Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Roxanne Barton Conlin papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1969-1996
Creator: Conlin, Roxanne Barton (1944- )
Extent: 45.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0005
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Attorney and political activist who co-founded the Iowa Women's Political Caucus and was appointed Federal Prosecutor in 1977.

Arrangement: Personal, 1970-1996 and undated (boxes 1 and 2). Professional, 1969-1995 and undated (boxes 2-44)

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 6) were donated by Roxanne Barton Conlin in 1975 and succeeding years.

Preferred Citation: Roxanne Barton Conlin papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Roxanne Barton Conlin, lawyer, feminist and civil justice activist, was the oldest of Marion W. and Alyce M. Barton's six children. Born on June 30, 1944 in Huron, South Dakota, Roxanne Barton and her family moved to Sioux City, Iowa, when she was four years old. She also lived in Clinton, Iowa, before moving to Des Moines in 1958. She graduated from high school after her junior year to attend Drake University in Des Moines. After receiving her B.A., Conlin earned a law degree from Drake University in 1966 and a master's degree in public administration in 1979, also from Drake. In 1964 Roxanne Barton married James Conlin, a real estate broker. They had four children, two of whom came to the Conlin family when they were teenagers.

Conlin worked as a lawyer in private practice from 1966 to 1967 before serving as Deputy Industrial Commissioner in Des Moines from 1967 to 1968. Conlin was an Assistant Attorney General for the state of Iowa for seven years (1969-1976), heading the Civil Rights Section of the Iowa Department of Justice. She also did anti-trust work in this position and handled several cases involving willful misconduct by public officials.

Conlin was appointed United States Attorney for the Southern District of Iowa by President Jimmy Carter in 1977. In this position, she concentrated her efforts on the prosecution of white collar crime, fraud against the federal government and narcotics trafficking. She and her staff had great success in each of these areas. She was honored for her work with a special commendation from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and received the United States Secret Service's Award for Outstanding Assistance. During her term, she was president of the Federal Executive Council and served on the Attorney General's Advisory Committee of United States Attorneys. Conlin also taught law at the University of Iowa from 1977 to 1979.

Conlin has been active in Democratic politics since 1960, serving in various positions including national committeewoman of the Iowa Young Democrats, vice-president of the Iowa Delegation to the Democratic Mid-term Convention in 1974 and on many committees for the state party convention. From 1981 to 1982, Roxanne Conlin ran unsuccessfully for governor of Iowa as the Democratic Party's candidate. Conlin also campaigned for Jimmy Carter, Tom Harkin, and Walter Mondale, and she served as the National Policy Chair for John Glenn's unsuccessful bid for the 1984 Democratic presidential nomination.

Since the mid-1980s Roxanne Conlin has been involved in the Association of Trial Lawyers of America (ATLA), a professional litigators' organization with 65,000 members committed to "fostering a safer, more just society."" After serving on several ATLA committees, Conlin was elected parliamentarian (1988-1989), secretary (1989-1990), vice-president (1990-1991), president-elect (1991-1992) and ultimately, president (1992-1993), ATLA's first female president.

Conlin's community activism has included service on the boards of directors of the Iowa Shares Program, the River Hill Day Care Center in Des Moines, and the Polk County Rape and Sexual Assault Care Center. She also founded and was the first chair of the Iowa Women's Political Caucus.

Roxanne Conlin has received numerous awards and honors, including being named to the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1981. McCall's Magazine called her ""one of the forty-four women in America qualified for a cabinet position."" In 1974, she received the Iowa Civil Liberties Union's award for Outstanding Service to Civil Liberties and was named the Outstanding Young Woman of Iowa. She is listed in Who's Who in America.

Conlin was a tireless campaigner and a relentless advocate for her beliefs; she made countless speeches and participated in an unending stream of conferences. Her output was truly remarkable, and her papers testify to her ability to initiate, manage, and lead political change within the democratic process. Conlin's vibrancy is palpable in this extraordinary collection that documents her career.

The Roxanne Barton Conlin papers date from 1969 to 1996 and measure 45 linear feet. The papers are arranged in four series: Personal, Professional, Political and Photographs.
 
The Personal series (1970-1996 and undated) includes biographical information, a few letters to Conlin from her father and her daughter Jacalyn Conlin, and material relating to Conlin's civic activism.
 
The Professional series (1969-1995 and undated) forms the second largest series. The series is further subdivided by subseries: Association of Trial Lawyers of America (ATLA), Appointment calendars, Assistant State Attorney General of Iowa, Association of Trial Lawyers of Iowa (ATLI), Correspondence, Law practice, Newspaper clippings, Speeches, and United States Attorney for the Southern District of Iowa. Throughout the series, however, certain themes predominate; among them are sexual discrimination and harassment, women's rights, product liability, and civil rights.
 
The Association of Trial Lawyers of America subseries (1985-1993) shows how Conlin campaigned for elective offices within ATLA and how she rose through the ranks to become the organization's first female president. What she accomplished while president is illustrated through the interviews and profiles, the letters of appreciation she received, and the "President's Page" columns she wrote for ATLA's Trial magazine. Some audiocassettes and videocassettes of talks Conlin gave and courses she offered on ATLA's behalf are also included.
 
Conlin's work as an Assistant State Attorney General is documented in the Assistant State Attorney General of Iowa subseries (1969-1977). This subseries illustrates Conlin's efforts on behalf of women, minorities and the disabled. Included are several court briefs Conlin wrote as the attorney for the Iowa Civil Rights Commission.
 
The Association of Trial Lawyers of Iowa (1973-1977) is a small subseries containing correspondence and some legislation the association wished to have enacted by the Iowa State Legislature.
 
The Correspondence subseries (1969-1990) is a chronological file of Conlin's professional communication between 1969 and 1990.
 
Conlin's Law practice (1976-1995) materials are extensive. There are many audiocassettes and videocassettes of news segments, talks, interviews, debates and panel discussions on specific legal issues and Conlin's work as a lawyer. (For Conlin's views on sexual harassment and on the Anita Hill testimony in the Clarence Thomas Supreme Court confirmation hearings see Box 3, Professional, ATLA, Presidency, "President's Page" (Trial), letter to Julie Shoop dated March 22, 1993).
 
Also of note are the newspaper clippings which describe the 6.3 million-dollar sexual harassment and discrimination lawsuit Conlin won on Linda Monohan's behalf (Box 23; Professional; Law practice; Issues; Sexual harassment). The Newspaper clippings subseries (1970-1990) includes articles about Conlin's fight as U.S. Attorney General against Star Coal Co. to end environmentally destructive strip mining where reclamation is not possible and a court case on Medicare and Medicaid fraud (see Box 28, Professional, Newspaper clippings, January 1980).
 
The Speeches (1971-1994) are extensive and are arranged by the following topics: civil justice system, commencement addresses, courtroom procedures and strategies, leadership, rape, sexual harassment and discrimination, women, and miscellaneous.
 
The United States Attorney for the Southern District of Iowa subseries (1977-1981) documents Conlin's work in this appointed position. Included are minutes from Conlin's service on the Attorney General's Advisory Board and notes from various conferences she attended.
 
The Political series (1970-1990) comprises the bulk of the collection. Conlin's involvement in women's political causes, her service on state commissions and task forces, her campaign for Governor of Iowa and her political affiliations are reflected in this series. The series is subdivided into nine subseries: Civil rights, Democratic Party, Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), Gubernatorial election, International Women's Year, Iowa Commission on the Status of Women, Iowa Higher Education Task Force, National Organization for Women (NOW) and Women's political caucuses.
 
The Civil rights subseries contains more papers related to Conlin's work with the Iowa Civil Rights Commission. Of interest is an opinion written by Conlin on the commission's jurisdiction in police matters concerning public accommodation.
 
The Democratic Party subseries (1974-1990) contains documents from Conlin's participation at the Conference on Party Organization and Policy, a mini-convention held in 1974 in Kansas City, Missouri. The purpose of the conference was to draft a national charter for the Democratic Party, a first for major political parties in the United States (see box 45, Political, Democratic Party, Conference on Party Organization and Policy, letter to Conlin from Morris K. Udall, September 17, 1974).
 
The Equal Rights Amendment subseries (1972-1980) contains the transcript of a debate between Conlin and Phyllis Schlafly, the national head of Stop ERA, which aired on WHO talk radio in Des Moines in March 1978. Also included are three drafts of an article written by Conlin for the Winter 1975 Drake Law Review "Equal Protection vs. Equal Rights Amendment--Where Are We Now?"
 
The Gubernatorial election subseries (1978-1982) chronicles Conlin's unsuccessful bid as the democratic candidate for Governor of Iowa in 1982. The subseries is sorted into the following categories: fundraising records, campaign documents, audiovisual material, issues, correspondence and donation forms.  Audiovisual materials include the following videocassettes: V60 - 9/17/1982. Conlin Campaign I; V62 - IPTV interview with Mary Jane O'Dell; V63 - 3/5/1987 "CNN Take Two, Roxanne Conlin Interview."; V64 - 10/26/1982- "Conlin Dub." produced by Db Productions; V65 - "Hear the Candidates" part 2.
 
