 1971-1973
  • Social functions - 1976-1978
  • Special districts - 1966-1974
  • "State of the League of Iowa City Message" - 1967
  • Subdivision controls - 1960-1963
  • Support positions - 1974-1976
  • That's Where Our Money Goes - 1947
  • This is Johnson County - 1964
  • Traffic and transportation - 1966
  • Treasurer's reports - 1946-1977
  • Tree report - 1946-1948
  • Box 16:
  • Unified court plan - 1956-1969
  • Unit reports - 1965-1968
  • Unit reports - 1972-1973
  • Unit reports - 1974-1975
  • Unit reports - 1976-1979
  • Box 17:
  • Urban renewal: General - 1956-1966
  • Urban renewal: General - 1967-1976
  • Urban renewal: General, undated (folder 1)
  • Urban renewal: General, undated (folder 2)
  • Urban renewal: Bartholomew report - 1959-1960
  • Urban renewal: Bibliography, undated
  • Voter service - 1953-1972
  • Voting machines - 1948-1956
  • Box 18:
  • Water resources - 1966-1970
  • Water supply - 1948-1961
  • World economy - 1979
  • Series 2: 1989 ACCESSION
  • Box 19:
  • Annual meetings - 1977-1987
  • Annual report - 1946, 1978-1987
  • Apartment leases - 1969, 1977, 1979
  • Awards - 1961, 1980, 1982-1983, 1985-1987
  • Board minutes - 1922-1939
  • Board minutes - 1939-1944
  • Board minutes - 1946-1947, 1968-1972
  • Board minutes - 1974-1985
  • Box 20:
  • Board of directors list - 1945-1946, 1980-1987
  • Bottle bill - 1979-1980
  • "Bulletin," October - 1922
  • Bylaws - 1981-1987
  • Changing World Order Conference - 1977
  • Community Development Project - 1960-1973
  • Congressional interview reports - 1981-1985
  • Constitutional convention survey - 1979-1980
  • Correspondence - 1946, 1968-1983
  • Correspondence - 1984-1986
  • Environment - 1973-1974, 1980, 1985
  • Economic development committee - 1983-1985
  • Energy - 1975-1976
  • Equal Rights Amendment - 1977, 1980
  • Finance reports - 1980-1985
  • Box 21:
  • Hazardous waste - 1983-1985
  • Health care - 1980-1982
  • Home rule for Washington D.C. - 1967-1970
  • Human relations - 1968-1971
  • Iowa Air Pollution Control Commission - 1970-1971
  • Iowa City charter-ballot issue - 1985
  • Iowa City city council candidate's forum - 1981, 1983
  • Iowa/Environmental Protection Agency agreement - 1980
  • Juvenile justice system survey - 1973-1982
  • Land use - 1973-1974
  • League of Women Voters of Iowa press releases - 1977
  • Legislative forums - 1984
  • Local government week - 1983-1984
  • Local urban environment - 1977, 1984-1985
  • Membership changes
  • League of Women Voters of Iowa - 1976, 1979-1982
  • League of Women Voters of the United States - 1975-1982
  • Membership lists - 1945-1946, 1979-1987
  • Miscellaneous publications - 1953, 1965-1983
  • Nominating committee report - 1970-1972, 1979-1987
  • Political effectiveness - 1965-1966
  • Box 22:
  • Newspaper clippings - 1982-1987
  • Program recommendations - 1944-1950
  • Publicity - 1981-1986
  • Reapportionment: Speech transcripts - 1963
  • Reapportionment: 2 reel-to-reel tapes - 1963
  • Recycling - 1973
  • Reports: League of Women Voters of the United States - 1970-1973, 1980-1985
  • Reports: State office - 1979-1985
  • Scrapbook of publicity - 1944-1946
  • Scrapbook of publicity - 1946-1947
  • State government revision--administrative reorganization - 1967-1968
  • Treasurer's report - 1983-1987
  • Unit organization - 1970, 1981
  • Utility franchises - 1984
  • Voter service--congressional debate: Cutler vs. Evans - 1982
  • Voter service--congressional debate: Evans vs. Johnson - 1984
  • Water quality, undated
  • Box 26:
  • "The Voter" - 1955-1959
  • "The Voter" - 1960-1961
  • "The Voter" - 1962-1963
  • "The Voter" - 1964-1965
  • "The Voter" - 1966-1967
  • "The Voter" - 1968-1969
  • "The Voter" - 1970-1971
  • "The Voter" - 1972-1973
  • Box 27:
  • "The Voter" - 1974-1978
  • "The Voter" - 1979-1982
  • "The Voter" - 1983-1985
  • "The Voter" - 1986-1988
  • "The Voter" - 1989-1993
  • "The Voter" - 1994-
  • Series 3: 1994 ACCESSION
  • Sub-Series: Administration
  • Box 23:
  • Annual reports - 1986-1991
  • Awards - 1991
  • Board of directors list - 1986-1991
  • Board minutes - 1986-1989
  • Board minutes - 1990-1992
  • Budget reports - 1988-1992
  • Bylaws - 1985-1991
  • Correspondence - 1979-1987
  • Correspondence - 1988-1991
  • Leader's training - 1985-1986
  • Membership lists - 1986-1990
  • Membership recruitment - 1988-1989
  • Policy statements - 1982-1990
  • Program planning - 1982-1990
  • Resource lists - 1988-1990
  • Treasurer's report - 1978-1989
  • Sub-Series: Community involvement
  • Box 24:
  • City charter referendum - 1985
  • Community action - 1988
  • Local government information - 1983-1988
  • Lobbying information - 1986-1992
  • Voters' service - 1987-1991
  • [AC215]: "The Community: Discussion of LWV," WSUI radio - 1983
    [30 minutes]
  • Sub-Series: Topical files
  • Box 24:
  • Ground water - 1986-1987
