Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lenora Backes diaries

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1944-1946
Creator: Backes, Lenora
Extent: .10 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0010
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Diaries of an Iowa farm woman.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The diaries (donor no. 844) were donated by Michelle Mouton in 2002.

Preferred Citation: Lenora Backes papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Lenora Backes, a diarist, lived on a farm in east central Iowa. The two diaries in this collection contain very little biographical information.

The Lenora Backes diaries date from 1944 to 1946 and measure 1 linear inch. In these two volumes, Backes discusses household work, quilting, embroidery, cooking, church attendance, pinochle, and letter writing. She references travels to Cedar Rapids and Belle Plaine, Iowa. Michelle Mouton purchased the diaries at an antique store in the Amana Colonies in Iowa, and donated them to the Iowa Women's Archives.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Lenora Backes

  • Series 1: Lenora Backes
  • Diaries - 1944-1946

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Backes, Lenora

Dates:
1940-1949

Topics:
Quilting
Embroidery
Church attendance
Pinochle
Rural women
Cooking
Farm life
Country life

Occupations:
Diarists
Homemakers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Cedar Rapids
United States -- Iowa -- Belle Plaine

Genre/Form of Materials:
Diaries