The International Women's Year subseries (1975-1977) concerns Conlin's work on the coordinating committee in Iowa and her compilation of papers on the legal status of homemakers in all fifty states and the District of Columbia.
 
The Iowa Commission on the Status of Women subseries (1970-1981) contains annual reports and minutes of the commission during Conlin's tenure and studies of sex discrimination against women in employment, education and health insurance.
 
The Iowa Higher Education Task Force subseries (1973-1989) contains the administrative records of the task force and the testimony presented to the task force at six hearings held around the state in 1988.
 
The National Organization for Women (NOW) subseries (1972-1989) covers administrative records of Conlin's involvement on national NOW committees as well as position papers and materials connected to women's rights.
 
The Women's political caucuses subseries (1973-1986) is divided into two categories: Iowa Women's Political Caucus and National Women's Political Caucus. Included are papers illustrating Conlin's role as an activist for women's political causes and social problems. (A note from Ruth Bader Ginsburg dated December, 1974 regarding an article Conlin wrote that she had asked Ginsburg to review is in box 105, Political, Women's Political Caucuses, IWPC, Articles and letters first draft, undated, folder 1.)
 
The John Glenn Presidential Campaign subseries (1983-1984) covers Conlin's work as the chair of Glenn's National Policy Council in his unsuccessful bid for the 1984 Democratic presidential nomination. It also contains extensive press clippings related to the campaign, Glenn's position papers, and the text of many of his speeches. See also Box 45 for papers related to Conlin's work on the Glenn campaign.
 
The Photographs (1969-1982 and undated) are mostly professional publicity shots (including gubernatorial contact proofs) and snapshots of Conlin at conferences or in groups. The photographs have been removed from the various accessions to be filed together.
Margaret Davis Collison papers (IWA): Collison was coordinator of polling volunteers for Roxanne Conlin's 1982 gubernatorial campaign.
 
Iowa Women's Political Caucus (IWPC) records (IWA):  In 1973 Roxanne Conlin founded the Iowa Women's Political Caucus after attending the first convention of the National Women's Political Caucus in Houston. She served as the first IWPC president from 1973 to 1975.
 