  • Healthcare forum - 1990
  • Human services - 1986
  • Iowa adult corrections system - 1983-1986
  • Juvenile justice - 1983-1991
  • Meeting basic human needs - 1986-1987
  • Reproductive rights - 1981-1990
  • School finance - 1978-1989
  • Sub-Series: Publicity
  • Box 25:
  • Newspaper clippings - 1983-1992
  • Playbill - 1994
  • Press releases - 1985-1987
  • Series 4: 1998 ACCESSION
  • Sub-Series: Administration
  • Box 28:
  • Annual meetings - 1995-1998
  • Board minutes - 1995-1998
  • Board of Directors - 1995-1996
  • Bylaws - 1995
  • Letters to membership - 1988, 1997
  • Membership lists - 1996
  • Memos to Board members - 1996-1997
  • Treasurer's report - 1996-1998
  • Sub-Series: Community involvement
  • Box 28:
  • County government study - 1997
  • Evening at Plum Grove - 1996
    [includes photos]
  • Juvenile justice - 1997
  • Kids Voting, Iowa, Inc. - 1996
  • LWV-JC history celebration - 1993
  • Letter to KCJJ advertisers - 1997
  • Local positions - 1996
  • President's Interagency Council on Women - 1996
  • Voters' services candidate forums: County Recorder special election - 1997
  • [V226-228]: Voters' services candidate forums: Iowa City and Coralville City Council - 1997
  • Voters' services candidate forums: "Talk to the Voters" - 1996
  • Voters' services candidate forums: Miscellaneous - 1996
  • [V225]: Voters' services candidate forums: House of Representatives 50th District - 1996
  • [V226]: Voters' services candidate forums: Coralville City Council - 1997
  • [V227]: Voters' services candidate forums: Iowa City City Council District B and at-large primary - 1997
  • [V228]: Voters' services candidate forums: Iowa City City Council District B and at-large general - 1997
  • Legislative forums - 1998
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper clippings
  • Box 28:
  • Chronological - 1994-1998
  • Sub-Series: Other leagues
  • Box 28:
  • Jasper County: Helping Kids Succeed--A Community Dialog - 1996
  • League of Women Voters of Iowa (LWVIA) bylaws - 1987
  • LWVIA conventions - 1987-1989
  • Box 29:
  • LWVIA conventions - 1996-1997
  • LWVIA memos - 1987-1998
  • LWVIA President's meeting - 1997
  • LWVIA report: "The Iowa General Assembly--Does It Meet Today's Needs?" - 1994
  • LWVIA lobbyist's report - 1988
  • LWVIA proposed position on school finance - 1988
  • League of Women Voters of the United States (LWVUS) convention - 1996
  • LWVUS: "Getting Into Issues: Your Guide to the 1996 Elections" - 1996
  • LWVUS memo to state and local presidents on campaign finance reform - 1997
  • Sub-Series: Artifact
  • Box 29:
  • "Women of Achievement Award" from the Business and Professional Women of Iowa City - 1996
  • Series 5: 2006 AND 2009 ACCESSIONS
  • Sub-Series: Administration
  • Box 30:
  • Program Planning - 2000, 2002
  • Local Positions - 1996, 2000-2002
  • Informational Statements - 2002-2004
  • Membership Lists - 1987-2005
  • Bylaws, Policies, and Procedures, - 1999-2005
  • Annual Meeting - 1998-2004
  • Interviews - 2002-2003
  • Agenda - 2000-2005
  • Calendar - 2002-2003
  • Background Information on Regional Government - 2002-2008
  • Box 31:
  • Minutes, Committee Reports, Treasurer Reports, Emails - 1997-1998
  • Minutes, Committee Reports, Treasurer Reports, Emails - 1999-2000
  • Minutes, Committee Reports, Treasurer Reports, Emails - 2000-2001
  • Minutes, Committee Reports, Treasurer Reports, Emails - 2001-2002
  • Minutes, Committee Reports, Treasurer Reports, Emails - 2002-2003
  • Minutes, Committee Reports, Treasurer Reports, Emails - 2003-2004
  • Box 32:
  • Minutes, Committee Reports, Treasurer Reports, Emails - 2004-2005
  • Minutes, Committee Reports, Treasurer Reports, Emails - 2005-2006
  • Minutes, Committee Reports, Treasurer Reports, Emails - 2006-2007
  • Email Correspondence - 2008
  • Correspondence - 1993, 1997, 1999-2004
  • Board Retreat - 1999
  • Fundraising - 1999, 2004
  • Sub-Series: Community Involvement
  • Box 32:
  • Economic Development, undated
  • Election - 1999
  • Election - 2001
  • Box 33:
  • Election - 2002
  • Elections, school board and city council - 2003
  • Election - 2004
  • Voter Service - 1993-1994
  • Voter Service - 1996, 1999-2000
    [includes photos]
  • Voter Service - 2000
  • Regional Government Consolidation Study - 2001-2002
  • Regional Government Study, Indianapolis - 2001
  • Regional Government Study Newspaper Clippings (two folders) - 1998-2009
  • Issues Studied - 1999-2003
  • Box 34:
  • Issues Studied - 2003-2005
  • JCOG Information - 2003-2005
  • National Alliance for the Mentally Ill of Johnson County (NAMI), undated
  • "The United States Constitution and the Supreme Court: Their Impact on Your Daily Life" Lecture Series - 2011-2012
  • Sub-Series: Topical Files
  • Box 34:
  • Water issues, undated
  • Land use, undated
  • Domestic violence, undated
  • General politics, undated
  • Equal rights, undated