Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the National Organization for Women, Iowa records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1971-1987
Creator: National Organization for Women, Iowa
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0013
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Feminist activist organization records.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 14) were donated by the Iowa National Organization for Women in 1990.

Preferred Citation: National Organization for Women, Iowa records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

None available.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ALPHABETICAL FILES

  • Series 1: ALPHABETICAL FILES
  • Box 1:
  • Affirmative action - 1981-1987
  • AIDS - 1984-1986
  • Ames ordinance - 1986
  • Bork nomination - 1986
  • Bulk mail - postal permit and instructions - 1977-1986
  • Central dues collection - 1981-1985
  • Chapter and state newsletters - 1985-1988
  • Chapter assessment - 1981-1985
  • Chapter contact, telephone
  • Chapter development - 1980-1986
  • Chapter resources: "A Bill Becomes Law"
  • Chapter resources: Board directors of non-profit
  • Chapter resources: Brief bibliography
  • Chapter resources: Characteristics of a strong chapter
  • Chapter resources: Choosing an action
  • Chapter resources: Conflict resolution for NOW chapters
  • Chapter resources: Developing job descriptions
  • Chapter resources: 80 ways to enhance your groups clout
  • Chapter resources: General checklist for special events
  • Chapter resources: Guidelines: letter action to abusiveā€¦
  • Chapter resources: How to establish treasury records
  • Chapter resources: How to prepare a budget
  • Chapter resources: Iowa government--the three branches
  • Chapter resources: Iowa NOW issue committee guidelines
  • Chapter resources: Issues education
  • Chapter resources: Leadership
  • Chapter resources: Media
  • Chapter resources: Membership and chapter development
  • Chapter resources: Model chapter bylaw - 1978
  • Chapter resources: NOW structure - 1983
  • Chapter resources: Planning
  • Chapter resources: Planning a retreat for chapter decision makers
  • Chapter resources: Record keeping for chapters
  • Child care - 1985-1987
  • Box 2:
  • Child support, dissolution - 1987
  • Civil Rights Act - 1984-1985
  • Civil Rights Restoration Act - 1985-1987
  • Combating racism committee - 1979-1989
  • Comparable worth - 1983-1985
  • Concepts of employment discrimination
  • Correspondence: Media - 1982-1984
  • Correspondence: National incoming (including letter from Charles Grassley) - 1982-1984
  • Correspondence: National incoming (including letters from Tom Harkin) - 1985-1988
  • Correspondence: National incoming, undated
  • Correspondence: National outgoing - 1983-1985
  • Correspondence: Regional incoming - 1982-1984
  • Correspondence: Regional incoming - 1985-1988
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence: State incoming (including letters from Berkley Bedell and Charles Grassley) - 1982-1987
  • Correspondence: State outgoing - 1982-1986
  • Craft, Christine - 1985
  • Credit
  • Displaced homemakers - 1979-1984
  • Draft, military - 1980-1981
  • Emma Goldman Clinic: letter harassment, Rock Island, Illinois - 1983-1985
  • Employment - 1979-1985
  • ERA, federal: Awareness week - 1981
  • ERA, federal: Battle hyms
  • ERA, federal: Boycott
  • ERA, federal: Congressional letters - 1982
  • ERA, federal: Countdown - 1981
  • ERA, federal: Miscellaneous - 1981-1982
  • Box 4:
  • ERA, federal: Press clips - 1981
  • ERA, federal: Emergency - 1978
  • ERA, federal: Equality walk - 1983
  • ERA, federal: Extension - 1978
  • ERA, federal: Extension - 1981-1982
  • ERA, federal: Fundraising kit - 1982
  • ERA, federal: Fundraising kit letter - 1981-1982
  • ERA, federal: Fundraising kit letter, misc. - 1979
  • ERA, federal: GOP action kit - 1982
  • ERA, federal: Illinois - 1978-1982
  • ERA, federal: Inaugural watch - 1981
  • ERA, federal: Lobby kit - 1980
  • ERA, federal: March (2 folders) - 1978, 1980
  • ERA, federal: Media campaign - 1981-1982
  • ERA, federal: Message brigade - 1981
  • ERA, federal: Missionary project - 1981
  • ERA, federal: Mobilization kit
  • ERA, federal: Petitions and petition drive
  • Box 5:
  • ERA, federal: Pro materials
  • ERA, federal: Rally - 1976-1977
  • ERA, federal: Recission, kit (includes letter from Jean Lloyd Jones) - 1979
  • ERA, federal: Recission, project - 1980
  • ERA, federal: Religious action packet - 1978
  • ERA, federal: Shoulder to shoulder project - 1976
  • ERA, federal: Vigil kit - 1976
  • ERA, federal: Walkathon kit - 1977-1981
  • ERA Iowa: Antis - 1980
  • ERA Iowa: Coalition - 1978-1982
  • ERA Iowa: House joint resolution 12 - 1978
  • Box 6:
  • ERA Iowa: Miscellaneous - 1979-1980
  • ERA Iowa: Pros - 1978-1980
  • ERA Iowa: Resource packet - 1979