Louise Noun papers (IWA): The transcripts of Noun's 1989 interview with Conlin are included in Noun's papers. The interview formed the basis for Noun's chapter on Conlin in More Strong Minded Women: Iowa Feminists Tell Their Story.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL
Series 2: PROFESSIONAL
Series 3: POLITICAL
Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical information - 1987-1992, 1995-1996
  • Alcoholism: Personal account and articles - 1993
  • Alcoholism: Letters of support - 1993
  • Caricature (chalk drawing) [shelved in map case] - 1989
  • Civic activities: Certificates of appreciation - 1975, 1985-1986
  • Civic activities: "Iowa Shares" food project - 1979-1981
  • Civic activities: Mayor's Citizens Conference on Rape (Des Moines) - 1974-1976
  • Civic activities: Polk County Rape/Sexual Assault Care Center - 1974
  • Civic activities: Polk County Rape/Sexual Assault Care Center: June-August - 1976
  • Civic activities: Polk County Rape/Sexual Assault Care Center - 1976-1977
  • Civic activities: "Write On America" (Youth for Understanding scholarship project) - 1975
  • Complaints: Milford Overseas, Inc. - 1971-1973
  • Complaints: Phase 2, Inc. - 1973
  • Correspondence: Incoming - 1992
  • Correspondence: Outgoing - 1970-1971
  • Correspondence: Outgoing - 1989
  • Drake University: Alumni of the year award dinner: Program and invitation - 1989
  • Videocassette V71: Drake Alumni of the year award dinner - 1989
  • Drake University: Law Board of Counselors
  • Drake University: Law Board of Counselors - 1978-1981
  • Drake University: Law Board of Counselors - 1982-1985
  • Box 2:
  • Drake University: Law Board of Counselors - 1985-1986
  • Outstanding Young Woman of Burlington nominations - 1973
  • Renewal of wedding vows [one oversized newspaper article shelved in map case] - 1994
  • White House Fellows application - 1973
  • Who's Who:Outstanding Young Women of America - 1973-1975
  • Women's speakers directory (Iowa State University) - 1977-1978
  • Audiotape (reel-to-reel tape): "Eye on Iowa" appearances on WMT-TV - 1972-1973
  • Videocassette V70: Animal Rescue League auction - 1995
  • Series 2: PROFESSIONAL
  • Sub-Series: American Bar Association (ABA)
  • Box 2:
  • Victim's committee - 1985-1986
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 2: Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now (ACORN)
  • Membership handbook - 1985
  • Sub-Series: Association of Trial Lawyers of America (ATLA)
  • Box 2:
  • "ATLA Advocate" - 1989
  • Background information - 1990
  • Board of Governors minutes - 1988-1990
  • Education committee - 1987
  • Executive committee - 1990
  • Keyperson committee - 1987
  • Political action committee (PAC) - 1986-1987
  • Budget documents - 1985-1986
  • Correspondence - 1985-1987
  • Box 3:
  • Meetings, conventions, and seminars - 1985-1987
  • Bridge-the-Gap seminar - 1985-1986
  • Washington, DC meeting correspondence - 1988
  • Winter convention and exposition - 1990
  • Campaigns for office: Parliamentarian: Brochure draft, contract and budget - 1988
  • Campaigns for office: Parliamentarian: Candidacy statement and letters of intent - 1987
  • Campaigns for office: Parliamentarian: Letters of support - 1987-1988
  • Campaigns for office: Parliamentarian: Notes and correspondence - 1988
  • Campaigns for office: Vice-president: Candidacy statement and letter of intent - 1990
  • Campaigns for office: Vice-president: Letters of support - 1990
  • Campaigns for office: President-elect: Candidacy statement and letter of intent, undated
  • Campaigns for office: President-elect: Letters of support - 1990-1991
  • Campaigns for office: Presidency: Farewell address - 1993
  • Campaigns for office: Presidency: Farewell address: Interviews and profiles - 1988, 1991-1993
  • Campaigns for office: Presidency: Letters of appreciation, (includes one photograph of Conlin) - 1993
  • Campaigns for office: Presidency: Message to membership - 1993
  • Campaigns for office: Presidency: "President's Page" ("Trial") - 1993
  • Campaigns for office: Presidency: "A Women's Bill of Rights" poster (with congratulatory messages), undated
  • Printed material - 1985-1986
  • Box 4:
  • Reports: "Bitter Harvest:Dangerous Farm Machinery," undated
  • Reports: "Report On: An Assessment of the Needs of Plaintiff Lawyers" - 1988
  • Reports: State-by-state legislative update - 1986
  • Reports: Tort reform research material, undated (4 folders)
  • Reports: Trial advocacy course - 1989-1990, 1996
  • Audiocassette AC294: Debate: Epstein v. Shapo - 1992
  • Audiocassette AC295: The Public Law Radio Show (interview) - 1993
  • Videocassette V72: A Celebration of Justice - 1992
  • Videocassette V73: Meeting in San Francisco (news report) - 1993
  • Videocassette V74: Presidency inauguration speech, July 30 - 1992
  • Videocassette V75: Trial demonstration (basic course): Tape I - 1988
  • Videocassette V76: Trial demonstration (basic course): Tape II - 1988
  • Videocassette V77: Trial Masters Forum (opening statement) - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Appointment calendars
  • Box 4:
  • Chronological - 1972-1973
  • Chronological - 1974
  • Box 5:
  • Chronological - 1975
  • Chronological - 1976
  • Chronological - 1977
  • Chronological - 1978
  • Chronological - 1980
  • Chronological - 1984-1986
  • Sub-Series: Assistant State Attorney General of Iowa - 1970
  • Box 5:
  • Air pollution: Airplanes
  • Air pollution: Automobiles - 1970
  • Air pollution: Treatise - 1970
  • Committee on the Office of Attorney General (National Association of Attorneys General) - 1970-1972
  • Hawkeye Realty Co., Betty Anderson and George Hill Jr. vs. Iowa Civil Rights Commission - 1970
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission vs. City of Cedar Rapids Police Department Civil Services Organization and Police Pension Board - 1973
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission vs. C. R. Peterson Realty Company - 1970
  • C. R. Peterson-petitioner vs. Leo Oxberger, judge of the fifth judicial district in and for Polk County, Iowa-respondent - 1972
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission and Heriberto Zamara vs. Massey Ferguson Inc. - 1972
  • Iron Workers Local #67 and William Reed vs. John Hart and Iowa Civil Rights Commission - 1971
  • Joan Parr, Judy McCarthy and Iowa Civil Rights Commission vs. Cedar Rapids Community School District and Cedar Rapids Board of Education - 1969
  • Box 6:
  • Leo Griggs and Iowa Civil Rights Commission vs. Wilson-Sinclair Company - 1970
  • Plumbing fixtures anti-trust case form letters - 1970
  • Pottawattamie County Department of Social Services and Board of Social Welfare vs. Elliot Landau and Iowa Civil Rights Commission - 1973
  • State of Iowa vs. Harvey Bartz and Arnold Buechele, undated
  • State of Iowa vs. Arnold Buechele - 1975
  • State of Iowa vs. David Kieth Feddersen - 1975
  • State of Iowa vs. Quentin Linus Hanan - 1969
  • State of Iowa vs. John Harrington - 1970
  • State of Iowa vs. James Helter - 1969
  • State of Iowa vs. Frank Sebben - 1970
  • State of Iowa vs. Henry Steenhoek, Jesse Wright and Gary Wright - 1970
  • State of Iowa vs. Donald Taylor - 1974
  • State of Iowa vs. Dale Thomas Armstrong and Shirley Buttolph - 1969
  • State of Iowa vs. Frank R. West and Robert E. Lee - 1977
  • Wilson and Co., Inc. a Delaware corporation and Frank Harvey-plaintiffs vs. The Honorable Leo Oxberger, judge of the fifth judicial district of Iowa-defendant - 1970
  • Court cases: Notes, undated (2 folders)
  • Fair employment - 1971
  • Federal aid to elderly - 1972
  • Human rights: Correspondence - 1973
  • Human rights: Handicapped - 1973-1974
  • Human rights: HEW (Department of Health, Education and Welfare) - 1977
  • Box 7:
  • Human rights: Presentation by the Iowa Manufacturers Association Human Rights Committee to Minority Groups Study Committee - 1973
  • Iowa Civil Liberties Union roast of former Attorney General Richard Turner - 1980
  • Job interview requests - 1970-1972
  • Legal notes, undated
  • Memo:response to last attack of external activities, undated
  • Opinions: Disabled accessibility - 1973, 1976
  • Opinions: Height and weight requirements for employment - 1974
  • Opinions: Job discrimination - 1972-1976
  • Opinions: Legal status of women and marriage - 1974
  • Opinions: Sex discrimination in high school industrial arts programs - 1974
  • Pending legislative bills for review - 1975-1976
  • Rape: Correspondence, notes and newspaper clippings - 1973-1975
  • Rape: Research paper by LeAnn Roling - 1975
  • Sex discrimination: Ms. Lorene Bunner-complainant vs. J. I. Case-respondent: Transcript of the proceedings (folder 1) - 1973
  • Sex discrimination: Ms. Lorene Bunner-complainant vs. J. I. Case-respondent: Transcript of the proceedings (folder 2) - 1973
  • Box 8:
  • Sex discrimination: Complaint against Roxanne Conlin by Ms. Lorene Bunner tothe Iowa Bar Association - 1973-1976
  • Sex discrimination: Grinnell Baseball Association - 1974-1975
  • Sex discrimination: Highway commission - 1974-1975
  • Sex discrimination: Ella May Jones (Des Moines school district) - 1973
  • Sex discrimination: Legislation - 1977
  • Termination of participation in Iowa Public Employees' Retirement System (IPERS) - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Association of Trial Lawyers of Iowa (ATLI)
  • Box 8:
  • Constitutional challenge materials - 1988
  • Correspondence - 1984-1986
  • Correspondence - 1986
  • Correspondence - 1987-1988
  • Legislation - 1985-1986
  • Legislation - 1986-1987
  • Box 9:
  • Legislative Day - 1985
  • Materials sent to legislators - 1985-1987
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 9:
  • Drug letters - 1969
  • Chronological - 1970
  • Chronological - 1971-1972
  • Miscellaneous newsletters - 1972-1973
  • January - 1973
  • February - 1973
  • March - 1973
  • April - 1973
  • Box 10:
  • May - 1973
  • June - 1973
  • July - 1973
  • August - 1973
  • September - 1973
  • October - 1973
  • November - 1973
  • December - 1973
  • January - 1974
  • February - 1974
  • March - 1974
  • April - 1974
  • May - 1974
  • June - 1974
  • July - 1974
  • August - 1974
  • September - 1974
  • October - 1974
  • Box 11:
  • November - 1974
  • December - 1974
  • January - 1975
  • February - 1975
  • March - 1975
  • April - 1975
  • May - 1975
  • Box 12:
  • June - 1975
  • July - 1975
  • August - 1975
  • September - 1975
  • October - 1975
  • November - 1975
  • December - 1975
  • January - 1976
  • February - 1976
  • March - 1976
  • April - 1976
  • May - 1976
  • June - 1976
  • July - 1976
  • August - 1976
  • September - 1976
  • October - 1976
  • November - 1976
  • December - 1976
  • January-March - 1977
  • Box 13:
  • March-May - 1977
  • June-July - 1977
  • August-September - 1977
  • October-December - 1977
  • January-February - 1978
  • March - 1978
  • April-May - 1978
  • Box 14:
  • June-September - 1978
  • October-December - 1978
  • January-March - 1979
  • April-June - 1979
  • July-September - 1979
  • October-December - 1979
  • Box 15:
  • January-March - 1980
  • April-June - 1980
  • July-September - 1980
  • October-December - 1980
  • January-March - 1981
  • April-May - 1981
  • June-August - 1981
  • Box 16:
  • Correspondence - 1982-1983
  • January-June - 1984
  • July-September - 1984
  • October-December - 1984
  • January-May - 1985
  • June-August - 1985
  • September-December - 1985
  • January-March - 1986
  • Box 17:
  • April-May - 1986
  • June-July - 1986
  • August-September - 1986
  • October-December - 1986
  • January-March - 1987
  • April-October - 1987
  • Correspondence - 1989
  • Correspondence - 1990
  • Correspondence - 1996-98
  • Box 18:
  • Correspondence, undated (2 folders)
  • Sub-Series: Law practice
  • Box 18:
  • Audiocassette AC296: "The Civil Justice System:Can it be Saved?" - 1993
  • Audiocassette AC297: "Defensive Medicine" - 1993
  • Audiocassette AC298: Ex-convict suggestions for prison reform ("addressed to Mrs. Roxanne Conlin, the next governor of Iowa"), undated
  • Audiocassette AC299, side 1: Homemakers' rights ("Today" show) - 1978
  • Audiocassette AC299, side 2: Interview - Mary Jane Odell weekly - 1979
  • Audiocassette AC300: Iowa Women's Political Caucus (keynote speech) - 1979
  • Audiocassette AC301: "Making the Opposing Expert Tell the Truth" - 1991
  • Audiocassette AC302: Million dollar arguments (Gail vs. Western Convenience Stores), undated
  • Audiocassette AC303: Ohio Academy of Trial Lawyers: Summation for plaintiff, undated
  • Audiocassette AC304-AC305: Ohio Academy of Trial Lawyers: Panel discussion with questions and answers, undated
  • Audiocassette AC306: "Picking a Jury," (1991 Auto Torts XIV) - 1991
  • Audiocassette AC307, side 2: People's press conference (with Mary Brubaker) - 1979
  • Microcassette AC312: Public Relations Society of America (speech) - 1993
  • Audiocassette AC308: Women and the law (Mason City, Iowa) - 1980
  • Audiocassette AC307, side 1: "Women's Work: Homemakers Work Worth" - 1978
  • Videocassette V78: American Bar Association "Leadership Forum 1992" (civil justice panel discussion) - 1992
  • Videocassette V79: "Enhancing damages," (South Dakota Trial Lawyers Association) - 1988
  • Videocassette V80: Group B Strep: Australian news program, undated
  • Videocassette V81: Group B Strep: Video news release, undated
  • Videocassette V82: "It's Your Business" (interview rehearsal)
  • Videocassette V83: Litigation explosion disputed (product liability, 2/7/92) - 1992
  • Videocassette V84: "Malpractice Reward Limits" (ABC evening news, 3/25/93) - 1993
  • Videocassette V85: "NCA Basic College Role of Advocate in Today's Society" - 1989
  • Videocassette V86: "Products on Trial" (PBS)
  • Videocassette V87: Sexual harassment ("On the Issues"--business ethics, 6/11/93) - 1993
  • Case briefs: Don Rowen and Margaret Cass, plaintiffs vs. Kathleen Shinstine, county recorder and James Maloney, county auditor, defendants: Injunction, petition and brief documents - 1976
  • Depositions: Cass, Margaret - 1976
  • Depositions: Crawford, Gerald - 1976
  • Depositions: Rasmussen, Clark - 1976
  • Depositions: Rowen, Don - 1976
  • Civil Justice Foundation: Board of Trustees minutes - 1986-1988
  • Civil Justice Foundation: Correspondence - 1983-1986
  • Box 19:
  • Civil Justice Foundation: Correspondence: November-January - 1986-1987
  • Civil Justice Foundation: Correspondence: February-May - 1987
  • Civil Justice Foundation: Correspondence: June-October - 1987
  • Civil Justice Foundation: Correspondence - 1987-1988
  • Civil Justice Foundation: Direct mail fundraising - 1989
  • Civil Justice Foundation: Grant proposal - 1987-1988
  • Civil Justice Foundation: Printed material - 1987
  • Civil Justice Foundation: Report of farm safety - 1988-1989
  • Civil Justice Foundation: Speech and research material - 1986
  • Box 20:
  • Coalition for Consumer Justice: Correspondence - 1986-1987
  • Coalition for Consumer Justice: Tort reform - 1982-1986
  • Consumer and Victims Coalition Committee: Correspondence - 1984-1985
  • Consumer and Victims Coalition Committee: Correspondence (November-December) - 1985
  • Consumer and Victims Coalition Committee: Correspondence - 1986-1987
  • Consumer and Victims Coalition Committee: Meetings - 1985-1986
  • Consumer and Victims Coalition Committee: Printed material - 1985
  • Consumer and Victims Coalition Committee: Printed material - 1986
  • Box 21:
  • Consumers and victims groups: Printed material - 1983-1986
  • Consumers and victims groups: Printed material - 1986-1987
  • Commission on the Aging - 1985
  • Correspondence - 1993-1994
  • "Crime Victim's Handbook" by David Austern (signed copy) - 1987
  • Draft legislation on product liability (HR115) - 1987
  • Ecological illness - 1985-1987
  • Family and medical leave - 1987
  • Federal Practice Committee - 1986-1987
  • Health care research material - 1986
  • Antitrust lawsuit against insurance companies - 1986, 1988
  • "The Insurance Industry's Antitrust Exemption" presentation by Jay Angoff - 1988
  • "The Insurance Crisis: A Story in Deception" testimony before Senate Committee on Small Business by Robert Habush - 1986
  • Box 22:
  • Insurance crisis: Medical malpractice bill - 1988
  • Insurance crisis: Research materials - 1976-1986
  • Insurance crisis: Research materials: March - 1986
  • Insurance crisis: Research materials: April-May - 1986
  • Insurance crisis: Research materials: May - 1986
  • Insurance crisis: Research materials: June (2 folders) - 1986
  • Insurance crisis: Research materials, Undated
  • International Dalkon Shield Victims Education Association - 1986-1987
  • Interviews and profiles - 1989-1995
  • Box 23:
  • Iowa Citizens Action Network - 1986
  • Iowa Code sentencing guidelines - 1982
  • Iowa Organization of Women Attorneys (IOWA) - 1984-1986
  • Iowa Trial Lawyers Association - 1996-1997
  • Iowa Women's Agenda Conference - 1987-1988
  • Farm safety (issue paper), undated [author unknown]
  • Product liability, undated
  • Sexual harassment - 1991, 1994-1995
  • Law project for multi-handicapped children - 1986
  • Litigation guides and outlines - 1987
  • National Council on Public Policy - 1984
  • National Judicial Education Program annual report - 1986
  • National Judicial Education Program annual report - 1987
  • National Judicial Education Program annual report - 1988
  • Polling data on liability suits - 1986-1987
  • Programs and presentations - 1990-1991, 1993
  • "Rehabilitative Alimony, The 'Alimony Drone', and the Marital Partnership" by Sally F. Goldfarb - 1987
  • Box 24:
  • Roscoe Pound Foundation - 1996-1997
  • Supreme Court Council on Judicial Selection (3 folders) - 1986-1987
  • Trial Lawyers for Public Justice "In the News" - 1989, 1997
  • Voir dire examination and jury selection, undated
  • Washington Policy Council - 1983-1984
  • Writings: Articles - 1991-1995
  • Jury Selection in Third Party Rape Cases, draft, undated
  • "Women and the Law," 3rd draft "Law Review" - 1972
  • Box 25:
  • "Women and the Law," 3rd draft "Law Review" - 1972
  • "Women, Power and the Law," "Trial" - 1990
  • "A Case of Interstate Banking in Iowa," by Beverly A. Davis - 1986
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper clippings
  • Box 25:
  • Chronological - 1970-1972
  • Chronological - 1972-1974
  • Chronological - 1973-1975
  • Chronological (2 folders) - 1974-1975
  • Box 26:
  • Chronological - 1975
  • Chronological (2 folders) - 1976-1977
  • Chronological: April-October - 1977
  • Chronological: September-October - 1977
  • Chronological: November - 1977
  • Chronological: December - 1977
  • Chronological: January-February - 1978
  • Chronological: March - 1978
  • Chronological: April - 1978
  • Chronological: May - 1978
  • Chronological: June - 1978
  • Chronological: July - 1978
  • Chronological: August - 1978
  • Box 27:
  • Chronological: September - 1978
  • Chronological: October - 1978
  • Chronological: November - 1978
  • Chronological: December - 1978
  • Chronological: January - 1979
  • Chronological: February - 1979
  • Chronological: March - 1979
  • Chronological: April - 1979
  • Chronological: May - 1979
  • Chronological: June - 1979
  • Chronological: July - 1979
  • Chronological: August - 1979
  • Chronological: September - 1979
  • Chronological: October - 1979
  • Chronological: November - 1979
  • Chronological: December - 1979
  • Box 28:
  • Chronological: January - 1980
  • Chronological: February - 1980
  • Chronological: March - 1980
  • Chronological - 1983-1985
  • Chronological - 1985-1986
  • Chronological: May-September - 1986
  • Chronological - 1986-1987
  • Chronological - 1989-1990
  • Chronological - 1991-1999
  • Sub-Series: Speeches: Correspondence
  • Box 28:
  • Chronological - 1971-1972
  • Chronological - 1972-1973
  • Chronological: October-December - 1973
  • Box 29:
  • Chronological: January-March (2 folders) - 1974
  • Chronological: July-September - 1974
  • Chronological: October-December - 1974
  • Chronological - 1975
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Sub-Series: Speeches: Civil justice system
  • Box 29:
  • "Can the Civil Justice Help Victims of Crime?": Minnesota, undated
  • "Can the Civil Justice Help Victims of Crime?", undated
  • "Civil Justice System Under Attack: Can It Be Saved? Does It Matter?": Iowa, undated
  • "Civil Justice System Under Attack: Can It Be Saved? Does It Matter?": Minnesota, undated
  • "Civil Justice System Under Attack: Can It Be Saved? Does It Matter?": undated (2 folders)
  • Civil justice system (Senior Citizen Council), undated
  • "I am a Lawyer" - 1990
  • Institute of Public Affairs - 1987
  • "The Role of the Advocate": Oregon Trial Lawyers Association - 1990
  • "The Role of the Advocate," undated
  • Sub-Series: Speeches: Commencement addresses
  • Box 30:
  • College of Saint Mary, undated
  • Unlabelled - 1984
  • Unlabelled, undated
  • Sub-Series: Speeches: Courtroom procedures and strategies
  • Box 30:
  • "Civil Trial Lawyers Can Help Victims" (Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association, Memphis) - 1988
  • Convention and Continuing Legal Education of the Kansas Trial Lawyers Association (Jackson Hole) - 1988
  • "Dynamic Proof of Damages," undated
  • "Enhancing Damages: Rules of Persuasion" (South Dakota Trial Lawyers Association spring seminar) - 1988
  • "How to Enhance Jury Verdicts by Use of a Vocational Rehabilitation Expert" - 1988
  • "How the Civil Trial Lawyer Can Help Victims of Crime" - 1988
  • Insurance and litigation, undated
  • Mock trials: Minnesota, undated
  • Mock trials: Myrtle Beach, undated
  • National Mock Trial - 1993