  • ERA 1983, introduced
  • Executive board meetings - 1982-1986
  • Expenses, state coordinator - 1983
  • Form: Chapter annual report form
  • Form: Chapter contact sheet
  • Form: Chapter convening authorization
  • Form: Expense reimbursement
  • Form: Issue committee quarterly report
  • Form: Misc. change forms
  • Form: NOW logo
  • Form: Order, mailing labels
  • Form: Publication order form
  • Fulani, Lenora, presidential campaign - 1988
  • Fundraising
  • Gays and Lesbians of Ames, newsletter - 1983-1984
  • Gay and Lesbian Resource Center - 1987
  • Grassroots political organizing
  • Illinois-Iowa NOW conference - 1987
  • Impoverishment of women - 1983-1984
  • Iowa City Iowa Rights Commission - 1983-1985
  • Iowa gay and lesbian: Freedom Week - 1984-1987
  • Iowa gay and lesbian: Pride Week - 1983
  • Box 7:
  • Iowa Network for Women - 1986-1987
  • Iowa Network for Women - 1988
  • Iowa NOW: Agenda - 1984-1985
  • Iowa NOW: Budget - 1982-1985
  • Iowa NOW: Bylaws - 1984
  • Iowa NOW: Central dues collection report - 1982-1983
  • Iowa NOW: Lesbian Rights Committee - 1979-1983
  • Iowa NOW: Legislative taskforce - 1987
  • Iowa NOW: PAC - 1987-1988
  • Iowa NOW: Program book advertising campaign - 1986
  • Iowa NOW: State conference - 1984
  • Iowa NOW: State conference press packet - 1985
  • Iowa NOW: State conference registration - 1986
  • Iowa Organization of Women for Agriculture - 1983-1985
  • Iowa rural women committee - 1983-1985
  • Kowalski, Sharon - 1988
  • Labor movement - 1977-1981
  • Box 8:
  • Legislative lobbying
  • Lesbian and gay, brochures and information
  • Lesbian rural experience - 1983
  • Maps
  • March on Washington for gay and lesbian rights - 1987
  • Media - 1981-1986
  • Media: correspondence - 1983
  • Media: How to - 1981-1985
  • Media: Resources, contact list
  • Membership processing
  • Membership services - 1983-1986
  • Men's feminist organizations - 1985
  • Mileage reimbursement - 1980-1981
  • Military budget - 1983-1984
  • Minnesota Women's Consortium - 1985-1987
  • Nairobi Conference - 1985
  • National board meetings: Minutes - 1982-1985
  • National board meetings: Minutes - 1986-1988
  • Box 9:
  • National board meetings: Reports - 1984-1987
  • National current contact sheet - 1983-1985
  • National issues committees - 1981-1983
  • National NOW: Financial report - 1985
  • National NOW: History - 1984
  • NOW: Legal defense and education fund - 1978-1985
  • NOW: Lesbian rights conference - 1984
  • NOW: Midwest regional conference - 1986
  • NOW: National bylaws - 1980-1981
  • NOW: National conference (3 folders) - 1983-1985
  • Box 10:
  • NOW: National conference (3 folders) - 1986-1988
  • NOW: New Jersey project - 1984-1985
  • NOW: Product line catalog and other catalogs
  • NOW: Twentieth anniversary
  • National updates - 1983-1987
  • National updates: Lesbian rights - 1983-1985
  • Organizing and advocacy in rural America - 1986
  • Parental leave - 1984-1987
  • Parliamentary procedure
  • Pay equity - 1982-1987
  • Peace actions/organizations - 1983-1985
  • Phone bank information
  • Precinct caucuses resolutions - 1988
  • Box 11:
  • Press releases - 1983-1985
  • Provisional charter approval
  • Regional current contact sheet - 1983-1985
  • Rehnquist nomination - 1986
  • Rural action and organizations - 1983-1985
  • Rural women publications - 1983-1984
  • Sex discrimination: Early childhood development
  • Sex discrimination: Education - 1980-1986
  • Sex discrimination: Iowa Department of Instruction - 1985
  • Sex discrimination: Education, National updates - 1984
  • Sex discrimination: PEER - 1979-1983
  • Sex discrimination: Title IX - 1984
  • Sex discrimination: Insurance, media - 1983
  • Sex discrimination: Iowa, Fifty States Project - 1984
  • Sex discrimination: Iowa insurance workshop - 1983
  • Sex discrimination: Language - 1981
  • Sex discrimination: National updates, insurance - 1982-1984
  • Sex discrimination: Non-discrimination in insurance - 1982-1984
  • Box 12:
  • Sexual harassment - 1981-1983
  • Social security - 1979-1982
  • State by state guide to women's legal rights - 1986
  • State coordinators caucus - 1986-1988
  • State council meetings: agendas/minutes - 1982-1987
  • State council meetings: Preparation - 1982-1987
  • State presidents, coordinators meeting - 1987
  • State projects: Leadership development - 1984
  • State projects: Proposal to national - 1982-1984
  • State projects: Skills conference - 1983
  • State updates - 1982-1987
  • Statistics and polls - 1984
  • Supreme Court - 1981
  • Theory and philosophy of feminism
  • Treasurer reports - 1983-1986
  • Unemployment
  • Box 13:
  • United States Commission on Civil Rights - 1982-1983
  • Volunteerism
  • War and peace in Iowa - 1981-1982
  • Women and insurance press packet - 1983
  • Women's history - 1985
  • Yard, Molly, appearance at the University of Iowa - 1988