  • "Preparation and Presentation of Evidence" (Polk County Women Attorneys) - 1984
  • "Principles of Voir Dire": Boston, undated
  • "Principles of Voir Dire" - 1988
  • Psychology of trial: ATLA - 1988
  • Psychology of trial, undated
  • "Robbery, Rape and Murder:Landlord Liability" (West Virginia Trial Lawyers Association) - 1989
  • Box 31:
  • South Carolina Lawyers Association Auto Torts IX Seminar (art of persuasion) - 1986
  • Strategies in court - 1990
  • "Trial Tactics For Women Attorneys" - 1988
  • "Use of Vocational Rehabilitation Experts in Psychic Injury Cases": Phoenix - 1987
  • "Use of Vocational Rehabilitation Experts in Psychic Injury Cases", undated
  • Sub-Series: Speeches: Leadership
  • Box 31:
  • "Leadership and Motivation: Can Anyone Do It?," undated
  • Maytag Management Club speech (Des Moines) - 1987
  • Sub-Series: Speeches: Rape
  • Box 31:
  • "Jury Selection in Third Party Rape Cases," undated
  • Take Back the Night - 1986
  • Sub-Series: Speeches: Sexual harassment and discrimination
  • Box 31:
  • Sexual discrimination (part of Press Women's speech), undated
  • Sexual harassment (speech to nurses), undated
  • "Sexual Harassment as Unlawful Sex Discrimination," undated
  • Sub-Series: Speeches: Women
  • Box 31:
  • "And Justice For All Women" - 1986
  • "Changing Attitudes...Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow" (Women in Business Awards Banquet, Ames) - 1989
  • Iowa Organization of Women for Agriculture - 1986
  • "Iowa Women and Children: Faces of Poverty" (Iowa Commission on the Status of Women, Des Moines) - 1985
  • Iowa Women's Political Caucus (IWPC) - Caucus Keynote - 1979
  • IWPC - Women and the Law - 1980
  • NWPC Convention - 1983
  • "Prospects for Change for Women": Iowa State University Women's Conference (Ames) - 1987
  • "Prospects for Change for Women": Iowa Women in Natural Resources workshop (Des Moines) - 1987
  • Box 32:
  • Recent Women and Politics, undated
  • BV WWI - 1986
  • PCWA seminar, undated
  • "Women and Politics: What Happened to the 'Gender Gap'?" (Labor Center, Iowa City) - 1987
  • "Women and Power": Iowa - 1990
  • "Women and Power": San Francisco, undated
  • "Women and Power," undated
  • Women and the Law - 1972, 1984
  • "Women as Decision Makers" (Des Moines) - 1986
  • "Women, Children and Families - Planning For Our Future" - 1987
  • "Women: Coping with the 80's" (Region VII Constituency Conference, Des Moines) - 1994
  • "Women in Leadership" - 1985
  • "Women in Politics": Iowa Rural Women's Conference (Des Moines) - 1986
  • "Women in Politics," undated
  • "Women on Aging" (Mid-America Congress on Aging, Des Moines) - 1984
  • Women's Equality Day speech - 1984
  • Women's rights (South Carolina) - 1987
  • Women's rights/gender equality: Florida - 1977
  • Women's rights/gender equality: Mercy Hospital, undated
  • Women's rights/gender equality: MIU, undated
  • Women's rights/gender equality: Portland, undated
  • Women's rights/gender equality: South Carolinaspeech - 1987
  • Women's rights/gender equality: South Dakota speech - 1984
  • Women's rights/gender equality: Wartburg College (Waverly, IA) - 1985
  • Box 33:
  • Women's rights - resource materials - 1984-1988
  • Sub-Series: Speeches: Miscellaneous
  • Box 33:
  • Celebration of Aging, undated
  • SpeDean's recognition dinner, undated
  • Economic Opportunities in the 80's for State, Nation, and Individual, undated
  • Education speech, undated
  • "Equity vs. Excellence: Can We Have It All?" (Bridging the Gap: Civil Rights and Education Conference, Des Moines) - 1986
  • Farm Safety Conference - Introduction, undated
  • Iowa Democratic Party Honoree brunch (Davenport) - 1985
  • Judges Forum luncheon (Roscoe Pound Foundation, ATLA), undated
  • Memorial Day speech, undated
  • Ninth Annual Family Planning Update (Des Moines) - 1984
  • "Pornography in Iowa From a Legal Perspective" (Iowans Concerned About Pornography, Des Moines) - 1985
  • Remarks to Stuart Spieser in Washington, D.C., April 20 - 1994
  • Saleswomen speech, undated
  • Speech for Fritz Hollings - 1992
  • Swearing-in ceremony of Charles McCrae in Mississippi, undated
  • Unidentified political speech - 1988, 1992
  • "Unity in Diversity" (Sioux City Human Rights Week Recognition Banquet, Des Moines) - 1987
  • "Voice of Concern" (Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Candlelight Vigil, Des Moines) - 1985
  • Sub-Series: United States Attorney for the Southern District of Iowa
  • Box 34:
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General - 1977-1978
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General (2 folders) - 1978
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General (2 folders) - 1979
  • Box 35:
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General - 1979
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General - 1979-1980
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General (4 folders) - 1980
  • Box 36:
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General (2 folders) - 1980
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General (3 folders) - 1981
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General, undated (2 folders)
  • Box 37:
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General: Investigative agency subcommittee - 1978-1980
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General: Investigative agency subcommittee (3 folders) - 1980
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General: Tax file - 1978-1980
  • Advisory Committee of the U.S. Attorney General: Tax file - 1980
  • Box 38:
  • "Assessment of management problems project" - 1980
  • Calendar schedules: October-December - 1979
  • Calendar schedules: January-February - 1980
  • Calendar schedules: February-March - 1980
  • Calendar schedules: April-June - 1980
  • Calendar schedules: July-August - 1980
  • Box 39:
  • Calendar schedules: September-October - 1980
  • Calendar schedules: September-November - 1980
  • Calendar schedules: November-December - 1980
  • Calendar schedules: January-February - 1981
  • Calendar schedules: March-April - 1981
  • Box 40:
  • Calendar schedules: May-June - 1981
  • Calendar schedules: June-July - 1981
  • Calendar schedules: August - 1981
  • "Certainty and Justice in the Law" (seminar Harvard University) - 1980
  • Certificate of service - 1979
  • Computer seminar (Arlington, Texas) - 1980
  • Correspondence - 1977
  • Federal Executive Committee - 1974, 1977-1978
  • Federal Executive Committee - 1979
  • Box 41:
  • Federal Executive Committee - 1980-1981
  • Federal practices committee - 1978
  • Federal practices committee - 1979-1980
  • Federal practices committee - 1980
  • Fraud seminar (Los Angeles, California) - 1978
  • "Grass-roots Management" - 1979
  • Institute of Public Affairs and Administration alumni directory - 1980
  • "Iowa Advocate" - 1978-1979
  • Iowa House of Representatives government operations committee - 1978
  • Judicial conferences: Brainerd, Minnesota - 1978
  • Judicial conferences: Colorado Springs, Colorado - 1980
  • Judicial conferences: Kansas City, Missouri - 1981
  • Judicial conferences: Rapid City, South Dakota - 1979
  • Juvenile delinquency and learning disabilities - 1978
  • "Law Related Education" - 1979
  • Magazine clippings - 1979-1980
  • Medical malpractice seminar (San Antonio, Texas) - 1980
  • Midwest moot court - 1979
  • Box 42:
  • Miscellaneous papers - 1980-1982
  • Newspaper clippings - 1977-1981
  • National conferences: Orientation conference (Washington, D.C.) - 1977
  • National conferences: Salt Lake City, Utah - 1978
  • National conferences: Tenth National Conference - 1978-1979
  • National conferences: Twelfth major drug trafficker prosecution conference - 1980
  • National conferences: U.S. Attorney's conference - 1978
  • National conferences: Washington, D.C. - 1979
  • National conferences: Washington, D.C. - 1980
  • National conferences: Waterville, New Hampshire - 1980
  • Office manual, undated
  • Office practices manual - 1981
  • Parental kidnapping, undated
  • Box 43:
  • Public policy seminar (Brookings Institute) - 1979
  • Questionnaire "Sharing Solutions to Common Office Problems" - 1979-1980
  • Questionnaire "Sharing Solutions to Common Office Problems" (2 folders) - 1980
  • Recommendations - 1978-1981
  • "Revised Federal Criminal Code" speech and materials - 1978
  • Rules for Facilitators - 1981
  • Sexual harassment - 1977, 1981
  • Box 44:
  • Speaking engagement programs - 1978-1980
  • Swearing-in ceremony - 1977
  • Telephone calls - 1979
  • Two-year plan - 1978
  • United States Attorneys addresses. undated
  • Series 3: POLITICAL
  • Sub-Series: Civil rights
  • Box 44:
  • American Civil Liberties Union - 1975
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission: Correspondence: January-March - 1975
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission: Correspondence: April-May - 1975
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission: Correspondence: June-August - 1975
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission: Correspondence: September-December - 1975
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission: Department of Transportation Highway Commission - 1975
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission: General - 1973-1975
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission: Minutes - 1976
  • Box 45:
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission: Police: Commission's jurisdiction opinion - 1973
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission: Police: Des Moines Police Department - 1975
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission: Recommendations - 1973
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission: Twentieth anniversary committee - 1984-1985
  • Iowa Civil Rights Commission: Veterans hiring preference opinion, undated
  • Sub-Series: Democratic Party
  • Box 45:
  • Americans for Democratic Action Conference - 1975
  • Conference on party organization and policy - 1974
  • Conlin for Attorney General - 1985
  • Conlin for Governor - 1985-1986
  • Delegate to the fourth district and state conventions - 1974
  • Democratic Women's Agenda '76 - 1976
  • Dukakis, Michael; Report of law enforcement meeting - 1988
  • Harkin, Tom - 1984
  • National platform - 1984
  • Presidential candidate support: Chisholm, Shirley - 1972
  • Presidential candidate support: Glenn, John (see also boxes 108-109): Campaign - 1983
  • Presidential candidate support: Glenn, John (see also boxes 108-109): Presidential committee - 1983-1984
  • Presidential candidate support: Glenn, John (see also boxes 108-109): Photograph [signed], undated
  • Presidential candidate support: Stump speeches for candidates - 1984
  • Box 46:
  • Political analyst position (election night, WHO-TV 13) - 1990
  • "The Women's Vote Analysis" prepared by the National Democratic Party - 1986
  • Box 108:
  • Campaign: General - 1983-1984
  • Campaign: Alabama - 1983
  • Campaign: California - 1983
  • Campaign: Florida - 1983
  • Campaign: Georgia - 1983
  • Campaign: Illinois - 1983
  • Campaign: Iowa - 1983 and undated
  • Campaign: Michigan - 1983
  • Campaign: Oklahoma - 1983
  • Campaign: Washington, D.C. - 1983
  • National Policy Council (NPC): General - 1983
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Correspondence: Incoming - 1983-1984
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Correspondence: Outgoing - 1983
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Expenses - 1983-1984
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Meetings: October 31-November 1 - 1983
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Meetings: December 5 and January 17-19 - 1983-1984
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Meetings: February 7 - 1984
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Membership: Declined, undated - 1983-1984
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Membership: Lists and records, undated - 1983-1984
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Membership: State chairs and coordinators - 1983
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Position papers - 1983-1984
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Speeches: International Union of Police Associations - 1983
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Speeches: National Organization for Women - 1983
  • Box 109:
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Speeches: Miscellaneous - 1983-1984
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Press Clippings: Best - 1983
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Press Clippings - 1982-1983
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Press Clippings: January-October - 1983
  • National Policy Council (NPC): Press Clippings: October-December - 1983
  • Sub-Series: Equal Rights Amendment (ERA)
  • Box 46:
  • Code search - 1973-1974
  • Correspondence - 1972-1973
  • Debate with Phyllis Schlafly; transcript (WHO radio) - 1978
  • "Equal Protection vs. Equal Rights Amendment--Where Are We Now?" Drake Law Review: Reprinted article - 1975
  • "Equal Protection vs. Equal Rights Amendment--Where Are We Now?" Drake Law Review: Rough draft, undated
  • "Equal Protection vs. Equal Rights Amendment--Where Are We Now?" Drake Law Review: Second draft, undated
  • Box 47:
  • "Equal Protection vs. Equal Rights Amendment--Where Are We Now?" Drake Law Review: Old article and incorporated material - 1975
  • Newspaper clippings - 1973
  • Notes and outlines, undated
  • Rally - 1977
  • Research materials - 1972-1973
  • Research materials - 1974-1979
  • Research materials - 1980
  • Box 48:
  • Sex discrimination in education and at work - 1973-1974
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Fundraising records
  • Box 48:
  • Fundraising: Audubon County, undated
  • Fundraising: Benton County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Black Hawk County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Buena Vista County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Carroll County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Cerro Gordo County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Cherokee County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Clayton County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Clinton County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Crawford County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Dallas County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Des Moines County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Dubuque County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Green County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Henry County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Jasper County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Johnson County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Lee County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Linn County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Madison County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Mahaska County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Marshall County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Montgomery County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Palo Alto County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Polk County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Pottawattamie County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Ringgold County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Scott County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Story County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Warren County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Washington County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Webster County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Winneshiek County - 1982
  • Fundraising: Woodbury County - 1982
  • Fundraising: County fundraising plans - 1982
  • Box 49:
  • Fundraising: April kickoff - 1982
  • Fundraising: July - 1982
  • Fundraising: August Big Event - 1982
  • Fundraising: September - 1982
  • Fundraising: Cedar Rapids - 1982
  • Fundraising: Des Moines - 1982
  • Fundraising: Lake Okoboji - 1982
  • Fundraising: Chicago - 1982
  • Fundraising: New York - 1982
  • Fundraising: Texas - 1982
  • Fundraising: Minneapolis - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Peg Cass and Virginia Petersen - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Cortez - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Alan Cranston - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Betsy Crone - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Gatlin Brothers - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Sam Garst - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Phyllis George - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Maddie Glazer - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Gary Hart - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Bob Hunter - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Edward Kennedy - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Walter Mondale - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Stewart Mott - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Chuck Robb - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Hale Starr and Jeff Offenburger - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: General - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Attractions - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: $100 contributors - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Cancelled events - 1982
  • Fundraising: Celebrity and personally sponsored events: Potential hosts - 1982
  • Fundraising: Organizational fundraising documents - 1982
  • Fundraising: Organizational fundraising discussions - 1982
  • Box 50:
  • Fundraising: Direct-mail sample: Chiropractors fundraising letters - 1982
  • Fundraising: Direct-mail sample: DA-2 letter - 1982
  • Fundraising: Direct-mail sample: Miscellaneous invitations - 1982
  • Fundraising: Direct-mail sample: Miscellaneous fundraising letters - 1982
  • Fundraising: Direct-mail sample: Senior citizens letter - 1982
  • Fundraising: Dick Myers' Campaign (4 folders) - 1978
  • List and directories of potential donors (15 folders) - 1982
  • Box 51:
  • List and directories of potential donors (9 folders) - 1982
  • Special fundraising events (14 folders) - 1982
  • Fundraising donation records (5 folders) - 1982
  • Campaign fundraising disclosure forms - 1982
  • Campaign finance laws - 1982
  • Box 52:
  • Campaign fundraising documents (31 folders) - 1982
  • Box 53:
  • Fundraising follow-up records (4 folders) - 1982
  • Post-election finances - 1982
  • Post-election fundraising - 1982
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Campaign Documents
  • Box 53:
  • Budget (4 folders)
  • Campaign contribution records (2 folders)
  • Box 54:
  • Financial disclosure forms - 1982
  • State finance committee (2 folders) - 1982
  • Campaign schedules (2 folders) - 1982
  • Billboards and brochures - 1982
  • Voter canvassing - 1982
  • Miscellaneous - 1982
  • Box 55:
  • Office-related documents (32 folders)
  • Telephone messages: 22 January to 15 March (2 books) - 1982
  • Box 56:
  • Telephone messages: 9 February to 3 June (7 books) - 1982
  • Box 57:
  • Telephone messages: 2 June to 8 December (7 books) - 1982
  • Box 58:
  • Telephone messages: 7 July to 19 August (6 books) - 1982
  • Box 59:
  • Telephone messages: 2 September to 18 October (7 books) - 1982
  • Box 60:
  • Announcement speech - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: "Business Groups - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: Department of Justice - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: Developments in Administrative Law - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: Education - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: Federal Juvenile Justice - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: General - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: Jefferson-Jackson Dinner - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: Jobs program - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: Manly, Iowa - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: Marshalltown, Iowa - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: Maytag Management Clubs - 1981
  • Campaign speeches: New York, undated
  • Campaign speeches: Rights of the Accused, Ames, Iowa - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: Rough drafts, undated
  • Campaign speeches: Sexual harassment as unlawful sex discrimination, undated
  • Campaign speeches: State Democratic Convention - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: White Collar Crime - 1982
  • Campaign speeches: Women 2000" - 1982
  • Box 61:
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: County coordinators mailing labels - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: Democratic county chairs label list - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: Organization mailing lists - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: State central committee mailing labels - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: Club members - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: Media - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: Direct mail file - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: September Political Death letter - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: Carter del., county officers - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: Letter to independent voter - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: Feminist letter - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: Letters to the editor - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: Lawyers letter - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: D.C. mailing list - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: County volunteers thank-you letter - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: Preliminary campaign mailings - 1982
  • Mailing lists and sample letters: List of confirmed events - 1982
  • Phone bank records - 1982
  • Campaign appearance requests (11 folders) - 1982
  • Post-election scheduling requests - 1982
  • Box 62:
  • Composition of Conlin for Governor committee (7 folders)
  • Democratic voters program (3 folders) - 1982
  • Polling records (8 folders)
  • Election and post-election strategies (9 folders)
  • Box 63:
  • County and district campaign supporter lists (15 folders)
  • Nomination papers (3 folders)
  • Box 64:
  • Nomination papers (12 folders)
  • Box 65:
  • Cleveland/Questor analysis (2 folders)
  • Conlin for Governor credibility study (3 folders)
  • Survey of voters' attitudes and opinions - 1982
  • Primary canvass report
  • Conlin's astrological chart
  • Committee to Elect Democratic Governors (3 folders)
  • Democratic candidates list (2 folders)
  • Box 66:
  • Debate records (3 folders)
  • Campaign advertising (11 folders)
  • Conlin for Governor campaign announcement (4 folders)
  • Press releases (3 folders)
  • Supporter files (9 folders)
  • Miscellaneous campaign papers (4 folders)
  • Campaign activities (2 folders)
  • Miscellaneous notes - Conlin
  • Box 67:
  • Newspaper clippings and realia: Newspaper clippings (11 folders)
  • Newspaper clippings and realia: Realia [oversize items shelved in map case] - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Campaign audiovisual material
  • Box 68:
  • Audiocassettes AC55-AC101, AC192
  • Videotape recordings (7 reels)
  • Videocassettes V60-V67
  • Audio Microcassette Tape
  • Box 69:
  • Videotape master recording field tapes/reels: Conlin for Governor: #1 "MOS interview," May 3 - 1982
  • Videotape master recording field tapes/reels: Conlin for Governor: #2 "Crime," May 4 - 1982
  • Videotape master recording field tapes/reels: Conlin for Governor: #3 "Farmers," May 4 - 1982
  • Videotape master recording field tapes/reels: Conlin for Governor: #4 untitled, May 4 - 1982
  • Videotape master recording field tapes/reels: Conlin for Governor: #5 "Family," May 4 - 1982
  • Reel-to-reel audiotape radio commercials: Tape #1 CR001-82 "Tupperware"
  • Reel-to-reel audiotape radio commercials: Tape #1 CR002-82 "Handicapped"
  • Reel-to-reel audiotape radio commercials: Tape #2 CR006-82 untitled
  • Reel-to-reel audiotape radio commercials: Tape #2 CR007-82 untitled
  • Reel-to-reel audiotape radio commercials: Tape #3 CR006B-82 revised
  • Reel-to-reel audiotape radio commercials: Tape #4 CR008-82 "Straight Talk"
  • Reel-to-reel audiotape radio commercials: Tape #5 Iowa Democratic Party "Income Tax Checkoff"
  • Reel-to-reel audiotape radio commercials: Tape #6 MON-R-008 "Go to the Caucuses"
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Issues: Agricultural and rural
  • Box 70:
  • Agencies, services, and statistics
  • Conservation, soil and other resources
  • Agriculture Debate invitations
  • Economics
  • Iowa: Agriculture and water quality
  • Iowa: Pork production (2 folders)
  • Agriculture: Issues
  • Agriculture: Land use
  • National Family Farm Coalition
  • National Farmers Organization
  • Reports
  • Rural
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Issues: The economy
  • Box 71:
  • Conlin's bond proposal (2 folders)
  • Economic outlook
  • Banks (2 folders)
  • Business issues (6 folders)
  • Economic development (2 folders)
  • Employment and unemployment (6 folders)
  • Iowa's economy and finances (3 folders)
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Issues: Taxes, health care, disabled veterans, minorities, and Social Security
  • Box 72:
  • Conlin's Iowa Income Tax (2 folders)
  • Health care (6 folders)
  • Hispanics
  • Special populations (4 folders)
  • Taxes (9 folders)
  • Veterans (4 folders)
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Issues: Crime and penal reform, Iowa Department of Social Services, civil rights, Iowa cities and municipalities, legislative bills and funding cuts
  • Box 73:
  • Action grant (2 folders)
  • Cities and municipalities (3 folders)
  • Civil rights
  • Crime (12 folders)
  • Crime, sentencing and prison newspaper clippings
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Issues: Education, women, transportation and utilities
  • Box 74:
  • Education (13 folders)
  • Transportation (3 folders)
  • Utilities
  • Women's issues (6 folders)
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Issues: Democratic issue manuals, Iowa Legislature voting summaries, Democrats '82; National Party Conference, issue forums
  • Box 75:
  • 1982 Iowa House of Representatives voting summary - 1982
  • Democrats '82; National Party Conference (3 folders) - 1982
  • Iowa democratic issue manuals (7 folders)
  • Issue forums (4 folders)
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Issues: Formulation positions, opposite candidate files, family, Iowa Bar Association, Hunt Commission
  • Box 76:
  • The American Assembly
  • Candidate files (10 folders)
  • Conlin position papers
  • Draft positions submitted by Jerry McDermott
  • Families (3 folders)
  • Hunt Commission (2 folders)
  • Iowa Bar Association (3 folders)
  • Issues people
  • Miscellaneous issue notes (3 folders)
  • Requests for positions (2 folders)
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Issues: Energy, environment, foreign relations, Iowa arts, gambling, right to work laws, pensions, panel discussion, and the American Legislative Council
  • Box 77:
  • American Legislative Exchange Council
  • Congregate meals
  • Council for International Understanding
  • Energy (4 folders)
  • Environment (6 folders)
  • Gambling (2 folders)
  • Iowa Arts Council
  • Panel discussion
  • Pensions
  • Right-to-work laws
  • Miscellaneous issues
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Correspondence: Incoming (Box 78 includes letters from Tom Harkin; Charles T. Manatt; Tom Miller; Dave Nagle and Ronald Reagan)
  • Box 78:
  • Chronological - 1977-1980
  • January-April - 1981
  • May-June - 1981
  • July - 1981
  • August - 1981
  • September - 1981
  • October - 1981
  • November - 1981
  • December - 1981
  • January - 1982
  • February - 1982
  • March - 1982
  • Box 79:
  • April (Box 79 correspondents include Edward M. Kennedy; Charles T. Manatt; Walter F. Mondale; Dave Nagle and Neal Smith) - 1982
  • May - 1982
  • June (2 folders) - 1982
  • Box 80:
  • June (2 folders) (Box 80 correspondents include Terry E. Branstad and Walter F. Mondale) - 1982
  • July (2 folders) - 1982
  • Box 81:
  • August (2 folders) (Box 81 correspondents include Edward M. Kennedy; Charles T. Manatt; Dave Nagle and Robert D. Ray) - 1982
  • September (2 folders) - 1982
  • Box 82:
  • October (3 folders) (Box 82 correspondents include Edward M. Kennedy; Charles T. Manatt and Walter F. Mondale) - 1982
  • November - 1982
  • Box 83:
  • November (Box 83 correspondents include John Glenn) - 1982
  • December - 1982
  • Undated
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Correspondence: Outgoing
  • Box 84:
  • January-October - 1981
  • November-December - 1981
  • January-March - 1982
  • April (2 folders) - 1982
  • May - 1982
  • Box 85:
  • May - 1982
  • June (2 folders) - 1982
  • July - 1982
  • August - 1982
  • September - 1982
  • Box 86:
  • October - 1982
  • November - 1982
  • Undated
  • Sub-Series: Gubernatorial election: Donation Forms
  • Box 87:
  • September - 1981
  • October - 1981
  • November - 1981
  • December - 1981
  • January - 1982
  • February - 1982
  • March - 1982
  • April - 1982
  • May (2 folders) - 1982
  • June - 1982
  • July - 1982
  • August - 1982
  • September - 1982
  • October - 1982
  • November - 1982
  • Undated (2 folders)
  • Sub-Series: International Women's Year
  • Box 89:
  • Coordinating committees: Iowa - 1975
  • Coordinating committees: Iowa: December-June - 1976-1977
  • Coordinating committees: Iowa: June-August - 1977
  • Coordinating committees: Iowa: August-September - 1977
  • Coordinating committees: Utah - 1975
  • Events - 1975
  • Good Housekeeping Almanac page proofs - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Alabama - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Alaska - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Arizona - 1977
  • Box 90:
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Arkansas - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: California - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Colorado - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Connecticut - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Delaware - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: District of Columbia - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Florida - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Georgia - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Hawaii - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Idaho - 1977
  • Box 91:
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Illinois - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Indiana - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Iowa - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Kansas - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Kentucky - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Louisiana - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Maine - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Maryland - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Massachusetts - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Michigan - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Minnesota - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Mississippi - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Montana - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Nebraska - 1977
  • Box 92:
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Nevada - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: New Hampshire - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: New Jersey - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: New Mexico - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: New York - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: North Carolina - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: North Dakota - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Ohio - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Oklahoma - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Oregon - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Pennsylvania - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Rhode Island - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: South Carolina - 1977
  • Box 93:
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: South Dakota - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Tennessee - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Texas - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Utah - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Vermont - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Virginia - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Washington - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: West Virginia - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Wisconsin - 1977
  • Box 94:
  • Legal status of homemakers papers: Wyoming - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers series: Authors - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers series: Miscellaneous, State Department - 1977
  • Legal status of homemakers series: Standard paragraphs - 1977
  • National Women's Conference (Houston, Texas) - 1977
  • Proclamation - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Commission on the Status of Women
  • Box 94:
  • Abortion rights - 1970-1973
  • Annual reports - 1976
  • Annual reports - 1977
  • Appointment certificates - 1972-1974, 1981
  • Budget - 1973-1974
  • Biennium request - 1977
  • Child day care - 1973
  • Correspondence - 1972-1973
  • Employment and tax discrimination - 1974-1974
  • Employment project progress report - 1975
  • Executive council minutes - 1976
  • Feminization of PovertyIs This Happening in Iowa? report prepared by Rebecca Burke - 1984
  • Health insurance progress report on abortion coverage under group accident and health policies - 1973-1974
  • Johnson County Council on the Status of Women newsletter - 1973-1974
  • Legal rights - 1972-1975
  • Box 95:
  • Meeting notices and agendas - 1972-1974
  • Minutes - 1972-1975
  • Minutes - 1975
  • Minutes - 1976
  • Minutes - 1977
  • Miscellaneous - 1972-1973
  • National Association of Commissions for Women Council of Presidents - 1987
  • News releases - 1977
  • Organization and structure report - 1975-1976
  • Pending state legislation - 1973
  • Position papers on sex discrimination in insurance and upgrading child care facilities, undated
  • Reports - 1972-1974
  • Roster of qualified women for public appointment - 1972
  • Box 96:
  • Search committee for new executive director - 1975
  • State audit report - 1975
  • Studies: Employment - 1973-1974
  • Studies: Insurance practices that affect women - 1974
  • Studies: Insurance practices that affect women - 1975
  • Studies: Underemployment and underutilization of women in Iowa - 1976
  • Title IX: Brochure rough draft - 1976
  • Title IX: Sex discrimination in public schools - 1973
  • Women in the Iowa State Legislature from 1929 to 1975 - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Women in the Iowa State Legislature from 1929 to 1975
  • Box 96:
  • Background material - 1973, 188
  • Correspondence - 1988-1989
  • "First in the Nation in Education" final report - 1984
  • Hearing materials - 1986, 1988
  • Hearing materials - 1989
  • Box 97:
  • Minutes - 1988
  • Notebook (2 folders) - 1988-1989
  • Testimony at hearings: Clinton - 1988
  • Testimony at hearings: Council Bluffs - 1988
  • Testimony at hearings: Des Moines - 1988
  • Testimony at hearings: Mount Pleasant - 1988
  • Testimony at hearings: Sioux City - 1988
  • Testimony at hearings: Waterloo - 1988
  • Sub-Series: National Organization for Women (NOW)
  • Box 97:
  • Alimony--O'Brien briefs - 1985
  • Box 98:
  • Application for revision of telephone rates in Iowa intervention - 1972
  • Child support - 1988
  • Campus campaign materials - 1987
  • Conference workshop for women - 1980
  • Correspondence - 1985-1987
  • Florida Supreme Court Gender Bias Study Commission executive summary - 1989
  • Legal defense and education fund: Audit/study - 1987
  • Legal defense and education fund: Board of Directors: Board book (2 folders) - 1988
  • Legal defense and education fund: Board of Directors: Board book - 1989
  • Legal defense and education fund: Board of Directors: Members - 1987
  • Box 99:
  • Legal defense and education fund: Budget materials - 1986-1987
  • Legal defense and education fund: By-laws - 1978
  • Legal defense and education fund: By-laws - 1982
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence: October-August - 1983-1984
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence: August-December - 1984
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence - 1985
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence: January-April - 1986
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence: May-July - 1986
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence: August-September - 1986
  • Box 100:
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence: October-December - 1986
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence: January-March - 1987
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence: April - 1987
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence: May - 1987
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence: June-July - 1987
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence: August-September - 1987
  • Box 101:
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence: October - 1987
  • Legal defense and education fund: Correspondence - 1987-1988
  • Legal defense and education fund: Defense committee (2 folders) - 1986
  • Legal defense and education fund: Defense committee - 1987
  • Legal defense and education fund: Defense committee - 1988
  • Legal defense and education fund: Education committee - 1986-1987
  • Legal defense and education fund: Evaluation of Marsha Levick - 1988
  • Legal defense and education fund: Executive committee - 1988
  • Legal defense and education fund: Expenses - 1987
  • Legal defense and education fund: Johnson, Judith, controller memorandum - 1988
  • Legal defense and education fund: Leadership discussion meeting - 1985
  • Legal defense and education fund: Luncheon speeches in New York - 1986-1987
  • Legal defense and education fund: Meeting materials: February-April - 1983-1985
  • Box 102:
  • Legal defense and education fund: Meeting materials: October - 1985
  • Legal defense and education fund: Meeting materials: February - 1986
  • Legal defense and education fund: Meeting materials: June - 1986
  • Legal defense and education fund: Meeting materials: October - 1986
  • Legal defense and education fund: Meeting materials: February-March - 1987
  • Legal defense and education fund: Meeting materials: July - 1987
  • Box 103:
  • Legal defense and education fund: Monthly reports - 1987-1988
  • Project on Equal Education Rights (PEER): "Equal Education for Girls is Poverty Protection for Women" seminar - 1986
  • Project on Equal Education Rights (PEER): Grant problems - 1987
  • Project on Equal Education Rights (PEER): Report - 1987
  • Project on Equal Education Rights (PEER): Silver Snail Award - 1985
  • Project on Equal Education Rights (PEER): Silver Snail Award - 1987
  • Robinson vs. Jacksonville Shipyard - 1987
  • Sheehan, Daniel P. affidavit - 1986
  • Social security Cost Of Living Adjustments (COLAs) - 1985
  • Sperling case (sex discrimination) - 1985
  • State-by-state guide to women's legal rights: Book release - 1986
  • State-by-state guide to women's legal rights: Newspaper clippings - 1986-1987
  • State-by-state guide to women's legal rights: Press tour: January-May - 1987
  • State-by-state guide to women's legal rights: Press tour: May-August - 1987
  • Supreme Court cases - 1985
  • Supreme Court cases - 1986
  • Supreme Court cases - 1987
  • Box 104:
  • Surrogate parenting - 1987
  • Meetings and conventions - 1985-1987
  • Name change - 1973-1975
  • National board meetings - 1987
  • National board meetings - 1988
  • Newsletters - 1970-1972
  • Newsletters - 1973-1974
  • Parental leave background material - 1985-1987
  • Reproductive rights resource kit - 1987
  • "A New Decade for Iowa Women" conference - 1986
  • Older Women's League - 1981
  • Rationale for a woman vice-president - 1984
  • Republican party platform - 1984
  • Rural Women's Leadership Development Project proposal - 1986
  • University of Iowa affirmative action plan - 1987-1988
  • Women's Agenda Conference - 1988
  • Women's Lobby, Inc. - 1975-1976
  • Sub-Series: Women's political caucuses: Iowa Women's Political Caucus (IWPC)
  • Box 105:
  • Articles and letters first drafts, undated (3 folders)
  • "The Caucus Comments: The Adoption Triangle: Love vs. Money" - 1975
  • Correspondence - 1973-1975
  • Correspondence - 1975-1976
  • Examples of sexist language - 1974-1975
  • Grant request - 1974
  • Holveck, Jack voting record - 1983
  • Insurance, undated
  • The Legal Status of Homemakers in Iowa - 1977
  • Legislative priorities - 1975
  • Meeting with U.S. Senator Dick Clark - 1974
  • Newsletters - 1976-1977
  • Position paper on welfare - 1975
  • Sex discrimination and sexual stereotyping in vocational education: testimony by Roxanne Barton Conlin to the Sub-Committee of Elementary, Secondary and Vocational Education, undated
  • Sub-Series: Women's political caucuses: National Women's Political Caucus
  • Box 105:
  • Administrative communications - 1975-1976
  • Advisory board members list, undated
  • Box 106:
  • Conventions: Albuquerque (tenth anniversary convention) - 1981
  • Conventions: Atlanta - 1985
  • Conventions: Boston: General information - 1975
  • Conventions: Boston: Notebook - 1975
  • Conventions: Boston: Revised agendas - 1975
  • Conventions: Boston: Rules committee - 1975
  • Conventions: Boston: Steering committee - 1975
  • Conventions: San Jose, California - 1977
  • Correspondence - 1977-1980
  • Critical comments on "A Lesser Life, The Myth of Women's Liberation in America" - 1986
  • Democratic task force - 1975-1976
  • Filing forms for nomination to office, undated
  • Steering committee - 1977
  • Steering committee - 1978
  • Women as Candidates in the 1984 Congressional Elections: A Post-Election Survey of 5 Congressional Districts - 1984
  • Women in Passage Program of the Good Housekeeping Congress of Presidents - 1976
  • "Women's Political Times" - 1977-1979
  • Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 107:
  • Conlin with Harold Hughes, undated
  • Conlin at conference and social gathering, undated
  • Group shot (with Betty Friedan), undated
  • Gubernatorial campaign contact proofs (3 folders) - 1982
  • Portrait and group shots, undated
  • Portrait slides, undated
  • Portraits and snapshots - 1970, 1981-1982
  • Publicity shots - 1969, 1974